Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Pooper the Pig!

by SelfTitled - Compo Entry

Pooper the Pig!

Pooper the Pig is an isometric pooper, run round, eat apples, avoid wolves and poop.

----------

Controls:
Left mouse press and hold to move
Hover over apples to eat them
Hold space to poop

----------

Goal:
Psst wolves don't like poop.
(Get the wolves to hit the poop and they go away.)

----------

Software Used:
Unity 5
Visual Studio 2013 (Community edition)
Paint.net
Audacity
ArtStudio (IOS)


----------
Bug fixes
- Stats not recording
- Wolf spawn issue

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#191Humor3.46
#305Theme3.65
#498Fun3.12
#506Audio2.78
#558Graphics3.04
#670Innovation2.92
#739Overall2.96
#746Mood2.70
#1497Coolness45%

Comments

bazld says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Fun game - turns out there are actually some tactics to pooping..! Cute graphics. Nice job.
I found the controls a little floaty perhaps, could tighten that up.

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Pretty fun - only complaint is that moving when the mouse cursor is close to the pig is very slow, makes it harder to try and quickly eat an apple.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:49pm

I thought this was a fun little game. Such a strange idea, though! :P Anyway, I liked the graphics, although the controls could be a little bit awkward at times.

siryakko says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Pig poop and tactics, what could possibly go wrong?

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:47pm

This game was fun, but it did seem like it took too long to poop, which got me eaten a few times too many. Also the pig was a bit hard to control. But it was really cute, and enjoyable! Good job!

rmc says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Hey pretty interesting Idea! You really did something different, and a real unconvecional weapon!

Just think the controls are lazy. You try to move, and it take some time to respond, but overall, nice entry!

Robotic-Brain says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Poop everywhere!!
No complaints at all:
Nice Graphics
Nice Music
Nice Gameplay
Right on the Theme

snapman_GT says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:42am

An okay game. Seemed odd that wolves avoided a poo after I laid it down? Though I guess that would have made things too easy? There's so many wolves to begin wit that you don't really have a chance to build up an apple/poo stock to fight them. And having to stop moving to poo just makes that disadvantage that much worse.

lucidlarva says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Slingshot wolves around poop, into MORE poop.

VDZ says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:41am

Cleared on second play with no hits taken. (20 wolves pooped, 20 apples eaten, 19 poops, 0 times attacked)

Not my kind of humor, at all.

The game is surprisingly strategic and challenging with the wolves actively avoiding poop and eating and pooping taking time and requiring you to stand still - providing a contrast with the running away you're inclined to do while being chased by enemies.

However, I do feel the game is lacking in feedback on critical elements. You cannot see your pooping progress, eating progress or poop cooldown, which adds to the difficulty in only a frustrating (rather than challenging way) - it's annoying to see a 'not ready yet' message while having no way whatsoever to tell when I AM ready to poop. You also can't see how much HP you have left, which makes the game over come unexpectedly (and might cause frustration/discourage the player from trying again).

The graphics are unremarkable. The map looks the same everywhere and sprites lack animation when you'd expect them to have some kind of animation. At least the gameplay elements (pig, wolf, apple, poop) are recognizable.

Music felt boring and went out of sync. Sounds gave proper feedback, but were too subtle with the exception of the eating sound which felt grating (the contrast in noticeablity with the other sounds may have made this feel worse).

The theme was properly implemented, but not in any (in my opinion) interesting way; 'poop' as a weapon is just random and its use to scare off (kill? Not sure what it does exactly) wolves is nonsensical.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:40am

Liked the concept and the pig and wolf design were great. Did find the controls a bit difficult and not responsive enough for movement at times though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]