Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Discord Seeder

by ztiromoritz - Jam Entry

Discord Seeder

Seed discord by
* WASD - run away from your enemies
* Mouse - draw lines between them


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#481Innovation(Jam)3.14
#520Audio(Jam)2.74
#671Theme(Jam)3.14
#852Fun(Jam)2.56
#861Humor(Jam)2.07
#884Graphics(Jam)2.35
#906Mood(Jam)2.38
#919Overall(Jam)2.70

Comments

Pinpickle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:32pm

After I figured out what was going, I realised this was a cool mechanic. The tutorial is so long, so after you die you don't really want to go again.

wilsk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:34pm

I like the simple art style and it seemed like an interesting idea but drawing lines didn't really seem to work for me. Sometimes a line would be drawn but not other times and I seemed to get lines from the middle or right mouse button sometimes!?

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:49pm

For sure it's unconventional ! Took me a few rounds to get the rules but interesting game.

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:01pm

thanks for that great game! loved the effects and i made it to the end :D

MrRoboman says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Hey, cool game. It took me watching the video to figure it out. I was frustrated at first because I could kinda draw lines sometimes but not really. Once I watched the vid I beat it! Booyah.
Good job!

Chaoseed says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:35pm

I don't...really understand what's going on? I think I get that the first couple of minutes is a tutorial where you just can't do anything, and I think I get that you have one chance to draw lines each 'wave'. And then I draw lines between some of the circles and...they go into each other, which I THINK is what I want?

But then I got to a wave with a whole bunch of circles, and I drew a line between some of them...and nothing happened.

It's a shame, because the graphics are pretty smooth. I'd like to have some idea what I should actually DO.

Pix3M says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:45pm

The tutorial suggested that this was a game where you have to defend yourself by drawing barriers between enemies. Turns out that the actual game concept is completely different - that it was a timed puzzle game. The lines appear to suck in enemies into the line itself, creating a safe passage.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Really cool idea once I figured it out. Would love to see more levels - seems like a fun skill to master

nassi says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Failed at the last pattern. Lost all of my lives there wondering what to do :P. After watching the video I finally realized that the color of the circles was important to the mechanic. I mean I had a feeling, but didn't know for sure until that.

Had some short freezes which were somewhat annoying. The tutorial/intro was well made, but could've been skippable so that playing again wouldn't have been as frustrating.

Galan says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:47am

Rather than add my voice to the chorus of people who took time to figure this out, I'll just say that once I got it, the mechanic was really cool, and the aesthetics are top notch.

coderitual says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:06pm

I don't get it :) I think you should explain mechanics more carefully.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:20pm

I had some problems figuring out what to do.. But then I got It xD Well Done!

cnoel says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:21am

Didn't make sense for a while. I kept reloading thinking something was broken.

I like the mechanic, very different, but there wasn't enough of it or enough time to figure it out when it was finally in use.

raisedmedia says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:46am

I like the mechanic, however I wasn't able to progress far enough to have the line drawing be any more challenging than squeezing it between two close enemies.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:50am

Good mechanic! Too bad you have to start from the begginning when you die. And too bad there isn't more level, it's just a tuto i would like to see that in a full game!

Yoon says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:49pm

For some reason the background music made me feel nostalgic.

The mechanic is interesting and the SFX fit in very well. Good thing you've put a video playthrough, because at first I was drawing a link because the centers of the targets. :)

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Tutorial is maybe a bit too long for my taste. Pretty cool mechanic and nice controls. The music was kind of repetitive but it dind't interfere with the game. Could maybe use a little more explanation on how the mechanic actually works. Also the graphics and the music fit nicely together.

gnx says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Interesting mechanic with strong visual & audio feedback, which is very nice design.

joe40001 says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Good but a little confusing.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]