Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

A Childs Night Terror

by bossmojoman - Jam Entry

First Entry ever into the Ludum Dare

Fight your way across the room with only your blankie and a pillow. Get to your alarm click so you can wake yourself up from your night terror.

A Game by Glen Colby and David Tredeau

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#86Mood(Jam)3.84
#431Graphics(Jam)3.47
#497Fun(Jam)3.09
#497Overall(Jam)3.24
#640Humor(Jam)2.60
#671Theme(Jam)3.14
#731Innovation(Jam)2.72

Comments

thegdr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:56am

fun! Nice work

merrak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:36am

Great sound! Checkpoints would be nice, though. I keep falling into the hands at the bottom of the screen.

clegamecoop says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:01am

This was a fun litle game. I like the use of the blankey as a non conventional weapon. Nice work!

noxuma says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:01am

Checkpoints! Sometimes the jump key seems to stick and I fall to my DOOOOOoooOOooOm . The music is really awesome, overall a lot of fun good job =)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:28am

This is just really well done. The sound experience is one of the best I have heard in one of these competitions. Its just spot on. The spot lit items look super cool. The control feels a little funny sometimes. Like the characters height on a platform shifts. A jump sound would be nice.

Matt Tuttle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:33am

The atmosphere in this game is great! I love the use of the blanket and pillow as a weapon. The sounds gave me the heebie jeebies (in a good way).

Perjoka says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:49am

Well done!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:52am

I love the overall mood of the game. The controls are well done, and the difficulty level is just great (not to hard and not to easy - a lots of games I did test lately were really hard to play).

SuperKid says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:22am

Really nice idea! Loved so much the music, atmosphere and voices! :O

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:26am

What a creepy and frustrating game. I loved it!

Manu & Wan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:35am

It's one of my favorite so far ;)
I died so many time at the beginning xD

Xanderzoo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:03am

I am absolutely terrible at this game. This makes the fact that I had fun even more impressive.

lucidsheep says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:29am

Great job with atmosphere and sound design, it definitely creeped me out. It felt like a haunted house! Like others said, checkpoints would have been nice.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Great concept, very creepy, but I had trouble knowing where to go. I included it in part 2 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/N2U1d1bXaPI

rudra says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Great atmosphere and audio ! Good job ! Keep it up !

strong99 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Creepy game! But nice to play and I like the graphics.

nameoftheuser says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Like skyrim with guns

Move127 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Great audio! The game is a lot of fun and controls well.

coderitual says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Oh, another nice C2 game. I like the way you have used the shaders. Good work!

boateye says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Good mood, good sound and visuals, but the weapon just felt like a thinly veiled skin for a "punch" attack.

Squarlboy says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:48am

that's nicely satanic :P

jdselsor says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:39am

Good job. It was creepy and the jumping was nice but some of the platforms where hard to spot.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Welcome to Ludum Dare! Tough game with instant death. Checkpoints would be nice.

Pretty scary too. :O

Frosnite says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:04am

Wow, scary atmosphere and pretty graphics! Gets kinda tough, but still very playable :D. Good work!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:08am

Wow, so creepy! Nice job on the mood. The gameplay was solid, but not great. It seemed like there was some sort of delay or period after jumping where I couldn't jump again, perhaps a bug.

IamAcoconut says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:04am

Wow really creepy! Great mood and sound effects! It'd be nice if there was checkpoints, but the game is really great!!!!

roving-stone says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:53am

Awesome audio! Very creepy. Checkpoints would be nice. The controls didn't feel very solid at times.

Eggplant says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 1:33am

It was fun. I enjoyed the graphics and thought it was a neat idea. I don't see how it fit the theme personally but good job!

ranmaru90 says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 2:49am

Nice!

May 9, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Good game. Very atmospheric, and nice concept. It's a bit dark outside of the light around the player to see the platforms you're jumping to very well. Maybe a flashlight or a bigger light radius around the player would have been good? More checkpoints too would have been good. Otherwise very cool stuff!

Almost says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 9:51pm

I fell through the first moving platform. Also I didn't find the pillow very useful.

sorlok says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:56am

There were a lot of things to like about this game, but the controls really got in the way (jumping while objects are descending, general floaty-ness). But, putting that aside, there was a LOT to like in this game! Great mood, cool mechanic, very survival-horror like, but in a platform genre! Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]