Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

You Brought A Knife To A Gun Fight!

by AlexDJones - Jam Entry

It's the bi-monthly meeting of the Gun Fight Club again - but disaster! You only brought a knife! To a gun fight! What are you like?

The only way to save face is to survive this deadly meetup. Thankfully, you have unexplained powers that allow you to slow down time! Use them to great effect as you mow down your opponents. It only recharges when blood is drawn, however, so prepare to be brave, charge headlong into the fray and get those combos!

Game Design: Alan O'Brien and Alex D. Jones
Programming: Alan O'Brien
Art and Level Design: Alex D. Jones
Music: 'Killing Bosses' by Gumbel
Sound effects from Freesound

Made using Unity, Tiled, Tiled2Unity, Photoshop CS2, Pickle, Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#126Fun(Jam)3.67
#308Overall(Jam)3.46
#320Humor(Jam)3.26
#579Mood(Jam)2.97
#631Graphics(Jam)3.05
#772Innovation(Jam)2.64
#900Theme(Jam)2.64

Comments

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Hotline Miami with a knife only. :-) Hard to see the bullets. Loved the music. Knife not so unconventional in my book though, but it made for a great title and concept.

hercludes says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Pretty good, obviously based off Hotline Miami. Very nice graphics that gives a pretty good atmosphere, though the challenge is very miniscule and it's pretty slow paced. Other than that it was a pretty nice game (y)

zell2002 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:48pm

lots of fun! reminded me of that Hotline Miami ;)
Enjoy the mechanics a lot ! Slowing down time was a lot of fun

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:49pm

I really liked your game. I dont think a knife is an unconventional weapon, but the game was pretty good =D

Nice work.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Pretty fun game. The time slowing mechanic is cool, and adds a small layer of strategy to the game. The graphics and audio are both quite nice, too!

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:52pm

So it won't surprise you to see Hotline Miami mentioned in the comments - but as HL:M is an awesome game, and you made a reasonable version of it in 3 days, good job!

Junber says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Fun game. Nice music and pretty good visuals (even though the style of your head was completly different from your body). The controls were a bit floaty when stopped moving but this wasnt really that bad cause you didnt really want to stop.

nuprahtor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:00pm

So, can your weapon go through the obstacles?
Knife - Gun - 1:0.
It looks like it was a knife party all the time!
Though short, it was pretty interesting.

Jungle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:06pm

I found the summary very funny and decided to give it a try. It was nice, despite the fact that I did not really enjoy the color of the graphics, but that's me.

The only thing I would say is the minor bug that sometimes you can't see the bullet at all, even with the time slowed.

Way to go guys!

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:27pm

I hope this was as fun to make as it is to play! Great entry stars all around!

cgmorton says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:44pm

I wish you would have said on your download link that it was Windows only.

ohai1 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Bit of fun for sure.

TobiasNL says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Nice idea and the gameplay was cool, but it lacked challenge. You have too much slow motion power so you can slice 'm all :P The game would benefit with a greater difficulty.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:58pm

I actually had a lot of fun playing this game. Nice job! It was really enjoyable to take out an entire room of enemies by myself with just a knife.

Madball says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:30am

That was addicting! Controls are very comfortable, and the music fits so well!
I was able to complete the game without right-clicking :)

I found some bugs though:
* You can go through walls due to rotation glitches.
* Enemies can shoot through thin walls if they are very close to them.
I also noticed that when you are dead, you can attack and kill enemies. Is it on purpose?

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Clutch controls, it is always nice to see a game that handles well in a gameJam. Fun concept and addictive gameplay, really well done!

MGhareeb32 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Good graphics and funny title. Not exactly matching the theme but definitely would enjoy playing this.

Bensonance says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:32pm

A cool entry for Ludum Dare. I had a slight issue with the bullets blending into the brown tilesets, this is an issue of tonal values an easily remedied, but otherwise a great entry.

reiknight says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:06pm

The last hall was toooooo long :P and I tried to go through the wall... I succeeded lol :P

Awesome game, the bullet time is nice and remember me to Counter, Call of Duty, etc... Knife POWER!!!

MonoS says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Pretty good experience :D.

Maybe a knife is not well fitting into the theme, but we were in a gun fight so is unconventional in some sense, also the time manipulation is cool.

Some tips about the graphics, sub pixel accuracy, watch episode 92 or 93 [i hope was one of those, i really don't remember atm] of Handmade Hero, it's a bit ugly to see the pixel shake when you stop.

Also enemies can shoot you behind thin wall, you set the collision point from the tip of the gun and not the center of the enemy.

MiniBobbo says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 3:51am

Those poor suckers brought a gun to the knife fight.

Not much to add to what's already been said. There are some issues and it could use some more polish, but it was a super fun experience. I even enjoyed playing back through the levels to see if I could win without slowing time. Most the the guys are possible.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]