Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Coder VS Bugs

by Cliff Lee(CL) - Jam Entry

***************Web version is Unity Web Player****************

This is my third time to attend Ludum Dare, I work until 6 am to finish it. It took my almost one day to come up with ideas and concepts, draw some mind maps and flow chart. So close to deadline :O Hope that everyone will enjoy it :)

------Game list----
LD30 : Parallel Worlds
LD31 : Screen Pong
LD32 : Coder VS Bugs
-------------------

This is a tower defense game, your weapon is your keyboard, use the keyboard and debugger to fight bugs and protect your code from it!

Game Goal :
1.Don't let bugs ruin your code.
2.Finish code as much as you can.
3.Challenge yourself with highest record.

Control :
"Space" to use debugger.
"Escape" to pause/resume game.
Almost every key on keyboard, it's show in game.

Used tools:
----Game----
Unity Engine

----Art----
Krita

----Music----
JFXR

----Version Control----
SourceTree(git)

----Chart----
Lucidchart

Only audio came from Untiy assets store.
Game, 2D art are made by myself.


Designed and made by Cliff Lee CL.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#84Theme(Jam)4.00
#112Innovation(Jam)3.78
#327Humor(Jam)3.25
#411Overall(Jam)3.35
#426Audio(Jam)2.96
#478Mood(Jam)3.13
#509Fun(Jam)3.07
#690Graphics(Jam)2.93
#1347Coolness48%

Comments

Ourson says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:22am

Nice concept =).
The game is a bit too hard in my opinion though.

Qui says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:25am

Very nice game. My keyboard didn't like to be mashed like that, but whatever. It was really fun!

Bemmu says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:52am

Very innovative control mechanism, five stars for innovation here. I had never considered you can use the location of keys on a keyboard to point out locations in a game world, this is a mechanic I could see others adopt as well. If you came up with this all by yourself, consider yourself an innovator!

EwChap says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:16am

That was really fun. I was laughing the whole time. I agree with Bemmu, this is a very innovative idea. My keyboard does not thank you but I do. I was holding out hope that at the end you would get a printout of the "Code" you wrote, would be hilarious to see.

Xanderzoo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:19am

I liked you game, but I spent most of the time smashing my keyboard at random.

andrewjoy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:27am

Cool idea. Very hard, though mashing the bottom row of keys makes it much easier :P

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:07am

Warning,
This game maybe could break your keyboard.

Taldius says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Really good idea! The only problem is that I think that spamming all your keyboard keys is the best way to stay alive.
Anyway, well done!

jukben says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Great concept! :)

peterkirk says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:26pm

I really like the idea of using the entire keyboard as your controller with each key laid out in game space, but it was incoherent to play using that many keys. I can't think of a way to improve that issue, so I don't fault the game for the side effect. Great music by the way and I like the bug sprites.

Jungle says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:55pm

I really enjoyed how you used the mechanism of the key mapping. Also it was fun since there are so many devs here.

The music is nice and don't get repetitive to fast. I just decided to stop playing at some point because nothing seemed to say if there would be an end or something. I had already presses 6374 keys and was expecting something.

Nice game :D

mildmojo says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:06pm

This is like an arcade version of keyTD (http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=36186).

Quick experience. Very frantic. Debug mode is a cool addition. It would be helpful to have some sort of health indicator on the incoming bugs so you can tell how tough they are. The first time you notice a bug not dying in one hit, you start to worry.

I didn't last long. =)

foolmoron says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Aha I knew I couldn't have been the only one to think of an idea like this! I like your execution though, the theme is cool and makes you actually feel like a (fake) hacker and the little dialogue that pops up is fun. I think the difficult is nice, but the debugging mode is kind of a boring powerup (it's not fun to watch things frozen on the screen). Also it needs Dvorak support :P

FrederickK says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 3:47am

Genius!
I didn't get it what is your health bar, but very fun game!
I liked it! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]