Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Boxmagedon

by Dohxis - Compo Entry

Boxmagedon is a game where you need to destroy other boxes and collect batteries. Batteries makes you bigger and gives more power so you can kill more boxes! Game was created using Javascript and Phaser and this is my second time in Ludum Dare!

Controls are really simple. Left mouse key to attack and WSAD to move!

Thanks for playing my game! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#565Audio2.67
#857Graphics2.52
#1036Overall2.53
#1117Theme1.63

Comments

Jordan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:38am

Got to a score of 860 before losing; Really fun and
straightforward. Loved it.
Graphics and title screen are pretty cool as well.

However, I don't really see how the weapon is unconventional.
Maybe I'm just tired.

longshorts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Good looking little shooter which was easy to get the hang of. I feel like I didn't have much room to move around however, and I didn't understand how the weapon fits the theme.

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:24pm

The weapon was less than unconventional :-) Some bugs, but a good effort for 48 hours.

Please rate mine at http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=33865

Borkleby says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Very simple, but that's good! I was a little bored at first, but things got challenging quickly!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Best score I got was 2580! The controls feel a little wonky since you can't move diagonal. Got more intense and fun with difficulty and addictive. The hit boxes felt a little off though, hard to explain why.

SwizzMan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:40pm

I really hate these controls and the idea that you can't move diagonally really bothers me :D Graphics were nice, but gameplay could be improved by using a proper engine (haha) :p

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Not very unconventional weapon, but the game is working nicely :)

stoarch says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Good game. When you grow it become hard to avoid enemies.

Lyxilion says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:10am

Nice litle game but short. altough more you grow more it's dificult.

edve98 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Pretty much what everybody just said: there is not much space to move around, and I feel that I should be able to move diagonally.
Graphics are simple, but nice - his looks really polished.
One more thing: it feels weird when in order to restart I have to refresh the page.

All in all, a good entry :P

edve98 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Pretty much what everybody just said: there is not much space to move around, and I feel that I should be able to move diagonally and this doesn't really fit into the theme.

Graphics are simple, but nice - his looks really polished.

One more thing: it feels weird when in order to restart I have to refresh the page.

All in all, a good entry :P

Jakob37 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Nice, I enjoy this kind of games :) Movement became almost too fast for me after a few batteries. To make it more challenging you could spread out the spawning along more than one wall. I enjoyed it, good job!

LeftRight92 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Simple but fun game (which makes me wonder why you aren't accepting judging in the 'fun' category).
My most major critique is you decided to opt for boxes when you obviously have more artistic talent than most LD competitors.

Nysten says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Controls could use a bit tweaking, but overall it was a fun little shooter.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Fun game but doesn't seem to fit the theme much.

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:50pm

It doesn't fit the theme well, and it seems that the bullets will occasionally just fly by the enemies, but the battery idea was good.

sanojian says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Nice simple gameplay. I was slightly frustrated that I could not move diagonally and sometimes my shots passed right through the enemies if they were rotated.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]