Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Oddest Jobs

by hunttis - Compo Entry

Oddest Jobs is a game about a guy that has a razor-rimmed bowler hat. He doesn't hesitate to use it. In fact, he refuses to use anything else! Get the enemy agents and the secret documents.

Directional keys control the character and space throws his hat. Remember to collect it afterwards!

The wall-jumping isn't quite intentional, but you can do it, it makes some levels a bit easier. The difficulty seems a bit too easy to me, but that might be because I've played it constantly.

Edit: It seems that Chrome runs the game best. At least on Safari, the scrolling kills the performance :/

Edit2: Fixed the stuff falling through everything bug! There are no other changes than just the bugfix for level loading.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#116Fun3.72
#152Theme3.88
#251Overall3.52
#310Humor3.19
#329Graphics3.43
#367Mood3.15
#440Innovation3.26
#661Audio2.43

Comments

klbrazil says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:33am

reminds me of the old gaming days XD good job!

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:36am

Saw this one in the feed during the compo. Couldn't wait to play it! Great game.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:37am

For some reason, the super-fast hat throw is REALLY satisfying.

Jakob37 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:37am

I really enjoyed the mechanics! And the visuals too. Such a gentleman.

C# says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:38am

This is a really fun game, especially when you can throw your hat, take out the enemy, pick it up and toss it right at the next.

Although, I think there's a problem with level 5 (the second document one) as the documents just fall through the floor

wood.innis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:46am

Lost all collision in level 3 and watched what I assume were my documents fall through the bottom of the screen.

Fun though. A practical application for hats :D

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:23am

Nice hat throw, I was going for the same concept off of mine too.

Sublustris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:24am

Nice art style!

Olias says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:27am

Pretty cool feeling when throwing the hat and chain killing.

Dyn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:58am

Lost focus on space press.
Otherwise quite good work!

Modoc73 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:59am

Nice hat throwing motion. Neat art style too. Great job.

madjackmcmad says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:00am

Great job with the hat. Controls felt a touch floaty, but otherwise solid. Could have maybe gone with half the screen size and character's twice as big, would have felt a little more engaging. Maybe. Great work, fun game!

mike1101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:01am

In-game web doesn't work - When I press space it jumps down to the comments section ...

Omg, I love this ! I lost my hat !

Brilliant graphics. I love how snappily the hat fires. Such a funny idea - just by looking at the dude you can see he's debonaire.

Would love to get more on the story - Who are those dude in white ? Why is your badass self running around these buildings ?

Couple issues with collisions against walls. Not a fan of the jump physics / acceleration ... Hate it when you sort of float down in side-scrollers ...

I LOVE the fact that you have to collect your hat !

Crafting4U says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:03am

My only complaints are that the sounds are annoying, and the player falls down in the air WAAAY too slow. Other than that, the game was great, the concept was good, and fit the theme well, and the game was fun to play!

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:03am

Nice little platformer. Love the hat mechanic :D Controls a little floaty, and you seem to be able to wall jump too. Concept's nifty and visuals pretty cool too!

Prowler says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:08am

Nicely done! Reminds me of james bond: Oddjob :D
Background music would be cool!

Good job!

Pat

Kalinka says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:18am

Really nice !
Love the feeling when hat hits !! Great Job !

iSamurai says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:36am

This guy must know kongfu, haha. Nice concept and the art is good. But the frame rate drops in from time to time. Is it bullet time?

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:37am

I really liked the hat mechanic! Great game feel - though I fell through the world on the second document level

Lyxilion says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:42pm

It's hard but nice gam !

Aevek says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:10am

Really liked the mechanic of the hat throw, really cool interpretation of the theme. I would have liked to see more use of it for puzzles and stuff, like throw that hat ahead to open the door then go retrieve it kinda thing. But an awesome job for the time you had.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:44am

Nice little game! In the first level the hat went through the stairs, looks like a bug.

Not sure why but I got the Gunpoint vibe, in case you are familiar with that game.

Aik says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:06am

Cool game, but it either has some performance issues or the movement is just really dodgy? Much too floaty, and the last(?) level bugged out completely and all the documents fell through the floor.
Having to collect your hat is a great mechanic though.

goglmogl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:15am

I was stacked on level 2, and i didn`t saw enemies, and collision was broken.

Tommyno222 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:48am

Perfect! I'm big fan of old DOS games and this really looks, sounds, plays and feels like a retro game! Simple mechanics and so much fan. Good job!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Really satisfying! Love the hat mechanic and having to go pick it up. Makes you feel super cool jumping over a bullet and then killing them just as you land.

diegomachado says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:05pm

I really like those tiny graphics. Physics on the hat is great! :)

Some already mention it, but collisions in the second level with the documents are weird, you should fix that.

I took me some time to get the James Bond reference on the title...hahahahhaha

nonetheless says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:26pm

This is pretty damn fun. After a while I was a little bit tired with jumping/moving physics, but the physics of the hat and the gameplay in general is really great. Also graphics are nice. Great job! :)

hunttis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Thanks for all the kind words, everyone! I could've never imagined that my graphics would be enjoyable :D

It really seems that there's something strange happening when levels load. For the life of me I can't figure it out, but it has to do something with the physics objects not being properly cleared or loaded when the level changes. After it starts bugging, there are physics objects that you can hit your head into, but I can't get the physics bodies to be drawn so I could figure out what they are. The most frustrating thing is, it's really random, if you try again, it'll probably work!

It's my first game with "proper" physics, so even if I was expecting trouble, not really game-breaking trouble. Meh :/

Thanks for playing anyway!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:34pm

I wanted to comment again because I forgot to mention, the hat spinning around after it hits something is also really satisfying, lol. :P

Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:18am

That is one powerful hat! Nicely themes graphics and I really like the swiftness of throwing the hat. Some improvements would be more polished controls and maybe something added to the gameplay mechanic to make it more immersive.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Really enjoyable gameplay and overall game. Movement feels a little floaty though.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Dat hat trough, it feels so freaking awesome. I actually felt like odd job.

Controls (left and right) were a bit too slippery, but I don't care. Great job.

Mase says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:02am

The environments are pleasant; nice details & color palette. I'm amused by the stacked trees.

barkergames says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:56am

Throwing that hat is just so satisfying!
I love it!
When I got to the level where you "Find Documents" they just fell off the screen, and then none of the graphics matched the physics, sadly I couldn't proceed :(
I love the hat throwing mechanic though!

Kitch says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 1:06am

Ran into loss of collision bug on the second document level.. and would have liked a tad more gravity... but other than that, really good take on the theme and really liked the art style. Good job. Thanks!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]