Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Phage Therapy

by uberscientist - Compo Entry

Recently I've been obsessed with bacteriophages (viruses that infect and kill bacteria), and thought about how people were using them to treat infections -- what an UNCONVENTIONAL WEAPON (I thought so at least).

Read more here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phage_therapy

Built using http://Phaser.io game engine, and used gimp, lmms, inkscape, audacity for the assets.

The "Mind's Forge" banner links to my Shapeways shop where I have some 3D prints for sale, including a bacteriophage pendant.

I thought phaser was the best HTML5 game engine I've tried as of yet, and I will probably stick with it if I ever need to make a 2D game again!

Thanks for playing and rating my game!

** There seems to be issues (on lower end hardware?) where the pointer is rendered horizontal in the middle of the screen and the game is broken. I'll look into this problem later. Thanks for your patience!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#68Mood3.76
#105Audio3.64
#111Theme3.96
#190Graphics3.74
#330Innovation3.43
#559Overall3.17
#839Fun2.70
#1713Coolness39%

Comments

bnhw says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:17am

There didn't seem to be any real challenge to the game; I could just hold space and rotate to keep gaining points.

bnhw says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:18am

But the theme was non-standard and the audio created a nice mood!

TD5 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:20pm

The game looks and sounds good, and the use of viruses as a weapon is interesting. As bnhw says, you can just spam the fire button, but destroying a bacterium with the viruses that popped out of your last victim is really cool. Bonus points for an educational game! :D

Lyxilion says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:19am

I don't know why but a play the game like 7-8min ! It's surprilly addictive.

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:15am

The game may be simple, but the mood is perfect. Nice graphics with music that really fits the environment. Really nice. There's room for improvement based on the concept, and hopefully my patient didn't die with so many viruses :).

Jakob37 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:38pm

I liked the atmosphere of it, both visuals and music, very nice :) Interesting with the background too.

CScribes says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:12am

The first game I played after finishing the jam, and I must say it's still one of my favs! Could do with a clear end goal, but everything else was spot on!

uberscientist says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:40am

@Everyone, thanks. It's true it's not finished, I guess I sort of left game play to be finished later. I have plans to change the controls so it works on mobile and add different bacteria and viruses that are specialized for that type. Also power-ups!
I do need to figure out a win/lose condition still. . .

Anyway, thanks again folks!

Grieve says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Great little concept, not terribly challenging as it stands, but definitely something worth exploring.

May 1, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Nice game. Really liked the chain reactions. Would be interesting if those could be more incorporated into success. Perhaps spawning bacteria at a steady rate rather than just after killing off all previous bacteria.

Kostyan1996 says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Cool game, although it's too easy, gaining less viruses for infrecring would make game much more fun.

HeffJoker says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 10:48pm

I thought the sound effects and music was spot on, very atmospheric! Reminds me of surgeon simulator a little bit in those regards. Here's some suggestions:

- Add different levels with new enemies shapes/colors
- Add different bacteriophages to attack with
- Mouse wheel through each bacteriophage you can use

Very cool, I could see myself playing this for a lot time :)

Jezzamon says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:27am

Kinda fun? But this game obviously needed more.

I quite liked how killing a thing made more things bacteriophage come out, and then they killed more things! Trying to get that to happen was pretty fun and entertaining in itself! I want to try to tap into that in another entertainingness for some other game!

ruerob says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 5:59am

Nice entry! I like the graphics and the dealing with the theme!

thristhart says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 12:58am

I really liked the shooting sound effect. Definitely just held down space and an arrow key, though.

freeholdgames says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 3:13am

I *LOVE* the aesthetic, looking down a microscope. The game itself is pretty basic and ultimately unfulfilling, but amazing work on the concept and look of the thing.

John Vanis says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:34am

Nice gameplay ))

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]