Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Does It Shoot?

by Finlal - Jam Entry

Third Jam entry, third time we upload it in the last minute.
Anyway, this is a game about gunsmith, who should craft weapons for soldiers from junk he has and hope it to work.
By combining different parts you can achieve some cool (or not really) effects, which can allow soldier to go further and find a new parts.
The game is raw, still playable.

UPD: We've made a little updated version, with sounds, fixed bugs and few gameplay upgrades.

Four Quarters team:

Dmitry "deceiver" Karimov - artist
Alexander "blinch" Goryeslavets - music, sounds
Alexander "finlal" Vartazaryan - artist
Dmitry "limbo" Lagutov - programmer

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Graphics(Jam)4.81
#4Fun(Jam)4.29
#4Theme(Jam)4.50
#6Audio(Jam)4.41
#13Overall(Jam)4.30
#14Innovation(Jam)4.27
#14Mood(Jam)4.30
#132Humor(Jam)3.67
#1305Coolness49%

Comments

HeuGamer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Well done game, very polished it seemed.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:48pm

The pixel art is fantastic, and so is the music. Everything that is in there is very polished. Too bad it's really missing the game - if you had the time to make the runner part functional the rating for this would have been even higher

2k16's Andrei says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Really nice on overall. Lots of different and fun combinations!

lurils says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Very nice, very polished and fun even if you all you can do is watch what happens. A button to "give up" on the run if you notice it was going nowhere, instead of wait for your death, could have been useful for when you notice very early you aren't getting far, or you click "ok" accidental on the crafting part...

Tselmek says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Awesome graphics, amazing soundtrack, finding out what each part does is pretty fun and the game is very polished. You guys did a fantastic job, congratulations and thanks for making this game!

carrymove says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:06pm

AWESOME GAME! I really like it. Great concept, great graphics and animations, great music!

P.S. Hello from Russia, Omsk, Omsky Ludum Dare!

GoudaGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Very nice graphics, and feels polished.

mokujin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:03pm

overall very attractive, though i would wish more gameplay in action phase

Paulozz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Very good art, music and concept!

Hammers says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Awesome job guys! It's a great concept and you've also built a very polished game around it. The art and music are top notch and I love the variety of combinations you end up acquiring.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:29pm

I like the musik and the artstyle. Trying out all those combination is quite interesting, It just seems that only one single combination is key to success at a given time, which seemed somehow frustrating to me :/

Suhvan4ik says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Great art and sound, it's fun to make diffrent guns, but at some point it becomes too difficult to find the only one gun config that allow to pass further.
Also game has some hidden controls, such as fastforward wiht LMB during runs, wich I found accidentally.

Logicon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Great game!

43iscoding says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:12am

My favorite entry so far. Unique and cool concept. Nice music. Epic characters. I hope you win this LD :)

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Brilliant, I loved everything about it! Great "running" synth music, beautiful pixel art, creative weapon parts (if you shoot double Schrodinger cats, that means half of them are still living right?), and no glitches. Fantastic work by all of you!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Nice game, wonderful graphics and sound!
Sadly, I couldn't beat it, after getting the 'sound' weapon, there seemed to be not a single combination that would get me to the next weapon part, I tried all!

Elit3dGaming says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Wow really awesome game, loved the concept loved building a weapon to try and unlock the next one, kept me going a good 30-40 mins figuring out good combos to complete the game. Well done very strong game here! Graphics and audio was also outstanding!

Ourson says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Give this man a medal for god's sake!

Prowler says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:26pm

The first full scorer of all my votings! Great job. I could play this forever! And I can imagine so many things you could build on top of this small but addicting gameplay. You sir are a genius! ;) Very well balanced game, top graphics and moody sound. Wow!

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:11am

Wow, that last gun's design is badass looking. This is a REALLLLLY cool concept and an amazing use of the theme. Pixel art is rad, music sets a solid mood, action is face paced, and the guns have a good bit of variety. It looks like an action game but it's a puzzle game. Unfortunately, it's all about trial and error, but it's still a lot of fun. Great entry. One of my favorites thus far!

Ithildin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Amazing graphics and music. The crafting part is really enjoyable, and makes for an excellent use of the theme. Giving the player some kind of agency on the action phase to make it skill dependent would be really cool.

Great job!!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:22am

Yessss, best idea, hahaha. This was great fun (b..)b

Finlal says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:50am

Thank you all for your kind comments.

phi6 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:55am

The pixel art is absolutely fucking amazing - I wish I had access to that kind of talent! The gameplay itself was not very engaging for me, but that's execution. The concept itself is really good and I'd love to play a fully fledged game about crafting guns, even if it is non-interactive like this one!

Yword says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 9:59am

Wow, it is so cool and everything are very polished! I just completed it, and I think it can evolve into a great metroidvania. Well done!

May 2, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Very polished one, and perfect for the theme!

Snicklodocus says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 3:53am

One of my favorites so far! Great use of the theme. It's fun to try new combos and figure out what each piece does. Art is great too. Good job!

Wayward says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Very polished, liked that you had to find combos between the different parts, I see great potential as a mobile game!

GhostBomb says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Super clever. This definitely seems like an idea that can be expanded upon.

FrederickK says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Not much gameplay, but very beautiful!
Probably you guys didn't made a description of what each part does intentionally, but I think it would make the game better. At the end, I got frustrated that I could reach the goal and still had no idea what some parts did.

stoarch says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Great game. Fantastic themed graphics. Hilarious weapon system. And very difficult and interesting. Want to know what will be next weapon part.

nrallakis says ...
May 17, 2015 @ 8:59am

Very nice game!!!

Rassion says ...
May 20, 2015 @ 4:58am

Nice little Time sink, more?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]