Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

IFF

by eott - Compo Entry

IFF - Identify Friend/Foe

Sometimes the best weapon against the enemy is the enemy themselves. In this case, it is your only weapon. Facing against an endless onslaught of foes, you need to constanly make new friends to survive. How long will you last?

Move: Arrow keys
Fire: Left mouse button

Unfortunately not mobile friendly.

Known bugs:
* Sometimes enemies get confused about being confused. Not sure what causes this
* Some versions of Chrome do not loop the background music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#579Graphics3.00
#638Audio2.48
#649Theme3.23
#676Fun2.92
#701Mood2.74
#703Innovation2.88
#812Overall2.88
#870Humor2.05
#1383Coolness47%

Comments

cgmorton says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Hey! Nice game you got here. The concept is solid and well executed, and I appreciate the effort put into having different enemy types. I also think the regenerating shield was a good choice here.

One thing I'd like improved is notifications that I'm getting hit. There's a sound, but it usually doesn't play, and bullets that hit me disappear in front of me very much like bullets that reached their range limit. <-- I'm going to leave this sentence here even though I've since realized that bullets have no range limit, because I think that demonstrates exactly the problem I'm talking about.

It's also a shame that bullets go through walls, I'm guessing that was on the todo list but you ran out of time?

I found that even without using my gun I can survive indefinitely just by running away. You might consider some other enemy types, or perhaps other game modes, to add a bit more challenge.

eott says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:13pm

@cgmorton

Thanks for the feedback!

Yeah, most of the issues can be attributed to time constraints. Colliding bullets with walls was a huge performance drain and I couldn't figure out how to fix it in time.

BraindeadGeo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:55am

I like the game but it's a bit confusing how you can only have three guys? Other than that it was good fun!

DaveCarlile says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Good concept. Took a bit to figure out the color change and conversion limit. Arrow keys are frustrating - standard WASD would work better I think.

Pretty solid game. Nice job.

Yakka says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Not sure if I understood how the game work :( But it seems to be an interesting concept. Maybe you could code a random factor on sounds' pitch to make them more various :)

MasterOfNaN says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:56pm

I like the core idea - having to confuse/convert enemies rather than destroying them directly is a good and interesting mechanic.
I'm sure you did it for good reasons, but the 3 limit doesn't feel terribly natural, and (maybe it's a brilliant riff on the weapon itself!) often confused me.
Like the tron/circuit-board background - nice world to be playing in.
Thanks!

eott says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Thanks for all the feedback fellow LDarists!

I guess I should have made the limit of three conversions much clearer, but I think three is about the right amount. Any more and the game becomes laughably easy. Still, I'll consider it if I make a post-LD version.

Somnium says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:04am

I enjoyed the game, especially the aesthetics. Although the enemies had a tendency to gather in groups, after which, the life expentancy of the confused enemies became very short :-)

BIZM says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Nice game! :D Very interesting and solid mechanic. Quite a lot of attention to the overall style, as well. :)

Just a thought: Took me a while to figure out that there my bullets have a toggle effect, and that there's a limit to my number of controlled enemies. Neither of these are problems on their own, but the sheer number of enemies plus the fact that you can rapid-fire seem to contradict the idea that you want to carefully control your confusion rounds.

Good job!

MHaton says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Not bad, the sound effects are a little mind-crushing though! Would be nice if there was something more for the player to do when the maximum number of units are converted, felt a bit impotent being forced to just run and hide and wait for one of them to die.

jojocanard says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 8:14pm

I agree with MHaton.

Good job, it just lacks on more mechanic to keep the player active at all times.

John Vanis says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:28am

Nice game but i don't understand what i was doing.

greytram says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Nice entry, I like the confusion gun concept. You should provide more visual feedback when the player is hit by enemies.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]