Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

A Gun That Shoots Bees

by ShaunJS - Compo Entry

YOU HAVE A GUN THAT SHOOTS BEES
why are you still here!?

Ok fine,

Collect nectar from flowers to acquire vital upgrades.
Defend the central hive from invading bears after your delicious honey.
Shoot bears with bees.

Move around with WSAD/Arrows, click the mouse to fire bees.

HAVE FUN.

I came up with a bunch of serious ideas then asked myself why not just make a game where you have a gun that shoots bees. So uh. I did that. Very refreshing to make a really silly game for once that's not really trying to do anything clever and is just stupid and fun. Also Bee puns.

PRO TIPS:
*There's a boss at Wave 20, after wave 20 the game gets exponentially harder with each passing wave until you're overwhelmed.
*You can explore the map to find big sources of nectar but it's very risky, learn when the best times are to hunt for nectar!
*You can't shoot through flowers and bees get distracted by it which affects your aim, so collect them quickly whenever possible!
*Watch the little ones.
*BUZZ BUZZ BUZZ

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#4Fun4.24
#8Overall4.22
#30Theme4.24
#31Graphics4.35
#116Mood3.62
#125Humor3.68
#179Audio3.40
#420Innovation3.29

Comments

Finn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:39am

Excellent game, a joy to play. Was also great fun to watch be developed!

ReymonARG says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:45am

Niceeee!!

Kahztein says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:22am

Overall a pretty fun game, I feel it was kinda lacking in the sounds department however this was definitely worth my time, keep up the good work!

Conk says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:35am

Excellent! I much prefer this to your last one, very well balanced considering (wave 21 though... triple rock combo) and overall really good.

The audio sometimes glitches and all I could here was buzzing, which was creepy, but not game breaking.

mrhminer says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:19am

Is it ok if i post a MAC port here?
And great work's very fun!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:31am

Watched the Stream and like the Game from first Moment

Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:56am

What else can you expect from this guy? This was superb.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:31am

I saw a bit of this during the steam, it's brilliantly fun and well executed.

Asado says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:42am

Lots of polish. Great.

ColdStone says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:44am

<3

Maeva_Vgr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:48am

Very nice work, I love this game !

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:48am

Great work again from the Master of Game Maker... Loved the style and the gameplay. Lovely entry!

Question - How do you make a game like this if you were to only use "Drag and Drop" ;) - A fan

helekopeter says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:31pm

BEEst game ever

cgriff says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Really fun game, and very polished. Love the recoil on the gun, and all the SFX.

guigrillo13 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Congratulations Shaun!!
I really like the game :P

Norbex says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:52pm

I really like the art style and the sound effects! ;)

QuexD says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:22pm

YES!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:44am

Haha, love it! I want one of these in real life.

Manu & Wan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:04am

A very good and fun game. I like it very much ;)

gv1351 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:42am

Shaun again what an amazing game. I was just hoping for some soft background music? But over all it is a great game, maybe you can make a tutorial on when the bees collide with the bears the sprite change? This is why you are the legendary Shaun Spalding the game king!

GameOfMax says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:00pm

it really a good game ! Bravo !!! -CardsOfMax

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:38am

Interesting game, nice simple wave based shooter. I would have liked to see an indicator in the direction of bears since one time I lost by a bear off-screen getting to my hive. Some music would have been a nice touch as well. Though I do like the sound effects otherwise.

broknecho says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:23am

Overall a great game. Lots of polish. Well thought out. Great entry!

eddynardo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:33am

an excelant game, great work :)

Avastify says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Was so fun watching your stream and the game is amazing
-BirdPlaysGames

Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Very lovely game! I love the clear graphics and the game play yet simple is extremely addicting and has a layer of complex strategy. The sound effects were cute and added to the over all humor. Would of liked some music to go along with the frantic bee shooting but it's nothing major.

Overall very solid and polished game, one the bests I've seen this LD! :)

nameoftheuser says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:06am

Great job Shaun!

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:27pm

simple but verry cool...

Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:35pm

SO much fun!!! my favorite game so far

uheartbeast says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:42am

Great game Shaun. This has been one of my favorites in the compo.

Ershany says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:09am

Sweet game man :)

thaaks says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Wonderful game! Graphics, sound, gameplay, humor and fun - all in this beeloved game! Never beefore have I played such a funny top down shooter - beeautifully done!
I will definitely look at your source code and bee wondering how you did all this!
Great work - unfortunately I couldn't follow your stream cause I was too beesy finishing my own game ;-)

SelfTitled says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 4:55pm

I liked the game, can just pick up and play.

+ I really liked the cartoony art style.
- No music :( a little summery tune would have been awesome.
+ Controls are spot on in my opinion, felt very comfortable straight away.
- Feel dead bears need to be more destinct, lost a few times to the little bears that were a struggle to see when the bear carcasses had piled up.
+ Feel of the game is great, from little bits of polish like the screen shake and the growing ammo bee hive thingy.
- Wasn't sure what the honey did at first.
+ Full game loop.
- Think a suttle way to indicate the bears health would help. Not really thinking a health bar but somthing "suttle" lol.

Most of the negatives are small and most likely down to just running out of time. One of the stronger compo games I've played.

p.s. feel like it was missing somthing sweet and explosive . . . perhaps honey grenades ;)

freaknarf says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 8:18am

Nice game, sweet visuals and super good gamefeel and mechanics ! too many bees ... I've reached wave 17 and could not make it again since :)

First i thought i would be childish when i saw screenshots but killing bears (beers?) families brings the fun...
I've just read there is a boss at 20th wave, I want to see this i may try again...

Great :)

Benjamin says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Great overal I'm nota big fan of sfx with mouth but I must say your sfx are very good, I'm not getting sick of them even after 6-7 plays. The difficulty curve is also nicely done. congrats

Mossy Frog says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Awesome entry, I enjoyed watching your progress on Twitch. The gun is strangley satisfying to shoot! Amazing entry, great weapon. Great job!

funisfun8 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Great art, great sound, great gameplay, fun theme! Well done!!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]