Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Dreamscape

by Peach Pie Productions - Jam Entry

A procedurally generated Roguelike inspired by games like Zelda and Binding of Isaac. The Boss lurks deep in the heart of a bleak, colorless dungeon. With modular light based weapons and animal companions, restore life and hope to a world overtaken by darkness.

Ben James - Programming @PeachPiePro
Caleb Byrd - Scripting and Art @CalebByrd0
Kurt Effinger - Sound Design and Music @kontractor (soundcloud)
Loi LeMix - Art and Design @loiLeMix

Note: If the web version runs slowly, try downloading the .exe as it runs a bit faster.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#146Fun(Jam)3.64
#191Mood(Jam)3.53
#215Overall(Jam)3.59
#221Audio(Jam)3.40
#286Graphics(Jam)3.75
#313Theme(Jam)3.66
#432Innovation(Jam)3.21
#613Humor(Jam)2.65

Comments

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:25am

Loved it! All the eye candy and particle effects made me happy. I loved that you had a companion system to. Great game!

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Great Game! I like the Retro look of it. Is it just me or are all the Chests empty?. I had a good time playing this!

sorlok says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Awesome concept; great game! Really could use a minimap and some health pickups.

Fenaer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Was fun, although with no map it feels like you're wondering aimlessly.

BoyWithStick says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:40pm

That was a lot of fun! I really like the theme. It took me a two rooms to get use to the controls, but by the third room I had it down. The graphics were really good and the visual effects added a lot to the experience. Use of a flash light as an unconventional weapon was way cool. That made me remember playing flashlight tag with the rest of the kids on the street I grew up on. Excellent entry! Saving this one to play some more later. :D

Drauthius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Nice! I was worried for a while that there was no end, but I managed to find it. Very nice graphics, too bad it lagged a lot in my web browser.

The4thCircle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Particle effects slowed it a little on my machine, but that could just be my machine. I loved the colour mechanic.

Tommyno222 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Wonderful game and wonderful idea. It's fun to play, sometimes I don't even know what's going on :)

Ghen says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:22pm

nice game, lovely graphics, but sometimes it's so full of particle that it's hard to see what happen

mantis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:37pm

I really enjoyed this game! Very nice twist on the theme!

animanegra says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Really cool game. Good job.

coderitual says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Nice and smooth controls. Works very well. Good Job!

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:05pm

I found this very beautiful -- adding color to the world and having the screen absolutely overflow with color was delightful. Great work!

Nysten says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:06pm

The game has a really good feel to it. Controls were a bit funny in the beginning, but when you got used to it, it was great! Concept is really cool too, I like the color idea. Could use some improvements, like a minimap, health and checkpoints - but hey, it's Ludum Dare. Awesome submission!

luizgama says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Great game! Plays smoothly, and I love the graphics and the rooms scenario. A flashlight was one of my ideas for unconventional weapon too, but not in a cute way like this!
Work on the game over screen, a little more on the sound and you have a great game :)

Ossi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Great use of the theme and the sprites and particles were amazing! This game looks really good! I really liked the companion system too. Great job!

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:06pm

This game looked good and I like the room-style mechanic, and it was quite fun!

Reccy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Very fun retro-esque game! The graphics were very pretty, but it made it difficult for me to see what was going on sometimes with all the particle effects.

solarexplorer says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Nice art collision with the black rabbits felt a little too sensitive.

nopogo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Fun mechanics. I like the idea of cleansing the area.

Tuism says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Great graphics, cool idea, I like the companionship things, that was interesting, though I found the game both too simple (your lightsabre pretty much destroys anything you could see before hand) and too frustrating (I was often getting hit without any clue why).

The lack of variety between each procedurally generated room was a big let down, as you basically just ended up doing the same thing over and over again.

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Nice game, wonderously simple.

careless says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Amazing and it didn't even seem odd I had bird and rabbits helping me as I attacked bats, cats and rabbits with light.

The companions were a great touch, you added quite a lot of content for the time!

High scoring for sure, lots of fun!

nonetheless says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:15pm

I really like this. Nice idea, very playable. On my computer it gets pretty slow and turns into low fps button smasher but I believe with a little work it could be sth really special. Amazing entry guys :)

reiknight says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:27am

What's inside the chests :D? I can't even sleep without knowing that! The game is great btw =P. I like the idea of "cleaning" the rooms and also the companion system. Good job guys!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:58pm

@reiknight and to everyone who are confused about the blank chests. They serve as weapon upgrades. We didn't have enough time to implement any visual indication. Every time you open a chest, your flashlight will project bigger and more shapes than before. This help compensates for growing enemies difficulty, who will become faster and more aggressive.

Thank you all for playing!

- LeMix

Donpastor says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:09pm

Inspiration for this game was clear enough (as stated in the description). While is a bit repetitive and needs a minimap badly, it's amazing you did this in so little time. Oh, and the room cleared theme is really catchy.

rnlf says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Cool weapon! I like the idea of restoring color in the dungeon. It plays pretty smooth to.

gnx says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Very solid entry! It looks and sounds very polished, and you've managed to make the mechanics intuitive without much text explanation. Very good!
The only downside I can see is that the game runs a bit slow and also for me the web version suddenly just booted back to the main menu for no apparent reason(maybe I died?).

All in all very nice entry and one of the most complete I've played, despite some technical problems :)

Snicklodocus says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 4:38am

Loved the colorful art style! The way rooms lit up as you fought in them was neat. Sometimes it was hard to see the enemies through all the effects though. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]