Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

I choose you, körperliche Ertüchtigung!

by V_V - Jam Entry

I am Swiss. I moved to Malmö six months ago in order to find a job. Living abroad has not always been easy for me. In this game, I tell you my story. It's a game about good and bad days, the music that accompanies me everyday and about my personal weapon.






Pictures by V_V
Audio taken from YouTube


Downloads and Links


Ratings

#71Mood(Jam)3.91
#667Graphics(Jam)2.96
#669Innovation(Jam)2.83
#732Overall(Jam)2.96
#825Humor(Jam)2.21
#978Fun(Jam)2.29
#1004Theme(Jam)2.23
#1566Coolness44%

Comments

kunzbe says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:59pm

It was really interesting to be in the perspective of an immigrant. The mood was greatly underlyed by the music. awesome and different :)

Xgor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Very interesting to see such a personal story in this manner.
I haven't heard much about how it is for EU immigrants so it's interesting to see that perspective.

(It might be just me but it feels like there should be a option for Swedish music)

Avant-Marde says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:12am

This was nice! I too live in Sweden (except not as an immigrant), so it was an interesting perspective.

Music was good (I picked German), tho it was a little distracting to read when there were lyrics in the songs.

Short but to the point. Good job. Only complaint I really have is that eventually you might pick a choice that will take you back to a day you already experienced. Would've been good if the game kept track of your options and didn't present links to parts of the story you'd already been through.

It said straight out that working out was the weapon, but I guess the greater picture is that staying focused and fighting for your goals in general are your weapon against all these forces working against you (not getting a job; incompetence from services). That's a great take on the theme.

I've played few entries so far, but his was a good one!

Avant-Marde says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:13am

As for Xgor's suggestion on Swedish music, I feel like Kent would've been a fitting option in that case. c;

V_V says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:47pm

"funny fact": 72h after having submitted that game, I got my room here in malmö canceled by my roommate (She doesn't know about this game). Guess what I did after hearing these bad news...? ;-)

Blobo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:15pm

Really cool concept. i love the pictures!

Langouste says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Super game! I love it, thanks ;)

May 2, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Just wanted to say thanks for introducing me to some great music. Really set the mood of the story and I fully plan on checking some of this out :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]