Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Flail Rider

by jushii - Jam Entry

A colorful, fast-paced, top-down arcade 'racing' game where you get to blow EVERYTHING up with a giant flail that also grows in size! If you played Blast Corps as a kid - this might be right up your alley!

Controls:

KEYBOARD:
Arrow Keys / WASD - Accelerating and Turning
X - Brake
R - Restart
ESC - Main Menu

XBOX360 Controller:
Left Stick - Turn
A - Accelerate
X - Brake
Y - Restart

Made with:
- Unity 5 Personal Edition
- Photoshop CS6
- Blender
- Audacity
- bfxr.net
- Chocolate chip cookies
- Coffee
- Love

Made by @jushiip

Gameplay on Youtube: goo.gl/CBxEqh

TIP: Keep your boost counter up by collecting blue powerups. This allows you to bash through everything without dying! Powerups can be found by destroying trees. Yellow powerups will grow your flail bigger!

The theme song is made by @TA_Lexigram / @thiefinger
https://soundcloud.com/jushii/flail-rider-theme

I hope you enjoy playing Flail Rider as much as I enjoyed making it!

ps. I'm planning to continue working on Flail Rider! You can follow the development on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/flailridergame

Updates to [PostJam] build

Version 0.01
- Fixed a bug which caused the game to freeze randomly
- Controller support is currently disabled

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#16Fun(Jam)4.12
#37Overall(Jam)4.00
#82Theme(Jam)4.01
#93Graphics(Jam)4.25
#138Innovation(Jam)3.72
#144Mood(Jam)3.65
#161Humor(Jam)3.57

Comments

jk5000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Once you have learned to control the carthe game becomes really fun. Nice graphics, good music and fun gameplay. Well Done!!!

ianburnette says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Phew, that is hard! Realistic, too! Well, in the sense that your car will be wrecked if you run into just one pesky building. The giant flail was slightly less realistic. My car's flail is nowhere near that big. :)

kristof says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Pretty awesome! The graphics and special effects look and feel really great. Its harder than expected to keep the car under control.
One minor thing that annoyed me a bit is that I had to press x whenever I wanted to restart. That got me out of the flow.
But overall, this is a really strong entry!

siryakko says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Really nice and addictive game!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Really good game. Nice to play with XBOX controller.

EwChap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Awesome game. Quite tough but once you focus on the car not the ball and chain its a ton of fun. Love the look and the controls were spot on too.

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Brilliant, really fun game! One of my favourites so far! Great job :)

Split82 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Super fun! Love it.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Nice game. It's easy to learn, hard to master. It looks nice, has decent music and the truth is: The theme might be "an unconventional weapon" on paper, but in our hearts it's "a ridiculous weapon". Very well done.

jwin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Very fun once you get the hang of it! And the style is just icing on the cake.

Hectate says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:22pm

This is great fun to play. I wish the vehicle was a liiiitle bit more durable but nonetheless it's still enjoyable. Thanks!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Loved it, art style is gorgeous.

recursor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Definitely unconventional and fun. Dying as soon as your car touches something is a bummer. Perhaps having a life bar for the car so you could take a few hits before game over. Love the graphics and the game play. Very nice.

crazyrems says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Wow! Actually I played so many games before making a minute without crashing me. It's so addictive I kept restarting until I see that it was pretty the same ending as when you crush your car. That was fun

ChaosCult says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Awesome dynamic! Really cool

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Great graphics and style. Looks fantastic, sounds great and a nice idea! I found doughnuts were the key to success. $26250 was my best score. This plays sooo much better with a controller.

Malsanity says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Please keep working on this and port to Android. I can help if needed (not kidding, contact me), as I want this ASAP on my tab!

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:54pm

It was much easier to control it with a keyboard rather than with a gamepad, after I switched the controls felt really good. I'm not a big fan of score attacks and feel like it could've had more potential if there was some kind of opposition, but it's still a pretty fun game. Most importantly, a spiked ball on a chain attached to a car is truly unconventional and innovative.

surpent says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:08am

Cool!
But it is difficult. It seems Flappy Bird!
Addicting :-)

fabriciopfs says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:21am

Very fun game! Loved the art style!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:39am

Great idea and execution! I think I would prefer if the car could take a couple of hits though.

yuigoto says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:21am

I'm pretty fond of top-down/isometric racers so this one hit the spot! The controls are really nice and easy to get accostumed to.
The graphics, in my opinion, really go well with this style of game and the soundtrack completes the pack in a really nice and satisfying way.
Really want to see this one turned into a "full" game. :P

shyupuff says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:46am

Really fun game. Nice graphics. Fits the theme. Well done!

karimikkawi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:30am

thumbs up (y)

mortus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:52am

Great visuals and lots of fun! Especially in a powerup mode. It gets a little repetitive when you don't get powerups for a long time though.

Just a few things I think could get some improvement (hope you don't mind some constructive criticism :D):
- it's hard to notice power ups given the amount of particles you have (which are super cool IMO);
- it's quite sad that your car can't take even one slightest hit;
- I think if would be much more rewarding if the ball was heavier, right now I rarely get to destroy more than 2 objects in a swing, because the first one almost stops the ball;
- brakes sound!

Congratulations on a cool game and good luck!

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:22am

Pure Awsomeness :D

Tuism says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:47am

A charming game, just seeing the GIFs and screenshots alone pull you in.

I really enjoy the concept, the graphics and juice is OFF THE WALL. You had the frame-pause, sound, and the little blocks flying everywhere - everything just feels really good.

I'm in two minds about the extreme difficulty, though. One-hit death to your car feels harsh, and coupled with he handling (which is pretty good, but doesn't offer much options) means that it's super difficult to get up to speed and get the sense of wrecking-everything excitement that I want from the game I saw in the gif.

I understand that balancing that against having nothing to worry about and the game becoming too easy is a difficult thing, too though. I struggling getting that difficulty curve at all in my jam games.

Overall, feels great!

Hamid1350 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:04am

Great job!
It takes some time to learn how to control car and it's huge tail but after that it becomes exciting smashing machine!
good job for a short notice!

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:09am

Learning to control the car was interesting, but even before you figure that out, it's fun. Bravo!

Ildfuglen says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:16am

That is awesome :D Love it!

mantis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:16am

Great game! Had tons of fun :)

Azure_Kyte says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:22am

I've been looking forward to playing this since you started showing little gifs and showcasing it's development! Great to be able to finally play it; it is a heckuva lot of fun! :D

Benjamin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:22am

Difficult but very rewarding when you get used to it !
Great work on the impact feedback fx + pause tempo.

juaxix says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:24am

I really like this entry, there is a bug if you try to reset the game with gamepad using Y button, you can't play anymore, just that.
The ultra details and the simple idea is a nice combination :)

mokujin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:25am

Gameplay is fun!

Murchurl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:25am

This game is really fun and innovative! 5 stars for both woo! Love the graphics as well.

Awesome Job!

rgehan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:26am

Probably the best game I've tested this morning.
Feels really polished to me. The graphics are great, the music is awesome and the gameplay is fun.

Really good job sir !

rogberth says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:28am

Ok, you sshould start the car pressing up or W. Fun game, I was really waiting to play it :> It's harder than I though haha

Suese says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:30am

Very novel concept.

anokta says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:31am

this is amazing! very nicely done! :)

Ouro17 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:36am

Very good game, congrats, i love the music. I dont know why people said that its hard, i just tap W and A and break things all the way. Good job with the mechanics.

Conk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:39am

It's a shame the ball didn't kill me, but other than that, definitely got yourself a winner here, this is so freaking awesome.

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:50am

Aweseome! Really, really fun game! Most fun I've had playing people's games! The game controls perfectly and everything is awesome! Good job man.

GhostBomb says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:51am

I have to say, the graphics and sound all got me really pumped to go on a rampage through those brightly colored block buildings, but the gameplay forces you to be a lot more timid than you'd like. Here are a few suggestions.

-Starting and restarting should be the same button.
-Give the player a bigger view of the map so they feel more confident going at top speed.
-Give the car better handling in contrast to the spiked ball so I can swing at buildings without actually hitting them myself.
-Make the chain longer so the ball can deviate a bit.
-The ball should really plow through buildings with no resistance with enough momentum to award players for building up speed.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:58am

I loved this game. Its fun and nice looking.
One annoying thing was the xbox controller, I expected the car to go to the direction of the stick, but it doesn't, it's specially frustrating when trying to go down.

Dejvo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:58am

it was very frustrating for a clumsy person like me but well done! (i did not manage to survive the minute in like 30 tries)

YM says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:01am

x to start is a reaaaallllly unintuitive key. Frustratingly odd choice.

Otherwise, this was awesome. Lots of fun. And hard :(

Filoox says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:06am

God game play, my score 13000$

suomi_tytto says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:28am

This is THE BOMB!!!!!!!!!!! Takes me back to those arcade addiction times, the pixel graphics and music really helped too :D I really love the dynamics and the art form is so cute! The game is simple in concept yet addictive and honestly it is just so fun to go on a rampage and destroy everything :D It is a little challenging to play like others have mentioned and it is hard to control the car sometimes...but certainly not so difficult that you give up and I have lost count of the amount of time I spent playing this instead of completing my work :D Certainly my personal favourite out of all the submissions I've seen so far so I really encourage everyone to try it! :D Good job to the developer, it's amazing that you managed to conceptualise and complete this by yourself and in the short time span, I really hope you develop it further and maybe make an app or something :)

Mixer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:33am

One of my favourites, this is pure fun.

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:39am

EXCELLENT too much fun :)

Curial says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:44am

When you get to controls, you love destroying things.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:51am

Awesome! Really difficult but I like that, makes it all the more satisfying when you swing it through a load of buildings in one go!

Madball says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Wow, that's so entertaining! Who knew attaching a flail to a car makes driving so fun!
I found it quite difficult to watch both the car and the flail, I played a lot but didn't run out of time ever, always crashed. I wish you had an extra life.
My best is $70500, crashed with 2.8 seconds left.

jushii says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:16pm

I really love the feedback and critique you guys give me, thanks a lot for that and to everyone who comments!! There's a lot of things that could be improved! What probably bugs me the most in this jam entry build is, that I didn't implement any warning sound when the boost meter is running out!! It stops quite suddenly if you are not paying attention.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:21pm

Awesome visual style, decent (yet challenging) controls and a great little concept. Lateral force on the building explosion seems a bit nuts :p But excellent! Only thing I'd ask for is a bit of leeway in the speed you can safely hit stuff, but other than that top job!

nov1kk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Very nice art, music also fits well, and the gameplay is hard and challenging, good job! I just wish the car was more durable or something, so that you don't die from one hit (even a really slow one)

alpha_rat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Great game!
It feels very complete and polished, and the gameplay is really fun
I like the music also

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Awesome! It's about time Blast Corps made a comeback. Really fun mechanics and great presentation all round!

sanojian says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Really fun and challenging. Best use of the theme that I have seen. I only wish there was more stuff to wreck!

Hectigo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:03pm

The core mechanic is a ton of fun, and the game really hooked me when I discovered the boost pieces. It's maybe just a tad too difficult - if the boost pieces were made a little bit more visible, and the car just a little bit easier to control, it might be even more fun. Maybe the trees shouldn't instantly crash the car, but rather just slow you down? The game is still no doubt among the best of LD32.

runvs says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Great game with nice selected music! Controls are easy to learn but hard to master! Had a lot of fun!

Mohagged says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:56pm

so awesome, especially the impact feedback. love it!

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:56pm

it's fun but the learning curve is really steep! I do like the music and art and it gives a very strong vibe of just keep on playing.

jgritty says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Best one I've played yet! This is fun, and well polished.

Hammer Games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Ahahah! So funny!

Bergara says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:00am

Very fun, creative and original. One of the best entries of the Jam =)

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:18am

Neat idea, and fun execution. Enjoyed the physics, well done. :)

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:31am

Very fun game. Definitely unconventional and definitely fun to use the mace. Could do with a bit more car durability though, as I restarted a ton.

CowShark says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:22am

Got excited about this as soon as I saw the screenshots! Love the concept - very "unconventional" indeed! Very fun, quirky little game. Really hope you plan to continue developing this!

My only criticism would be the somewhat boat-like handling of the car, which makes it a little difficult to do controlled whip-arounds to aim the flail. Some amount of chaos is expected, but maybe a slightly more controlled chaos? ;)

At any rate, excellent entry!

graebor says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:50am

Very nice! Cute art style and satisfying explosions.

xbcw says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:02am

Well that was fun. I would have loved to see a freeplay mode where you just wreck stuff and don't die.

zillix says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:24am

controls were smooth and the gameplay was a lot of fun! it definitely took a few tries to be able to survive the entire duration of the game :)

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:24am

Nice graphics, nice art, tight controls, overall really good :D

jushii says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:29am

I challenge you guys to break my highscore of $292500! :D

novadream says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:36am

Really amazing look and feel to it, but the insta-death is infuriating. >.<

guoboism says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:38am

Another flail game for me! Nice graphic! But the control is to difficult die a lot! Better not make every thing hurts on collides! Nice game!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:45am

All this destruction is incredibly satisfying. A+

FrederickK says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:52am

Hard and simple just the right amount, great job guys!
Very addictive!
I loved it!

HeuGamer says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:56am

Was looking forward to this game, was not disappointed!

Super Hamster says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:21am

Reminds me of the game Great Ball Of Doom. I was really excited to play this because how the graphics look and the fact that its a destruction game(who doesn't like those??). Music was good as well. I found the game a bit too hard however even after multiple tries. I never quite got the feel for the controls. Maybe with more practice I could have but I think I played for about 10 minutes or so. Anyways, cool game and idea! :D

pixzleone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:35am

Awesooomeee!

jsmars says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:41am

Awesome game! Was really difficult in the beginning tho :)

Bemmu says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:48am

Very nice, this might end up being one of the top jam entries, really fun to play.

Suhvan4ik says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:14am

Nice work!

NuSan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:14am

Great game! I like the graphics and the music. It's a bit punishing to die in one hit, even at low speed. The powerup make it realy fun when you have it! Good job!

Karai17 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:40am

Quite fun! The "Star" power up was nice. My biggest frustration was that my car was too fragile, even bumping into a tree very slowly caused insta-death. Maybe give the player health? it would be a lot more fun to not always be worrying about that tree over there.

iSamurai says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:44am

Oh I like it! It feels so satisfying just to smashes!!

strega says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:15am

Awesome art and sounds. Plays a lot better with a controller. I wish that the game would start as soon as I hit any of the control keys vs having to hit x. This made dying and starting over way more annoying than it should have been. I also wish death was a little more forgiving, like instead of hitting anything it was only if your front hit.

I really wish the car just tried to go in the direction I pressed rather than being controlled in a tank controls sort of way. Like would make crazy arcs and things, but at least I had a good sense of where it would hopefully end up. The destruction in this game is so juicy it sucks to not get to experience for only short bursts.

(or maybe i just suck at the game :P)

Jwatt says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:18am

The physics are moderately satisfying, could use some super fragile objects for good measure (like tone down the sturdiness of the trees). I'm not sure if it's because of the isometric projection, but it was tricky to stay alive for long at first.

Props for the music. Surprised you've disabled the Audio rating since you've made it yourself and all.

Jwatt says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:20am

Or more accurately, "uploaded with permission". Was it someone in the dev team to make it, though?

jushii says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:39am

@Jwatt, the music is not made by me! The theme song playing in the title screen and while on boost mode is made by my friend, (twitter @thiefinger) and the other song I found online and it has creative commons 3.0 licence! You can see this info on the credits!

omaha says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:49am

Nice work! Unfortunately I had trouble playing with my xb360 controller on my mac. Seemed like only half of the controls were working. Are you using InControl or unity's native input API?

jushii says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:54am

@omaha I'm using the native input API, my friend had similar problems on safari, but with chrome it worked fine for him, I wonder why is that.. :/

Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:58am

Super fun, though hard not to die ;). Highscore: 9000

Lerc says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:33am

Quite similar to my game in that I can't hit anything with my tail and I crash into things a lot.

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:33am

Great game! Graphics are excellent... *thumbs up*

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:35am

Tricky to learn at first, but it's a really polished feeling game. Controller support was a plus, felt very good playing that way too.

I downloaded it and played it at 1600x900 resolution, and everything went well. The shadows were pretty jaggy, but aside from that it honestly didn't bother me at all and was more immersive (considering it's being scaled up so much).

The main feeling I felt after having to restart a couple of times was that I wish the car could take like 2 or 3 hits before you're forced to restart. Though having that tension of hitting anything with the car is pretty... intense, especially when the time is closing it, and it may have not had that as much otherwise.

(I just played it again after reading the description) I didn't even know about the power-ups in the game and it kind of addresses what I said above in some ways. I saw the boost meter while playing earlier but kind of thought it may have not been implemented or something. I was definitely wrong haha, very nice little powerup effect.

It has a great arcadey feel to it overall. Short little sessions, easy to understand but hard to master. I think the main thing I would recommend doing if you continue work on this is just setting up higher resolution graphics, unless the jaggy look is what you're going for... and in that case emphasize it more so that it feels like more of a style rather than feeling like it needs a bit of anti-aliasing.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:53am

This is brilliant, so much fun and a verry unconventional weapon indeed.

rojo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:55am

Driving around was definitely a blast! I do wish you had more tolerance for collisions (without powerups) as having to play it safe sort of takes away from the fun at times. The graphics were simple, but had a nice, cohesive aesthetic. The game kind of reminds me of Blast Corps from the N64 days, which was pretty good as well. Check it out sometime if you haven't heard of it!

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:17am

Super fun! Feels really good with a controller. I had some issues with the windows version crashing on me, not sure why.

jushii says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:33am

Speaking of the windows version. I noticed having named the zip and exe as Flail Driver instead of Flail Rider.. I blame sleep deprivation!!

Perjoka says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:25am

Very difficult, but a lot of fun! Well done!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:03pm

such a great job jussi playing this game is fun and you did a really amazing job i wish you all the good luck my friend

kyyrma says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:01pm

This was an absolute blast to play! The difficulty level felt a bit off however, with the car not being able to take any damage. Maybe it would be better if the car just spun off and became uncontrollable for a while when it bumps into something? Also the powerup was amazing, but there should be a clear indicator when it is about to stop.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Really fun game! Nice art and gameplay! The only bad thing is that the car slides too much sometimes. Good job :)

Anikki says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Was extremely frustrating for me. Didn't get any powerUps before I died. Very fun to play though. I mean, it was frustrating yet i kept trying for 15 minutes, thats a good thing.

Blobo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Amazing game! love the music and i had a great time playing. only complaint is that i managed to cause the game to freeze when driving around with a powerup.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:11pm

That was fun ! I kept crashing but Fun !

-CH

Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Great game.

Newt_ says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:09am

Cute game, loved the art style. The controls were a little frustrating though, at least on keyboard.

jackrugile says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:28am

Holy crap, I wish I had more stars for the fun category. Well done! Such a joy to play this one. I just wish I didn't die when tapping an object at 1 MPH ;) Not a problem, I just need more practice. So good!

BoyWithStick says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:13am

Difficult game, but a lot of fun. I kept on wrecking my car and restarting constantly. Though, with the quick iterative plays it alleviated any frustration I was having. Especially once I found the boosts throughout the map. Very cool unconventional weapon!

Horsed says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:41am

Black screen ingame. I can only see the main menu and the ingame hud. The rest is black :-( Fix it, I want to play :-) (tested in Chrome and FF and the Windows version)

Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:05am

Had a blast playing this, but it would be even more fun if the blue coin boost lasted longer and were easier to chain with additional blue coins.

jushii says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:13am

@Horsed, I try to build a WebGL version and upload it soon! I will update it as a post jam build to the description. Let's hope it works for you.

hexagore says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:34am

Love the graphics and music for this, I love that sort of textureless blocky style.

I kinda struggled with this one. You've already got a timer so dying when hitting anything with the car felt really harsh. I found that I was basically too afraid to really move at all because as soon as I tried to go anywhere, blam, dead, which sucked a lot of the potential fun out of it for me (if it was say a timed score attack and the only punishment for poor driving was loss of momentum and a lower score)

Feels like it's got a huge amount of potential though, and obviously incredible presentation :)

pistolshrimps says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:50am

Really nice graphics and effects!

Birke says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:33am

Great game! It does not work so well that you have to press two different keys for respawning and starting the game since it breaks the sense of flow flow you have going on. Use the same key for both or better yet just let the player restart the game with one button press after they have died.

OrangeeZ says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Hell yeah! This is a damn solid entry with fleshed-out gameplay and great aesthetics. Well done!

Indiestry says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Pure fune, great concept and well executed, especially the audio and the graphics

Lovelace Lair says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Crashed a few times but overall amazing game!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:40pm

It looks and sounds amazing! the theme is also present in a nice way and the gameplay feels like it could be alot of fun if I wasn't jerked out of the flow so abruptly everytime I crash... the music just does a dead stop and everything is reset. some sort of respawn mechanic could do wonders to keep the flow going.

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:38pm

really a good game;

Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Oh man, you'd have to have a heart of stone not to get an immense amount of joy from this game :D

Up-beat audio, great visuals, instantly-understandable & fun mechanics. Beautiful.

sputnik says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:32pm

A little bit hard to control, but very satisying! Good work!

Lyje says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Awesome little game. A little hard to not die (perhaps replacing the hard fail state with something else would help, for instance speed penalty?). Also reducing the resistance the buildings pose to the flail might make for more of a fluid combo feeling. No idea why you've opted out of sound rating - sound and music was great!

nonetheless says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Damn, why everybody has better music than me :) Great art, I love the idea, physics are fun, amazing entry dear Sir!

chromebookbob says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:13pm

With a remote this was great fun, I really like the art style!

bitslap says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:39pm

This is a top game right there.

Controls are slick, Art is coherent, effects and juice is as modest it need be and the audio is really fitting.

Good job.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Would be nice if you add stunt points, randomise the map each time you die and make the player not die instantly but give lives instead. Besides this, great game

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:06pm

That was just good all around fun! Nice simple gfx, good controls and sweet music!

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Simple but a blast! Great art direction too.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:20am

Excellent game. The first couple of times are a touch difficult to drive, but once you get the hang of it there's a lot of fun to be had.

Yakka says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:08pm

Loved the idea! Too bad the car dies at each obstacle :( It was kind of frustrating. But except this point, I really enjoyed destroying everything :D

BIZM says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:04pm

The graphics, mechanics and overall gameplay are extremely polished in this game. We LOVE the concept, however we found we crashed more than we smashed, and MAN do we want to smash! Other than that, truly amazing job!

elpaulo says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:11pm

So fun ! Nice physics engine and graphics.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Difficult but not frustrating, it ended up being really great fun. I love the aesthetic too, great work

GFM says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:49pm

I really liked this game. It's feels great to destroy everything and the music is really rad!


But, instead of what I usually say, I think this game would greatly benefit from having a upgrade system. Getting power-ups is fun in a single run, and it makes sense that the wrecking loses momentum after hitting anything... But, as I played, I imagined getting more and more powerful after each time I played, until I could destroy the whole scenario. *-*
Kinda like how you start really small on Katamari Damacy you start by getting small toys, coins, etc. and afterward you can get a friggin' country!

So, shortly: Great game! The only "negative" point is that I keep thinking about what it could be, instead of what it is...

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:35am

One of my favorites so far! Great controls and I really loved the art. Great job!

herniewise says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:02am

Your game was great to play and difficult to master. Great job with it!

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:26am

Ha, this is definitely one of the most fun entries I've played so far! The car is hard to control, but this seems intentional and you can kinda figure out how to make it slide around properly. Good job!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:44am

Great game, enjoyed this one. Was quite addictive driving the car and seeing how much damage you could create. The graphics are also great, definitely a standout.

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:50pm

Great fun ! Although, I think the 'x' key thing to start kills momentum (cause you have to admit, you die a lot). Also, next time please let us brake ! But really awesome game !!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Super fun!

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Impacts feels really crunchy. Fun.

Mase says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Nice color choices.

bnhw says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Please make this a local multiplayer game and stop the car being wrecked when you crash! An arcadey bounce would be sufficient. Also, the buildings/trees shouldn't slow the flail down by anywhere near as much!

zaibakk says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Very good job? Which is the name of the menu song? Its beatiful! :)

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:26pm

I have never invested so much time in playing a Ludum Dare game before! Bravo!

kaa says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Very funny game! Good graphics. Very well done

hunttis says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Holy crushing flail on a car, batman! :D

I.. just can't survive a whole minute. Great music, great graphics, tight controls, though!

ianh says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:59pm

I wish the car were less fragile when you're not boosting. Otherwise this was a lot of fun!

mildmojo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:52pm

Cool game. The flail reminds me of Velociraptor Safari, but that's probably going to be true about any game with a vehicle towing a large mass behind it. =)

The graphics look great and the flail feels good. I think the crashing was a little unforgiving, though. Giant indestructible flail, itty-bitty tissue paper car.

You mention powerups in the description, but I don't think I saw any in the game.

Anyway, nice complete and polished game. Great entry.

jplur says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:00am

super super entry, you should continue work on this - I could really see it as a popular phone game or something ($$$)

Taldius says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:45am

Really nice game, the art is simple but really charming and the gameplay is efficient.
The only problem is that even after some tries, it's hard to properly handle the car.
Anyway, awesome job!

Galan says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:02am

Love the game, but the one hit death was a bit rough. The game screams to be played recklessly, but the difficulty forces you to play cautiously.

xhunterko says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:17am

Oh good. Someone made my first idea so I don't have to. Nicely done!

ehtd says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:08am

Difficult at first, but very funny as soon as you understand how to destroy without dying

simon.parzer says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Very easy to get killed, even if I drive very slowly into a house it still breaks my car.
The game is incredible though, I love the style and it's very much fun destroying everything in your sight.

marinalucio says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:05am

Great idea, but it's a bit too hard for me :( . I wish the car had a health bar so i could bump it more than once. You have very nice graphics though...I really like the low poly style (hence my game :D). Keep on the good work.

gillenew says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Great fun, and well done too! At first it is very hard, but then that you takes the tricks is fun :D

Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:58am

wow This is really fun. its really hard because i couldn't resist driving really fast and smashing everything.

LukuluK says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:07am

This game is really funny ! But once I started to master the timings
It could be interesting to give some life credits to the player to make it less frustrating and encourage risk taking.
Since this is a game about precision, I was sad to lose my character of sight when I went behind buildings (since I understand that with the short time of the competition, it was hard). If being in top view risks to make this game less pretty, you can still have a shader showing your character in shadow when being behind buildings.

daredevildave says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Very nicely polished. Looks great. Handling is good. Very hard!

May 3, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Great submission. Wished there was a bit of momentum to the car though.

May 3, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Cool idea, nice effects, nice feel.
Well done :)

greytram says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 3:50pm

You need some time to get accustomed to the controls but apart this the game is very funny and very polished! Very nice entry!

TetraQuad says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Very fun and super solid controls. Nice music as well, but my one gripe would be that it restarts every round (I died a lot).

jukimv1986 says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 11:39am

Soooo difficult to control the car yet so enjoyable! A good challenge, great grahics and audio, good mechanics. Great work!

puppetmaster says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Very cool game you have. My kids have had fun to play it!! Yeah, steering could be better on gamepad!
Very well done!!

May 7, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Pssst - you are in todays Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DTrb1Vurkpk

Noah Ratcliff says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 9:48pm

This is a great use of the theme! Graphically, this game is super solid! However, I feel like the pacing of the game was off. Having to hit R then X every time I restarted was a little annoying, and I feel like the car and flail losing momentum every time it hit something really messed with the game feel.

skylinegames says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 7:58am

its fun but I hate that I only have 1 life

Boberro says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 8:53am

A nicely finished game. Good idea, but with current car mechanics, it's more like "Flail Asteroids" :)

Pat AfterMoon says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 11:53am

Very fun, I would appreciated a retry key more easy for keyboard players (R and X are not the better choice).
Until I saw my son continually turning on himself in spiral and breaking all over him, and find it too hard ;)

May 10, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Buckets of no-nonsense fun, excellent stuff

thaaks says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 1:59pm

The music is soo cool and brings so much more atmosphere to the game! Well chosen! The gameplay is fun and although control of the ball is tricky it's a lot of fun to destroy buildings and trees! Wonderful jam entry!

MrShoestore says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 12:44am

really fun game, and great looking. my two cents are the vehicle should be brighter/more vibrant in order to stand out a bit better, kinda hard see. also i would love to be able to take more then one hit, a damage meter would be awesome.

Menesetsu says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 4:06pm

This one suits theme well!

May 11, 2015 @ 7:22pm

This is quite fun! I love the particle effects obtained by breaking objects. The invincibility powerup is fun, but it would have been better if there was a warning (either flashing screen or sound effect) when it is about to end. Great job overall!

rogueNoodle says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Easily one of my favorites! I love this style of rage-inducing quick-play game and it's just begging for some kind of mobile version.

Mossy Frog says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:39pm

Incredible! This is so much fun its insane. This should be a mobile game I would buy it.

wademcgillis says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:01pm

SMASHING!

funisfun8 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Great job! Fun mechanics, good graphics. Well worth playing.

JenniNexus says ...
Oct 28, 2015 @ 7:31am

Addictive, endearing & so much fun!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]