Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Stoned Scarecrow

by gillenew - Compo Entry

Stoned scarecrow want to play with you :3

CONTROLS:

Move your Trunk - WDSA and Key Arrows
Shot with your Trunk - Z and P


Post LD - New Version

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/66781112/stonedscarecrow/index.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#58Graphics4.18
#396Humor3.01
#482Mood3.01
#526Overall3.20
#612Fun2.97
#726Audio2.27
#815Theme3.01
#964Innovation2.43

Comments

drludos says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:27am

Nice game, I played several "runs" and I enjoyed it! :)

Your pixel art skills are impressive, this game is so beautiful and well animated - did you catch some sleep during the compo? :)

Regarding the game, it's well designed, and I see the "play it several times to get xp mecanic", but I think you should be a bit more generous when giving XP to player - 1 skill point per level is very few, and it's quite long to get a new level (it took me 5 fives run to get to level 2 in XP)

Also, you should add the controls in the description, it took me some time to figure out that "Z" is used to shoot :)
(at first, I thought that it was an endless runner game, so avoid enemies only)

gillenew says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:35am

Thank you drludos :)
I did not sleep very much, I think some 3 hours only. The game became quite painful even, I could not really test the mechanics progressively (The bee and hand enemies I did when there was 1 hour to end the submission).

and thank you again for reminding the controls, I put them in the description :)

Move127 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:55am

The controls don't feel very good. The pixel art is fantastic.

ruthiepee says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:09am

The pixel art is absolutely DELICIOUS. All those little explosion sprites... *drool* The interface is very clear and well designed and the controls are pretty good too, except-- is shooting supposed to be really unresponsive at the beginning? It was taking too long to get upgrades so I quit playing to admire the art, haha. Oh, and full points for theme too. A scarecrow on a floating log? Yeeeah, okay!

strega says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:08am

Art is amazing! I wasn't able to get very far. Is player suppose to shoot in short bursts of 3 to 4 bullets? It felt sporadic.

vegard1992 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:09am

Hey man, it looks pretty cool!
A couple of notes:
Wish you had added some more sound and music
And animated the scarecrow a bit more
As well as a nice tooltip in game like how to shoot/move
And an indicator with the shooting

Good side:
Fun theme and good art!
Not so good:
I wish you had worked more on the gameplay

TD5 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:13am

Having XP and being able to upgrade is cool and kept me playing for a while, but it just takes too much time to get an upgrade which sapped a bit of the fun out of it for me. The graphics are fantastic!

Anas Azmi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:21am

Gorgeous sprites! Also, weirdass setting, definitely good! Somehow reminded me of Trio the Punch, in a good way. Although I wish I could've fired more. The firing rate IMO makes it really hard to get XP. And the lack of music makes the whole thing feel a little empty, so I think that having music would make it way more enjoyable.

Madball says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Is there only 5 enemies (mushroom, face, pipe, bee, palm)? If there are more, sorry, I didn't get that far.

I like the appearance of the game. The obscurity of characters is so fun! However, the gameplay is far from perfect. I understand the XP farming, I've seen a lot of games like this one, but your game is badly balanced.
You should've made stronger enemies give much more XP, so as you get more XP, you get XP faster, this way you spend about the same time on each level, plus you get that feeling like "Oh, I remember being killed by that enemy so many times, now I can kill a dozen of them" as a bonus.
Also, upgrading power twice makes you able to kill most of the enemies with one shot, while upgrading anything else twice (maybe except for shot speed) doesn't seem to give you a lot of opportunities.

If you want to make this game deeper, feel free to do so. I recommend adding more enemies and flocks of enemies, each one being stronger and giving more XP. For now, I can kill most types of enemies without any upgrades.

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:26pm

Really good pixel art! I feel it takes too long to be able to fire bullets again after 3 shots or so though.

longshorts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Game's art is gorgeous! Its only drawback was that it took way too long to get that first upgrade. Levels should be easier to obtain at first.

colludium says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Beautiful graphics / pixel artwork. Very impressive.

The game seemed complete but I couldn't figure out the controls (how to shoot). I tried all of the keys and mouse buttons but nothing worked!

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Great idea and graphics, beautifully animated. 9/10

KedumeBits says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:32pm

It's hard, but i like it. The power up system is the addictive part. Great game and awesome graphics.

Buko-Studios says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:24pm

nice game and unique concept. had fun playing it but i noticed that the bullets/shots goes out too long. i've pushed z and p 4 to 5 times before it gives out a pellet or something. dunno if its my keyboards problem or its meant to be that way. if it is meant to be that way, can i suggest increasing the speed of the pellets/bullets.

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Nice game. Amazing level of polish and art quality for a 48h compo. Playing was fun too. However XP rate was very bad, felt like pure farming game :(

ehtd says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Impressive graphics

Fanttum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:03am

A fun idea, but it is kinda slow.

zatyka says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:59am

Remarkably complete and polished. Lovely art style. It's enjoyable, but certainly has some flaws. The pacing/balancing was my biggest issue.

broknecho says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:39am

Graphics are super good! Neat concept. Well done!

BraindeadGeo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:39am

Took me a while to figure out you fire in 3s, thought the controls were being unresponsive! Nice style!

Dege says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:39am

it doesnt always shoot when i press P but its really fun and the sprites are great!

Larzan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:40am

Beautiful gfx, well done.

lordxam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:43am

long time play sad, if you for fun - live to 3 lvl =/

benbateman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:45am

Really good submission. The pixelart in particular is fantastic (it must have taken a while). I definitely feel like it's weirdness fits the theme, too.

Add some music and make the progression a bit more forgiving, and I think you're golden.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:57am

The XP exponential ramp got very steep, very quickly. Bit to steep for me.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Make this into a full game and get rich!

Manou says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Taopaïpaî scarecrow ! Good visuals as usual :)

Drauthius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Nice game. The XP system gives a nice incentive to keep playing, but it is gained a bit slow though.

gillenew says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:58am

Many thanks to all who commented and rated my game. I'm creating some improvements on top of these observations and will soon bring news.

Who want to track more details please visit my website: http://gillenew.com

Teesquared says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:48am

I like the upgrades. Shot power helped a lot. Having to replay from start though felt a little repetitious.

TheCams says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Really nice graphics and good mechanic, I like the idea of leveling in a shoot them up. Good job!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Loved the bizarre characters, the game lookes great. Really nice upgrade system but it took a bit too long to get the experience to upgrade, apart from that I really liked it.

Dickie says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:14pm

feel like this game's a bit of a slow burn, like designed around someone playing it for a good hour before your even powerful enough to take on the hand bastards which isn't really idea for this kind of rating.

but with that said from what I've played the gameplay's pretty competent, really needs some polish/juice as yeah that cannon feels like a pea shooter and everything's just a bit bland feel wise.

visually really good job, loved the death animations of the spinny heads and the scarecrow just throwing himself off of the log.

but yeah optimize a little more for initial enjoyment otherwise you're xp bar's never going to incentivise people into continuing playing as they've already unlocked so much instead of thinking like 'sigh 5 more minutes before I can start doing any proper damage to those flying mushrooms'

dydx says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Really nice characters & animation. I like the upgrade options, but I wish the XP progression was faster.

NoxNode says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:07am

Like most ppl, I think the graphics were awesome, but I feel like the reload time was really slow.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Source Link is Broken

gillenew says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Thank you JerryLeeLodbrok, I fixed the source link :)

Will Edwards says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Very slow default rate of fire; not quite Llamatron :) Excellent art and an unconventional weapon indeed :)

DKoding says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Not bad but seemed to run slow in my browser. The fire button worked 1 out of 4 times which was annoying. Liked the graphics and the parallax effect though.

nassi says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:41pm

The art is indeed nice, but the gameplay is absolutely dreadful. Shooting felt very unresponsive and the time it took to get even the first level was way too long. The gameplay felt quite slow too, since you could only shoot once every second or so.

Tried the updated version too and while it was somewhat better it still had its problems, since killing anything at the start was too hard.

I think that the base power of the player should be incereased in both versions so that you could actually get something done even without any upgrades.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 11:55pm

I thought the upgrade was intelligent, but the starting stats were terribly underpowered. Additionally, the level-up came too slowly, making it hard to appreciate the game. Overall, I think the game needs better balancing, and give the player a sense of power more quickly.

May 1, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Great take on a shmup shooter. The grindy nature of the level up system certainly needs to be reworked, because you are incredibly underpowered from the beginning.

GarethIW says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 1:15pm

Quiet like the art style, Well done.

CH

Pietdagamer says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Awesome pixel art!

Sublustris says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 1:41pm

5 for gfx!

MrRoboman says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Very nice! Loved the art and simplicity of the game. The leveling mechanic was cool, it just took way too long to level up. I'll go try your new version now!

Xanjos says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 4:42pm

I loved the pixelart style but in terms of gameplay, I found the initial shot speed to be a bit too slow.

Chaoseed says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 4:50pm

The artwork and animation is great! The characters are all pretty memorable. I don't know why I'm a scarecrow riding a flying log shooting mushrooms, but it's kinda fun, heh. The one problem I had was with the shooting; I would hold down the shoot key and there would be three shots...then a pause, then three more shots...and so on. It makes it so you can't shoot right when you need to. Odd, and kind of frustrating.

Crumpet says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 5:32pm

The pixel art is lovely, I love your palette.
There are two things in this game that I feel stand out as the most important to improve, as well as not being too difficult.
The first is the character's firing patterns. It seems silly, but as someone who started pressing space before I realised holding it worked, the whole "fire 3 shots then pause" made whether or not I was allowed to fire feel so arbitrary. More to the point, I see no reason why you couldn't just remove the break between three shots, and have it be a more continual rate.
The second is sound. I know there are probably a number of reasons (time, ability) why you didn't put it in, and that's unfortunate, but the sounds are much too repetitive. If anything, just have 3 very similar shooting sounds and choose one randomly, it makes a world of difference without much effort.

Those are my main criticisms/nitpicks, asides from that, it's a very good effort, a lot of content for a competition, great job!

Deity says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Fun little game and the graphics and animation look great.

I found it a bit challenging at first due to the fly/fire speed but enjoyed it.

Krunoslav says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Very fun game. Incredible graphics. I reached level 13 but i could not kill the big mashroom!
Eu gostei do espantalho ;)

jmborden says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Great graphics.

daredevildave says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 9:53am

Great looking game. The slow rate of fire at the first level felt a little too harsh. Long pauses between the 3 bullets you can shoot at a time. It made it annoying to play. Once the rate of fire goes up it would be more enjoyable.

Arche-san says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 11:52am

Hey! I played both version (compo and post-compo) and post-compo version is pretty damn good! There's a good difficulty curve and a better progression feeling. Too bad the shot power is only useful for the end. That said, it's a very funny game. Good job!

May 4, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Aww, the idea was so great and the graphics nice too, why is the scarecrow so slow to shoot T__T? More XP and some music would have been appreciated. Nice entry though!

May 5, 2015 @ 4:57am

Great graphics, the leveling system was a little too slow for my taste, especially since the character felt very nerfed to start. Lots of enemy variety, that's pretty cool to see in a ludum dare.

Embalaje says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 8:17am

Great art! A lot of work for a Compo, and I see that you worked later on the postcompo version in the things you couldn´t work in. Nice music!
Good job!

Crefossus says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Wonderful artwork (esp death animations) and it's super impressive to get gameplay with upgrades in this short amount of time.

It looks like you've probably already addressed what I'm about to say in an update but I don't want to corrupt my rating. It's a bit slow and tedious - probably due to the way the shooting works. Picking each skill point is blind and represents a lot of effort(as in you don't know exactly what it will do). I tried damage and speed. I didn't get past the hands though. SFX are a bit grating, but they still add positively to the game.

Having said that.. the hooks of rpg are working. I wanted to at least see what the leveling up did and it felt good to earn the points.

TijmenTio says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 3:08pm

The pixelart is really good. I think that is the most notable thing about the game. Although I didn't like the game itself. You get waaay to little EXP. Basically you're giving the player a reason to replay the same part for about 5-10 times so the dynamics get slightly better and then you can finally see the next part. This feels like a chore. Why would you hide game content until a very repeating and tedious job has been done by the player? Then there is the shooting. I like the idea that the shooting pattern is a bit odd. That adds depth to it. However I noticed that you have to hold Z or P to shoot. Tapping doesn't do anyting and not holding down the button AKA not shooting has value either. Why would you even make a button for it then? I don't get it.
I like the the pattern of the first mushroom enemy and the hand. Loved that hand. The other enemies had way too much health and not a very interesting movement pattern. The animations are good for as far as they are present. You could add a lot more visual feedback and the HUD felt a bit unpolished! Might sound a bit negative but I was hoping to give some constructive feedback.
Other than that, well done! It's not easy to make something in 48h :)

May 5, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Love the graphics and presentation. The pixel art is awesome. I do agree with the others that levelling is way too slow though.

FrederickK says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 1:34am

Great graphics and awesome idea!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 3:55am

nice progression - love the idea - great animation falling off the log - nice game

pikkpoiss says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 2:12am

Loved the art, and would have loved to have some awesome music to go with the experience. Agree with what other people have said regarding needing to be able to level up faster, and be able to fire more often.

sorlok says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Really quite fun, and nice leveling mechanic. However, it took way too long to get enough speed and shot speed for the game to be less tedious. Loved the artwork!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]