Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Static Charge 'Cleaner' 5000

by SeriouslyCrunchy - Compo Entry

For this Ludum Dare I had a bit of a problem. I had to work for most of the weekend, so a full submission was completely out of the question. However, I refused to let a lack of time get in my way, so with my trusty Construct 2 engine by my side, I planned out my weekend into four 2-hour slots, giving me 8 hours to cobble something together, an LD8 if you will!

Of course, this means my game is lacking in a lot of areas, but I actually found this little challenge refreshing. Having so little time meant I had to make a simple but effective set of mechanics quickly, and breaking up my time in such a way allowed me to focus in bursts, and have a different focus for each two-hour slot. I would quite like to see a semi-regular LD8 or similar mini-jam that works in this way. As for my entry, well, I'm just glad I got a working concept together with a playable prototype!

Apologies for any bugs left in the game due to this rushed development, please leave a comment with any issues and I will attempt to fix them ASAP!

------------------------------------------------------------------------

You control a lone robot, tasked to disable groups of other aggressive and armed robots with electronic bursts. The aim is to clear as many rooms as possible by disabling its robots. You can disable these robots in many ways, such as :

- Getting them to shoot each other by crossing their line of sight. Getting hit by weapons fire decreases your power level

- Colliding into a robot will cause a static charge to deplete your power and disable the robot, but will also activate their weaponry. Bumping into a disabled robot still activates their weapon but causes you less power loss than an active target

- You can release a burst of static that causes all weapons in its effect to fire and also disables all robots it hits. However, this burst drains your power levels

Clearing a room provides a small boost to your power. The game will spawn progressively more and better equipped enemies for each room you clear.

CONTROLS :

- Arrow keys to move
- Space to activate static burst
- R to restart game

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#453Innovation3.25
#653Fun2.94
#836Theme2.96
#851Overall2.85
#911Mood2.43
#1033Graphics2.09

Comments

Floko says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Very interesting mechanics!! I didn't get it at first, but on my second / third playthroughs it was pretty fun :) Nice job for 8 hours worth of work .

About your request, I'm glad you liked my game =D I'm also glad that you want to post about it. Sadly I don't use twitter, so no handle :/ I do have a facebook page and a website for my indie group, there's even another solo project I did on construct you can play there :)

So if you want to use it , here you go :

https://www.facebook.com/DoubleDashStudios
http://doubledashstudios.com/

Keep up the good work, man .
Cheers!

Borkleby says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:03pm

I love the randomly generated levels and the cool aspect of taking control of the enemies. Congrats, you spent your weekend fruitfully!

ker0chan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:57am

Great idea ! I'd love to see this as a bigger game ! New weapons or upgrade would work nicely :)
Great job on finishing something in such a small timespan.

Junber says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Nice idea. Very fun. I dont know if this is intended but you could static burst during level generation.

guigrillo13 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Great Game and smart idea!

awestsecurity says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:08pm

I had fun and didn't encounter any bugs. I like this it's more of a puzzle game than it seems. Congratulations on getting an entry in only 8 hours!

Only issue I found was when I trapped myself in a corner, but that could have been solved with a little forethought on my part.

Victor RENE says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:10pm

That's a shame you didn't have enough time. But still, nice effort. The spawning algorithm is a bit unfair. You receive projectiles before controlling the bot.

cyand1317 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:54am

I thought they are tanks at first, but soon found I was wrong. The idea is interesting!

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:32pm

I really liked that there were so many different ways to get disable the robots. Was a bit limited, which is understandable given your short amount of dev time, but I liked how far you tried to push the one mechanic.

ProgramGamer says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:41pm

The mechanics were fun and the idea is indeed very unique and unconventional, but the fact that levels are randomly generated kind of took away from the game in my opinion. I think homemade levels would have been better suited for this particular entry.

psychonull says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 11:49pm

Really funny. It would be great have some music or sounds.

volkoivan says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Interesting mechanics, but it's really becomes harder and harder and that's not good, cuase at some point it becomes unplayable
But I really liked it, thank you for ENTERTAINING ME!

PaperBlurt says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 9:26am

The gameplay is cool and way to difficult for me. But it was addictive!

Cheshyr says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 4:06pm

this was clever. the different weapon types were a nice touch, and being able to kick a dead body to cause it to fire another round made me laugh. nicely done, especially under the additional constraints.

May 8, 2015 @ 2:53am

Really cool!

broknecho says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 2:11am

Not too bad of a start here for the time put in! The dynamic levels kept it fresh even though the collision had a few issues.

Also I got a good chuckle from the "Constructing" text....because this was made with Construct :) ......i think i am too tired.....

Good Job!

Embalaje says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 6:28am

Good job! You took benefit of every second you had. Great mechanics!.

ThirdMoon says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Nice game! Good job! I appeciate a lot that levels are never the same :)

Norgg says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 2:04pm

I like the mechanics of this in general, although when it gets beyond just a few robots it starts to get really chaotic and they lose their impact a bit. Nicely done for 8 hours though!

pikkpoiss says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Really cool gameplay mechanic, and more impressive given the fact that you only worked on it for 8 hours. Hope that you get the full time to work on your next LD entry.

freeholdgames says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Cute little game. It'd be nice to have bonuses for more challenging finishes (i.e. using less static discharges, or killing only via enemy bullets)

yuigoto says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:05pm

You did a great job in 8 hours, sir! :3

Time was limited, and maybe some bugs remain (sometimes I get stuck when colliding with other robots), but that's a really nice idea!

Randomized levels are also very much welcome! ;)

Xanjos says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Too bad there's no sound but I like the primary gameplay mechanic (although the player could be a bit faster so it's easier to dodge stuff) and I love the random level generation.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]