Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Caber Toss

by GeeItSomeLaldy - Compo Entry

You need to get to the caber toss! Unfortunately, between you and the tossing fields is some harsh terrain and some angry haggis!

Use your caber to take out the annoying little bastards and get to the tossing grounds!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#477Overall3.25
#668Graphics2.87
#2143Coolness24%

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:07pm

I would recomend to bind the controls to something that does not activate short commands in your browser. (ctrl + d adds to bookmarks)

Leandrus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Nice game there. my longer distance was 73.10 mts :D
Thanks for sharing.

Multiplexor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:07pm

I like the concept of tossing the caber around, Nice music and art too :D,i think that maybe the mechanic doesn't fit with the platforming.

ambi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:08pm

That was really lovely. Excellent idea and implementation. I had fun with this game and played it to the finish.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:08pm

@TheScopelessOne What browser are you using? I've had no problems in any of the browsers I tested on.

zetitup says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Decent game, good try!

dallonf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:10pm

I rather liked this! It had a nice companion-cube vibe to it - and it's rather satisfying when the caber connects with the enemy. Tracking the distance thrown during gameplay is a nice touch too!

My only complaint is that it's hard to tell which blocks are one-way platforms that you and the caber can pass through and which will just block you.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:17pm

It feels like the game could have been longer that or i can't I find a way past the toss challenge. Hilarious sound effects for the character though. :D

johanw123 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:15pm

Not bad, kinda fun to throw dat log :]

IamAcoconut says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Nice game! I liked the graphics :) I found the music nice, but it didn't play in loop. Overall, the game was pretty nice, would be nice if it was a little longer though... Still, fun game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]