Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Unconventional Earth

by GameDevExtreme - Compo Entry

Two kingdoms fight, only one wins.

Buy weapons to control the earth an destroy your opponent.

Tutorial in game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#557Audio2.69
#676Fun2.92
#702Theme3.17
#774Innovation2.77
#809Humor2.22
#837Overall2.86
#920Mood2.40
#1002Graphics2.20

Comments

Fanttum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:15am

Cool idea, but a bit buggy with the tutorial, and I still couldn't quite figure it out. Maybe to complicated?

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:39am

I found the tutorial was more than adequate and found the mechanics pretty intuitive. There wasn't much of a challenge other than getting a better time but it feels good to unleash tornadoes.

stoarch says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:42am

Good to have tutorial, but consequences of your choice is undetectable.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:22am

@stoarch What do you mean? You can see the attacks of your weapons.

TaoPhoenix says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:06am

I like these little strategy games. I have rated this "Phoenix Easy" over on DonationCoder.com.

For anyone getting stuck trying to win, start reactive, then get about four tornadoes going in tandem.

By the way,

The DonationCoder LudumDare 32 April 2015 thread is here:
http://www.donationcoder.com/forum/index.php?topic=40573.0

It happens to be their 10th anniversary! So I don't program myself ... so I am unleasing Weapons Grade Enthusiasm!

If you stop by DonationCoder, please put in the code/tag LudumDare-Tao so they will know it's my doings that brought you in! I'm not

part of any of the site structure ... just doing my bit for my favorite site on the net!

Also over there, I post a few of my reviews of some LD games, and I put a mini review of this one over there!

--TaoPhoenix

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Could have used more visual feedback so you can more easily tell what's happening regarding the weapons you place

stig1 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Fun, nice music :)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:51pm

A bit confusing but neat concept

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:59pm

This is quite interesting game, graphics can use a bit of a work, but overall it was quite fun! Good job!

Typo in tutorial

Hemuuuli says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Interface was quite clunky to use, but after an initial hurdle I beat the ai.

Zeriver says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Pretty nice game, maybe a bit too easy though.

Dorgam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Fun game but I would love to have a more detailed tutorial
But it keeps the player engaged and that's a plus.

vidarn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:45pm

I liked the tutorial and found the game easy to understand. It took some tries until I got good enough to beat the enemy and I had fun playing it and figuring out the mechanics, great job!

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:27pm

I like the concept, seemed a bit buggy placing object sometimes but other than that a good play! great effort, especially for compo!

snade says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Quite hard! can you even beat the computer?

Andrea says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:47pm

I really the idea and honestly like that kind of game! Some problems with the graphics and UI but still pretty fun and could be quite challenging with more levels for example!
Great work!

broknecho says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Neat concept. I think some cooldown indicators on the attacks would help a bit. I think there were some visual bugs with the aiming reticles.

Solid idea and decent implementation. Well done!

Multiplexor says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:29pm

I liked it quite a lot! Especially that you can put your units under your castle so that they are protected from lightnings. Music is awesome!

Split82 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:42am

I had a lot of fun with this one. Great job.

Zarkith says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Best time: 33 Seconds

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:52am

cool idea.... i like it!!

yeah you have a good tutorial... great!

Xanjos says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Pretty good concept. I would probably suggest making the player and enemy towers look different from each other (maybe by colour?) so it's easy to tell them apart. I loved the SNES style music though.

AsixJin says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 6:47am

I tried to load the game but all I am getting is a white screen

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]