Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

How To Teleport

by bradur - Compo Entry

How To Teleport is an escape game in which the player cannot walk, but has a gun that teleports the player where the projectile lands. The player has 5 ammo at the start of each level, and must find and shoot the door at the end of each level in order to progress to the next one. Some levels have holes in the floor that the player must not land on, and ammo that the player can collect.

I tried to make it easy early on but the later levels should be quite challenging.

You can always restart the level if you die.

The game has:
- 7 levels
- main menu with a quick guide
- 1 theme song
- 3 sound effects
- Esc-menu with these options:
- continue
- restart level
- main menu

Tools used:
- Unity 5
- Tiled Map Editor
- Sublime Text 3
- LMMS (music)
- bfxr (sfx)
- Paint.NET (gfx)
- Visual Studio Community 2013

- TiledSharp(https://github.com/marshallward/TiledSharp) by Marshall Ward for using Tiled map format in C# (my fork for Unity compatibility: https://github.com/bradur/TiledSharp )

I had trouble building to Web Player / WebGL, so I only have
Windows, Mac OSX and Linux builds. I run a Windows machine myself so that's the only one I have tested.

Here's a video of the opening levels:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ooViOqheSEo

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#209Innovation3.65
#209Audio3.33
#296Fun3.37
#327Overall3.42
#521Mood2.96
#570Graphics3.03
#599Theme3.29
#805Humor2.23

Comments

koredozo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:22am

Fun little puzzle game! Sometimes keeping it simple is best. I think it could be improved by making the projectile move faster and adding zoom in/out keys, though.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Nice graphics and design.

PEBKAC says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Nice one! Quite polished. Gameplay mechanic is very solidly implemented.

Jerre says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Nice idea, nice atmosphere. The collision with the energy pickups was a bit vague, could not understand why I did or did not get it at some times. Had fun playing tho.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Make the player rotation faster, the missile faster and use a color scheme maker to find a bunch of basic colors that look pleasing together. Also the lighting is just used as an extra non-essential gimmick. You could probably do better by having pleasing colors and low poly hexagonal items. Also have walls that allow ricocheting to add extra depth.

ajopart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Nice entry. The mechanism works fine, but the player rotates too slow IMO. Maybe use the mouse to rotate it ? Anyway, great job !!

furriKira says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:13pm

I'm with koredozo.
This is quite polished, I'm impressed!
Would be great if there would be a 2d view mode too.

I'm guessing gaining the energy through walls is a bug?
Would be interested if this would be continued.

bradur says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:24am

Hello everyone and thanks for playing the game!

koredozo:
- I agree with the rotation & projectile being too slow. I'll tweak it.
- The locked view is by design. The idea behind that was that the player must either take a risk or scout the map a little. I'm not married to the idea though, and if enough people think it's a crappy mechanic, sure, I'll add zoom in / out keys.

Jerre
- You're right. Perhaps the "explosion" should have visible borders where the energy pickup collider is. I'll put it on my list.

parzivalTheVirtual:
- I'll have to look into that color scheme thing.
- I fiddled around with the ricocheting (I was trying to implement mirrors) but I ran out of time before I could make it work. If / when I work on the game more, I'll definitely add them!


furriKira:
- Getting energy through walls is by design. I even try to use it in some of the maps, like in level 4 to tell players some of the energy blocks have holes under them.
- 2D view is a possibility. Maybe a toggle? The reason I went for an angled camera was that I thought it made the holes more believable.

paps says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Nice puzzle game. The difficulty cranks up fast enough. Nice polish too. Love the music, it fits perfectly. Good job

iSamurai says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:02am

Nice concept! It provides adequate choices for the player to solve the level. Good level design too. I enjoyed it very much.

OadT says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Really cool concept! Some animations and movements can be a bit faster, just a small tip for next time :) Also nice audio

Chris M says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Nice idea, I almost think that due to the large amount of instant teleport games we've become accustomed to fast teleportation speed, which makes this slower pace quite refreshing. That said the rotation speed is far too slow. Would it even be possible to make it discrete?

Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:22am

I will sent you a link to a gameplay and review video soon.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Your game is somewhere in episodes 25 - 30, use thumbnail to find it: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLNKGFlGVzSYpVQJmPapvNISiHavhMJUDs

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:17pm

The music was great and the visuals strong but the slow turn made it less fun than it could feel. Great concept and entry though. Well done.

Asado says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:48pm

So hard! Solid game but I do not see how it fits the theme. You can opt-out of the theme category if you decided to ignore it.

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:12am

Nice game. Could do with more different things, but there was a good amount of levels and the mechanic was fun.

Langouste says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Super game! I love it, thanks ;)

May 20, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Very well made game! I included it in part 11 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ArGc_dQ-3Lc

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]