Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

fateOS

by ThommazK - Jam Entry

FateOS is an interactive novel based in the Arab Spring and the use of information as a weapon. You deal with information and you choose you own pathway during the game. Your actions may change the outcome, so you must be ready for that.
Created by a team of five (even tough we had one member who got sick).

Luiz Roveran (Script) @LuizRoveran
Núria Pratginestós (Art and Sfx) @nuriamaury
Piero Kauffmann (Programming)
ThommazK (Audio, Sfx and Programming) @thommazk
Victor Leão (Art and Sfx) @victor_fl


Downloads and Links


Ratings

#19Mood(Jam)4.23
#20Audio(Jam)4.22
#33Overall(Jam)4.03
#45Theme(Jam)4.15
#64Graphics(Jam)4.38
#124Innovation(Jam)3.75
#454Fun(Jam)3.15
#1305Coolness49%

Comments

sxmn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:03am

pretty cool infowars simulator. 5/5 would place myself on watchlist again

TheRealAkito says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:09pm

This was Amazing. 5/5.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Very impressive I must say.
And you hit the spot with the retro design. Reminds me of Amiga's Workbench

PEBKAC says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Easy-going and well-designed sounds and graphics. Simple gameplay, but superbly implemented. Amazing story development and progression. Nice one, guys!

Iak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:54pm

That mood. Playing an... informationbroker like that was really cool. I'd actually love to play a much larger game in this style!

strawfield says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Very nice intro. I'm not a big fan of VN's, but i really like the style and graphics. The music is dreamy and awesome.
I wish the text was bigger or clearer.

CliffracerX says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:09am

Love the graphics and audio, the retro style goes great with the gameplay.

Would love to see an extended post-jam version, or maybe a downloadable PC version that lets you make your own stories or something like that. Could be interesting!

luizgama says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:25am

I really liked the overall atmosphere and the theme. Nice simulation, and nice collors pallete too ;)

ohai1 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Graphics and audio are nice, I liked the atmosphere too. Sometimes it feels like you don't have a real choice, but it is okay taking 72h into consideration :)

skj3gg says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Amazing Aesthetics!

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Really love the graphics and animations.

Luminar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Information as a weapon. Yeah that's nice

S0lll0s says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:40pm

what an amazing play! The plot and twist is superb, I honestly did not see that coming at all. Music is awesome as well, graphics just as much; 5/5

rjhelms says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Beautiful style, and great soundtrack.

Like others have said, this is great for a Ludum Dare entry, but I'd love love love to get into a longer version of the story.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Enjoyed it! Great music. Awesome graphics. Dig it all

mildmojo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Mood 5/5.

Really nice kinetic fiction. The best examples make it feel less like you're exploring content and more like you're a part of the progression, which this does. It looks so good, too. I sort of wish the other desktop icons did something, even if it was just displaying a window sprite that you could dismiss.

The music sounds great. It has a nice somber tone and rhythm to it. It's not "we're winning" or "we're losing", more like "this is happening, deal with it."

Only two small criticisms: the email body font was a little hard to read, and the delay after clicking a response should've been much shorter. But those are tiny things here.

Excellent mature story that we don't often get from game jam entries. Did not expect the ending.

sebasRez says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Very cool choice of weapon, probably the best I have seen for sure. Much more on the serious side as well which is cool. Awesome work everyone!

Little itty bity thing thing is that at one point it says "I doesn't" instead of "It doesn't really matter"

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:54pm

so far my favourite

Reccy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:57pm

It's a pretty cool game, but I found it kinda hard to follow the story. It kind of reminded me of Papers, Please!

bpvelloso says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Gorgeous! All look amazing! Congratulations great game you have!

Druid says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:02pm

5/5 Everywhere. This is really masterpiece for me!

mildmojo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:07pm

What I'm trying to say is, I wish I could make a game like this. =)

Mouch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:12pm

I've seen enough and I am ready to comment!

Wow, this game features a really awesome story, that fits with the theme and the graphics and audio are improving the feeling greatly. Could even be extended.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:22pm

This is just such a damn treat. Great work, big thanks to the whole team. I had a blast with this. I'm a sucker for these types of sim games (and I actually made one for this compo, but your effort puts mine to shame at every turn).

This presentation, music and writing could work as a full fledged game if you were to pursue it. Just get more content and interaction in there and you are golden.

Congrats and thanks again!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Information as a weapon. Wonderfull game!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Really, really liked the music and art.

llamaguy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:36pm

Woof! Tension.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:55am

Oh my gosh. This was so amazing. love the theming and flow of the game. The artwork is very comfy as well

Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:34am

I played it through a few times, well made! Congrats on your team! Nice attention to detail (love the glowing power button, monitor glare and window animations!). Unfortunately I can't hear any music or sfx. Still, wonderful!

matestinha says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:13pm

That was deep! :)
Nice graphics, sounds and a simple but well implemented gameplay. Of course it's not much time to build this, but I wish I could have a seen a bigger decision tree, so the feeling of actions vs results would feel more intense. Great job!

mockthebear says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:01pm

cool!

Wevel says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Interesting idea, was a bit difficult to know what effect saying certain things would do but still a good game

Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Very cool game, I enjoyed it a lot!

Boberro says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 8:45am

I loved the style, with art and music reminding me of early 90's japanese games, like front mission and metal gear. Good job.

Chaoseed says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 10:50am

It's a great idea for a game. The interface, also, is wonderful. I'm not quite sure about the 'logic', though...

See, based on the little information I had, I sympathized more with the FCA's position, so I decided to give them information twice (and the NLA nothing). Then there's a bombing, so the obvious conclusion is that, since the information went from me to the FCA, the FCA was responsible. Therefore I told the FCA they were guilty while the NLA were innocent. This resulted...in the game telling me I had been plotting to discredit the FCA?...??? That didn't go with what I'd done at all. It really broke the immersion; it didn't seem like a "twist", it just made me think "Well, this game is dumb".

Of course, I have to give you a lot of credit for even tackling the subject!

SiENcE says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 11:23am

The greatest Entry so far. I hope you win! 5 of 5 for all!

tmpxyz says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Well implemented work.

May 2, 2015 @ 12:01pm

Wow.

SteveSalmond says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 12:07pm

That was an interesting experience. Loved the twist, and I thought the writing was great. Also, very well executed in all departments! Awesome job.

FrederickK says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 3:34am

Technically, very well made, but I'm not sure if I got the story, the options and answers seemed so strange, but maybe it was because of the time, if the game gave me the information more slowly, maybe I would understand it better, so, maybe it is just my opinion.

Mach60KAS says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Very immersive and interesting, you told the story quite well! I was confused how my choices affected things though - I thought I was being sympathetic to the factions but I was apparently backstabbing them? Still, wonderfully presented and a fantastic entry. Keep it up! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]