Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Sweet Dreams

by Yvanor - Jam Entry

My first Ludum Dare submission, I can't make all I want, but anyway I hope you will like it :)

(Source code inside the project on Craftstudio)

Made with Craftstudio : www.craftstud.io
Music: http://incompetech.com/music/royalty-free/index.html?isrc=USUAN1100764

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#543Fun(Jam)3.00
#585Graphics(Jam)3.16
#706Mood(Jam)2.79
#707Humor(Jam)2.47
#836Theme(Jam)2.83
#842Overall(Jam)2.81
#911Innovation(Jam)2.32
#1667Coolness40%

Comments

FinnMacd says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:01am

If the music was made before the start of ludum dare 32 and/or you did not make it, this game should be classified as a jam submission

Jordan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:08am

Music fits the game well, animation is nice, and the game is fun to play. However, as stated by Finn, a compo submission's music must also be made by you and within the compo time period.

Yvanor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:19am

Thanks for your Comments ! :)
I have change my game to the "jam" because of the music ;)

TaoPhoenix says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:53am

Cute little pseudo skeet-shooter type thing.

The birds were easy - but something about the precise movement to shoot the turtles/hedgehogs was really tricky!

By the way,

The DonationCoder LudumDare 32 April 2015 thread is here:
http://www.donationcoder.com/forum/index.php?topic=40573.0

It happens to be their 10th anniversary! So I don't program myself ... so I am unleasing Weapons Grade Enthusiasm!

If you stop by DonationCoder, please put in the code/tag LudumDare-Tao so they will know it's my doings that brought you in! I'm not

part of any of the site structure ... just doing my bit for my favorite site on the net!

Also over there, I post a few of my detailed reviews of some LD games.

--TaoPhoenix

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:02am

Aw that was cute! Even though you didn't make the sounds, you picked great ones that worked together perfectly well. Nice use of the theme, and the mood was great (reminded me of being a little kid!). Good work!

UltraRat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:16am

Nice, the changing clouds in the background was a good polish touch.
I wish it showed me my score while in gameplay.

maunovaha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:53am

Cool music and interesting game. :)

Mak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:59pm

Good sound and nice mechanics, felt really good. I would like to have a little context, though, just a little story of what and why you are doing this.

Quite fun.

raisedmedia says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:58pm

fun game. my aim was difficult to control.

Langouste says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Super game! I love it, thanks ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]