Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

GraviGone

by Rialgar - Compo Entry

DID ONE POST SUBMISSION FIX: THERE WAS A BUG WHERE THE GAME GETS REALLY SMALL WHEN YOUR WINDOW IS EXACTLY 16:10. VERSION WITHOUT FIX IS AVAILABLE, TOO.

A simple Plattformer where you get a Gun that places fields of reduced gravity.

Use Gamepad if you can, tested with XBOX Gamepad.

Default Controls:

Move: WASD, Arrow Keys, Left Control Stick
Jump: Space, X, E, G, Green (A) on Gamepad
Fire: C, F, J, L, Blue (X) on Gamepad
Collect Field: K, R, V, Numpad 0 , Red (B) on Gamepad
Toggle Sounds: M
Change Key Bindings: Escape

If you use a non-XBOX Gamepad, that is recognized by the Gamepad-API, please tell me! The Game uses Buttons 0, 1 and 2 and Axes 0 and 1.

Some notes:
You can jump mid-air after dropping of a ledge, but only once until you land again.
You need to collect the first GraviGone Cartridge, before you can create fields. Go to the right.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#383Fun3.26
#395Innovation3.33
#401Overall3.33
#726Audio2.27
#776Graphics2.67
#798Theme3.04
#1383Coolness47%

Comments

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:16am

That was a lot of fun. Some of those jump were really tricky though.

tanjent says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Really great take on the theme and it reminds me of classic NES games which often rely on timing and controller mastery. I think the difficulty ramps up a bit quick though - took me about 2 minutes to reach the initial gun!

terpin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Dammit, no matter what I do my little cholo guy gets stuck. Tricky jumps, but I'm sure if my platformer-fu was stronger I'd really enjoy it.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Very nice game, really enjoyed it. Good mechanic and nice challenges.

wooltech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:26pm

Looks well polished, but really hard!

igorfelga says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Really hard!! Nice game and simple graphics, but good.

Frenchie says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:04am

The difficulty in this game was perfect (for me at least). It was just hard enough that I was cursing you (that fucking last platform / midair jump before you can get to the gem store - screw you XD ) but not hard enough that I thought it was unfair and rage quit. Well played :)

UannaFF says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:07pm

I had a hard time jumping but I liked it

Tselmek says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Interesting mechanic yet the controls are sometimes tideous. The player should be aware that it is possible to jump mid-air, unless I missed the text pointing it at some point. Good game that has potential.

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Really cool game. Only the last jump took too much time to get up there. xP
Enjoyed it very much!

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:50pm

This was a very good idea! I really liked the game and it seemed pretty polished! Maybe a little music would have been nice. Otherwise, great game!

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Delicious trick jumps ahoy! I found the gameplay quite enjoyable, but mouse and right stick aiming would make it even more so.

Hectigo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:14pm

I like how the game mixes up traditional platformer mechanics, and the engine seems rock solid, but with the level of challenge the game could really use a better aiming method, like right stick / mouse. :) It would be nice if failing a jump wouldn't involve that much backtracking either. Still, I stuck with it a while before it grew too frustrating, with a bit of polish this could be an excellent game.

Erkberg says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Absolutely solid gameplay, enjoyed this kinda puzzly platformer alot. Also gravity is a nice take on the theme. It took me a while to realize that you can aim in all directions and not just left and right, but maybe I just didn't read the tutorial texts carefully. I did like the simple graphics and sounds, but really missed some kind of background tune. One suggestion: Maybe add a droppable checkpoint to make big falls less punishing. Good job overall!

pythong says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:09pm

i'm on newest firefox and it seems like i cannot fire? no matter what i press. :(

Fenmar says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:15am

A very innovative and fun game. The jumps are very challenging :) The aiming of the shots was a bit tricky as I could not aim without moving with the gamepad.

philipp says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:59am

Nice mechanic. Felt that repeating parts of the puzzle was a bit punishing when you made a mistake, think you don't need those things to fill the playtime. Also, while aiming and walking with the same input is more accessible, it is also a bit annoying when you stand on a platform and fall down while aiming. I enjoyed it, though :]

Smokeylope says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:36am

It felt really hard with the keyboard, but once I switched to the gamepad it was great. It was challenging but still easy enough to beat. The controls were nice with the gamepad, but it would have been nice if you could aim with the right stick without moving. Could have used some music too but the gameplay was great.

Goutye says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:03pm

One of the funniest entry I played! Thanks a lot for this game! The game is well balanced when you understand you can throw the purple void in the upper left or upper right of the player x)

pythong says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:53pm

I tried it again after seeing your comment. You're right, I never got that first package because I couldn't reach it :P. The ingame hints didn't help, and only after reading the additional info on your LD page I knew that I could jump midair
Changed my rating accordingly since i could finally play ;)

anokta says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 8:15pm

one of the most fun entries i've played! i must admit was quite hard though. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]