Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Nallies Party

by agilejoshua - Jam Entry

Nallie's late for her party - help her find all her clothes! But look out for the mischievous dragon.

Controls
Mouse to control direction
Left click to walk,
Spacebar to spit milkshake - milkshake has a 3,5 sec cooldown

The faster you collect everything the higher your score will be.
Hitting the dragon with milkshake will give you a small score bonus.
Local high score is stored in a cookie.

Didn't have to time polish gameplay, art or audio but at least it "works" kinda... Concept and most of the art are by my 9 year old daughter. Made with Phaser in TypeScript - first time for me with Phaser and Typescript.


Known issues:
May bug out on Internet Explorer so you cannot control Nallie properly.
Sometimes screen stuttering if Nallie moves while screen is scrolling...

Updated 2015-04-21:
Fixed bugs with collision rectangles being completely off so hopefully it is playable now...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#603Humor(Jam)2.67
#929Graphics(Jam)2.12
#933Mood(Jam)2.30
#983Theme(Jam)2.32
#1031Fun(Jam)2.06
#1083Overall(Jam)2.06

Comments

NAL says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:57am

It'd be good to see this developed more, as it is it's pretty basic and ends very quickly, unless there's more past obtaining the three items of clothing and killing the dragon.

dix says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:58am

Nice little game :D Would be cool if once you get the "oh no the dragon" message you could restart ^^ Also... i spitted milkshake and make the dragon go away, but i got stuck with the "oh no the dragon" message anyway ^^

Tuism says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:34am

Sorry to be harsh, but I really don't know how to rate this, I played on OS X and Safari, and could move forward until I saw "Oh no! The dragon!" and then literally couldn't do anything else. Pressed space... Didn't work.

Good: The indication of progress lets me know what I want to do.

Good luck!

Big Cow says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:35am

I also got the 'oh no the dragon' ending a few times even though I'd spat the dragon away. Cute graphics, would also like to see it developed more.

helekopeter says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:50pm

wtf did i just play

Hemuuuli says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:42pm

I want a dragon plushie like that. <3

rzfmzn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:45pm

my daughter: "Seems more like a crocodile, not a dragon" :)
Keep it up :D

xit123 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:59pm

dat dragon dough

daltostronic says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:42pm

quite funny :D

trappytrap92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Missed the graphics and the gameplay is a little rough, it needs a little more work on it, keep working! Good job!

Demy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:30pm

May be it would be better with some more levels?

phi6 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Your game is crazy haha! Also thanks for playing and commenting on Nuclear Autumn, I've now fixed some of the collision/clipping bugs (seems like you did also, goddamn game development). Hope you will pick it up again as we're really proud of the ending sequence and music it would be a shame if players didn't experience it :)

Good job getting your daughter to help with the graphics - I hope she will continue this career path :)

Jakob37 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:16pm

It was actually quite hard, ran into that dragon at least three times. It was nice to play, and to hear that you cooperated with your daughter on this! I would have preferred to have the camera further to the right, to get a bit more overview over items and dragons. To sum it up, well done, both of you, I hope you'll continue to develop games together :)

DarkwindMedia says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:01pm

I laughed when I saw "Oh No! The Dragon!" 5 stars for humor :)

Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:50am

I felt that controls would have been better with only the keyboard. Anyway, very cute game ;) Glad to see someone using the phaser+typescript combo!

gnx says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:39pm

It is a very brief game. I noticed that when the screen transition happens the character stops moving towards the mouse, so there's probably a bug worth fixing :)

The characters are pretty original and game is winnable, so good job.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:51pm

I thought it was a great idea to get your daughter to do the graphics. The gameplay wasn't very fun though, with a bit of polish and refinement it could be a really nice game.

scratcher says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:36pm

At first glance, I thought Nallie was some sort of scary mosquito stinger face woman. Upon closer inspection, though, I realized it's a straw! The game's actually pretty well drawn, I just happen to be blind.

sanojian says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Nicely drawn but there isn't much content here. I am also not sure of using the mouse to move the player. Perhaps it would be a good game for teaching touch or mouse controls to a small child?

dyfer says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:35pm

A very basic game in many ways

cdgugler says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:43am

Very unique game, and funny too. I just wanted to run around spitting milkshakes at the dragons. More dragons and more variety of drinks to spit would make it even more entertaining.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]