Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

RETURN OF THE SLIMOS

by tentabrobpy - Jam Entry

Splatter your way thru this action packed videogame as you go head to head with the most evil force in monster man history!

There's no endstate to this game but actually there is definitely a killscreen!

CREDITS LIST:

GRAPHICS BY: Marie gevaudan (she made like everything) and Tentabrobpy (I made like, the hands)

CODING BY: Tentabrobpy

SOUNDS BY: Critical Mass, Weirdomusic, Return of the Living Dead, and the Public Domain

MUSIC BY: Avec Noir

DIE ONLANE MATHER FACKER!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#97Humor(Jam)3.76
#267Mood(Jam)3.42
#475Graphics(Jam)3.37
#521Theme(Jam)3.35
#632Overall(Jam)3.08
#674Fun(Jam)2.81
#1383Coolness47%

Comments

butterCup says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 11:07pm

That was literally sublime.
It's actually really terrifying, and the ending was hell incarnate.

binarycoder says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:20am

Heh, pretty enjoyable. Controls are wonky and not really explained, but I enjoyed the sounds.

Suese says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:23am

The controls don't work. MY EYES HURT SO BAD.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:41am

Come on zombo, don't cry over spilled milch!

kaype says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:46am

I-is this game supposed to be vaporwave art?

ゲーム420/現代のコンピューティングを与えるには

deadarius says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:04pm

I can't believe I enjoyed it as much as I did

sorlok says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Cool idea; very frenetic! It wasn't clear if you were supposed to be able to move around, though. Maybe a quick README would help?

Pierrec says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:34pm

I was very sad when the guy killed me. I thought he just wanted a hug.

Why disabling the audio rating? the audio is great!

dylanigan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:41pm

I don't know what I just played, but I had fun.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Interesting colour choice and the music was great, definitely gave me some laughs.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:44pm

My eyes! Very interesting entry..

benjamck says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:47pm

The artwork is crazy. It does have a unified feel to it. Love the choice in music, it set the mood well. The game is buggy, I suggest creating a Dev build from Unity to try to see what is causing the errors. I tried playing it a few times. Sometimes the monsters attacked me, other times the monsters flashed by super fast and did no damage. Loved the kill screen, especially with the cool music playing in the background.

steboots says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Windows awwwww... I really wanted to play this

tentabrobpy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Steboots, what is your OS? I may be able to look it up and figure something out for u, i would love more people to be able to play our game!

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Cool game!

Krunoslav says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:30pm

funny game, hard to understand the controls

steboots says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:42pm

tentabrobpy, I'm on OSX

tentabrobpy says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:10pm

Steboots, I've made a new build in unity with the "target platform" set to OSX, and it generated a folder called "RETURN_OF_SLIMO.app" is this correct?

Langouste says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Super game! I love it, thanks ;)

NAL says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:17am

This was absurd, and a lot of fun!

uber says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:04pm

And interesting entry, and I really liked the trippy graphics :D
The singing was great too!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]