Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Character Assassination

by jesterswilde - Jam Entry

Character Assassination is timing based assassination game.

Press the key the corresponds with a decision when the spinning box hits the center box or when the boxes color changes to red.

New version of chrome doesn't allow unity web player by default. If you'd like to play the web version type chrome://flags/#enable-npapi into chrome and enable to first option it takes you to on the list. Then exit out of chrome entirely to restart. After that you can re-open Chrome and the game should be good to play.

Arts: Ryan Sand @RyanVSand
Code n ~Anim: Corey Wolff @Jesterswilde

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#33Humor(Jam)4.05
#191Mood(Jam)3.53
#204Audio(Jam)3.44
#274Innovation(Jam)3.47
#335Fun(Jam)3.29
#358Theme(Jam)3.58
#369Graphics(Jam)3.58
#418Overall(Jam)3.34

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:46am

I love it! The presentation is perfect! Only wish there was more to play ;)

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:58am

I don't really know what I just played but it was surely an unconventional art style and gameplay :) Will come back after some sleep ...

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:02am

Interesting concept, great execution and while though it kinda got locked up after I completed all the topics it was still fun to play.

DaGamesta says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:04am

Not gonna lie, this was a good one. Although It could use some more instructions on how to time things and what-not.

JakeL168 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:04am

Can't really feel the rhythm.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:08am

Can't say I really understood what was going on, but the idea of a "character assassination" is a clever use of the theme

CliffracerX says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:09am

Well, that was strange.

Pretty funny, especially the way sentences build, although I'm not sure about the audio and graphics.

Buzzwerd says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:12am

This is so freaking hilarious. Great take on the theme. Could've used some more instructions, but once I got it it was hard to stop laughing.

vvolis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:07am

LOVE IT! It looks good, and the mechanic is ridiculous. Awesome job! :D

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:04am

Pretty weird, but any game where you can make fun of a guy for LARPing is good in my book.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Really great, I wish there was more, though.

MasterOfNaN says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Very slick. Nice visuals and funny, if a bit harsh :)

zwartraider says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:36pm

This is a very good entry, love the quips and the timing of them. Nailing the insult really makes you feel like you stuck it to him! Awesome game!

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:36pm

This is sweet, I loved it! Tearing the guy apart while also having a fun timing game, great work :D

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:37pm

"I hear your wife" ... "never loved you" - burn!

Seriously though, interesting concept - though I think the objectives in the gameplay could have been explained better.

Great effort.

Teesquared says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Makes you feel like a real ass...assin :) Talk about a play on words. Good job. Really clever take on the theme. It wipes your assassin urges.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:09pm

This game was funny, but I didn't find the gameplay satisfying. Maybe I would have gotten used to it, if there had been more content.

Cstudios says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:13pm

I don't like timing games. My timing is terrible. But this is an insult building simulator! Well made game! Giving high ratings!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Loved this, was a lot of fun and a very interesting idea.

sorlok says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Really funny! Cool combination game, and I like the way the dialogue flows. Great job!

Xanjos says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:24am

Absolutely loved the audio. The game mechanics were pretty well done plus delivering the final zinger reminds me a lot of Phoenix Wright (must be the music and sound effects).

philipp says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Very funny twist on the theme. Really like the build-up of insult chains and his reaction when it all came together. Maybe you could have made it a bit clearer which words are combo finishers and which words add to the chain.

Mase says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:24pm

This is an interesting and fun way... [Damage +4] of presenting dialogue in a game. [+4] It's a shame there's only one level! [x1]
The 3D models are nice... [+2] it's too bad [+8] you didn't bother animating them! [x5]
I also notice... [+12] that there is no proper game over screen [x2].

Apr 29, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Was fun roasting this guy.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]