Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Death Touch

by uheartbeast - Compo Entry

Death Touch is an *extremely difficult* game inspired by DeadBolt and Gunpoint.

Use your teleportation ability to blow your enemies apart and navigate the levels. Can you defeat the goblin king? How fast?

Check out the YouTube Video of me playing the game. Watching the video is a good way to learn how dodge the goblin attacks.

(I don't have Mac or Linux machines hooked up to my GameMaker Studio so only windows this time. Sorry guys...)

*** Changelog ***
Fixed glitch in highscores

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#26Fun4.00
#30Overall4.09
#48Graphics4.24
#49Mood3.85
#62Innovation4.00
#121Theme3.94
#281Audio3.20
#651Humor2.54
#1347Coolness48%

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:25am

AWESOME

Lynx says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:50am

I was really looking forward to this one! Is it only Windows?

zeejfps says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:54am

I could not really tell how the monsters were killing me. I got stuck on like the 3rd of 4th lvl when I was trying to walk up the stairs I got insta killed, other than that its pretty fun and a nice concept.

wcwedin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:55am

Climbing stairs seems like a fated death in a lot of situations, depending on whether there's a goblin that you can't see facing the exit point. Am I doing something wrong?

uheartbeast says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:58am

Unfortunately it is only on windows.

You can hold the teleport button down after going through a door in order to aim at the goblins. The game is very difficult.

Kahztein says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:16am

Great game, but it is some times easy to mistake the character staying in the void for dying when a goblin attacks you, but it was a great game, especially for 48 hours!

thumbgarden says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:43am

Cool game. I like the atmosphere and graphics. Would be cool as an auto runner.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:48am

Really really well done! The feel was perfect, and teleporting around destroying things was *a lot* of fun! My only issue was that the enemies were a little *too* quick on the draw.

GhostBomb says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:06am

SO GOOD

The controls feel so right. The level design is spot on and the boss enemy was fantastically designed.

just amazing

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:06am

Oh, those mosters to hard for me. They kill me in one moment. And why I can't teleport to the second floor? If I can teleport through the obstacles then I expect to teleport though anything, including ceiling.

uheartbeast says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:21am

You can teleport through anything that has an open path. (That is why you can go through corners)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:36am

Really great idea! The boss was quite difficult, and it took me a while to figure out I should break the pots to make him easier. The controls feel great and the teleportation is very satisfying.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:02am

Good graphics and mood. Kinda hard for me, but fun until I got killed and killed and killed :)...

fozzip says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Very cool mechanic and smooth gameplay . Only complaint i had is that it was a bit unclear when monsters agroed to you . fun game overall

YM says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:35pm

You need lightning reflexes, the enemies who are at the veeeeerrrrry edge of the screen still mostly obscured by the vignette keep killing me. Exiting stairs near an enemy is also a pretty unfortunate situation.

Other than the gruelling difficulty right off the bat, it's pretty nice. I like.

ambi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:37pm

It's a fun game. Minor annoyance for me is how the enemies have zero reaction time, or maybe I'm just bad at the game. The difficulty level rose a little too fast. It's very reminiscent of Hotline Miami gameplay.

tompudding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Superb presentation, very slick and a great idea. It was too hard for me though, it's very frustrating to get sent back to the start of an area!

guigrillo13 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Have some really fun playing this game!!
Awesome job ben

danidre14 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Waaah! I don't like this game! The enemies are too hard! =^=

Just kidding, but I find it unfair! XD

Fun game. A bit on the scary / creepy side, but overall, nice.

Thank you for participating.

uheartbeast says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Yeah, the game is easier when you find out that you can hold down the left mouse button to avoid enemy attacks but I think most people don't learn that mechanic. Thanks for the feedback.

Tselmek says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Awesome! What else to say. In more details, I particularly love the menu system and the mechanics feel really great to play. I know the game is meant to be hard but I sometimes feel like it is a bit more unfair than difficult. The graphics and animations are amazing yet the shadows foten are a bit off. Amazing job.

Good luck!

Aske says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Love it!

johnnwfs says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:09am

Great game. Love the movement and monster dynamics. Very complete. Fun figuring out the boss.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:51am

Very cool game! I've really enjoyed this. The controls feel fluid, it's visually interesting and there's a good mood set. The boss battle was well designed and it's great how you learn about the game using trial and error. Well done!

SadSmile says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Wow. I would buy this game.

nameoftheuser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Great job, i was watching the stream :3

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:45am

SO GOOD!
Loved the teleportation mechanic.
Great visuals and vibe.
Really just a great time!

NoxNode says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:51am

THIS GAME IS AWESOME! So smooth, no bugs, love the difficulty. My best time is 50! :D Speed runs ftw!

uheartbeast says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Wow! 50 is insane! Well done.

NoxNode says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Thanks, like you say it's a lot easier once you get used to holding down the mouse button cuz you're basically invincible. I'd love to see more levels added to this game.

uheartbeast says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Yeah, I need to come up with a good way of teaching that mechanic to the player. It is a very important part of the game. I'm seriously considering developing it further.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:45am

Wow, this is a great game! One of my favorites for the comp! I can't wait to see more done with this!

sorlok says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:22pm

The teleportation mechanic was cool, but the void mechanic made it really interesting. Great job!

LandoSystems says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 1:44am

You aren't kidding about the 'extremely difficult' bit... It felt like there were a lot of unexpected/unexplained deaths. That said, the style is really cool and the gameplay is unique and interesting, so great work overall!

May 4, 2015 @ 1:54am

Punishingly hard but fun. Some screen shake or some other feedback when you're in the void for too long could be a cool addition. Very nice job.

racing121 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Great game, very hard even with your stalling tip mentioned in the video :) Must get

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]