Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

PALBOT

by HotBoxGames - Jam Entry

The year is 900 AD. The Evil Wizards Alliance, after mastering the art of magic, have attacked the realm and taken it under control. You are one of the last surviving rebels alive. The wizards are hunting you. Defeat seems certain, until you come across a futuristic military drone named PALBOT.

Take control of this advanced weapon and fight against the evil wizards to stop them from taking over the land!

---

CONTROLS

WASD - Movement
SPACE - PALBOT Attack Mode / PALBOT Follow Mode toggle
LMB - Fire
RMB - Special Attack (when in Attack Mode) / Heal (when in Follow Mode)
E - Interact (heal PALBOT)

---

DEVELOPER NOTES

We really wanted to attempt a ‘top-down’ game this Ludum Dare, so decided to create a typical top-down shooter – with a twist. You must control both the human character and PALBOT. PALBOT is able to shoot, whereas the human character can only pick up items and interact with objects. Using this mechanic will hopefully keep players thinking about character placement and whether or not paths are covered by PALBOT’s weaponry before proceeding.

We did plan to add a lot more into this game (bosses, traps, more enemies, more weapons, more levels, cutscenes, leaderboards – to name a couple of ideas) but of course time constraints and a few issues along the way prevented this. Overall, we’re pretty happy with the systems implemented and hope you enjoy playing the first few levels we did manage to create.

Oh, by the way – PALBOT stands for Powerful Annihilating Levitating Robot, in case you were wondering! :)

---

TOOLS

Engine – Unity 5
Language – C#
Editor – Visual Studio 2013
Sound – Pro Tools
Art – GraphicsGale, ArtRage

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#160Overall(Jam)3.67
#196Audio(Jam)3.47
#261Innovation(Jam)3.49
#264Fun(Jam)3.39
#288Mood(Jam)3.39
#361Graphics(Jam)3.59
#527Theme(Jam)3.34
#646Humor(Jam)2.59

Comments

vvolis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Nice idea, music and graphics. Makes for a great little arcade except for the text popups - them pausing all action and making me move my hand to enter and not being able to skim through kind of breaks you out of the game. I pushed through the tutorial, but got really pissed when they kept coming during the game.

volkoivan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Really cool and polished game! Looks like a serious work made in not 3 days, but in a long time.
Grats on making a cool game, 5/5

Embalaje says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:26pm

It feels like a complete game.
I like the graphics, this pixelated ground textures mixed with the "bluring"threes are fantastic.
I see a lot of work here.
All very good calibrated.

You are good!

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Hey guys, thanks for the awesome feedback! :D

Just so you know, the intro popups only appear on the tutorial and first level to introduce you to the controls and enemies - from there on you'll be on your own to face the carnage :)

Unfortunately pressing space to skip text caused some issues that we weren't able to fix in time, agree this would be better than having to press enter!

Thanks again, we'll make sure to play + rate all your submissions!

Celt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Oh wow, much content in this one. Great mechanics, really good music and what not. i'll play this for longer later.

trappytrap92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:01pm

The idea and the sound is good, probably speeding it up a little would help to keep the gameplay faster and funnier, good job. Keep working on it!

Jungle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:07pm

really awesome game! 5/5 except the controls. Congrats!!

Wevel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Great game, it was fun to go around killing things but it didn't really seem to progress anywhere.

recursor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:55pm

You managed to include a pretty nice tutorial into the game. That's impressive. Game play is also pretty fun too. Enjoyed it.

Dickie says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:03pm

quite an impressive amount there for a jam, feels pretty fleshed out.

Idea's quite a good one but you guys needed a bit more time to balance the game. after a while I realised it was way way easier to just stroll past everything with basicly nothing giving chance.

otherwise add a bit of polish and you've basicly got a full game there

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Controlling yourself and the Palbot simultaneously was a really cool and unique gameplay element. Very well made -- a very impressive total package, especially having been made so quickly. Great job!

maunovaha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Good job guys. This was really well put together, graphics, gameplay etc. I also checked out your team image and it looked like you guys had nice hack going on! :D

goadrich says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Great graphics and tutorial setup! I felt prepared to take on the game once I got through the tutorial. Good simple AI for the follow script. Would fit better with the theme had it been Companion instead of Unconventional Weapon, but it still fits :) It definitely felt different to have a character you control and move, but then fire from some other location. I found myself running around and avoid the enemy fire while I also had to work with PALBOT to defeat the enemies. Good work!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Cool concept. Nice tutorial, it really helps you get right into it.

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Very cool little game, the art was fantastic. I loved the mix of attack and defence :D

adsilcott says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:19pm

I enjoyed this. The way I was shooting with one character while dodging with the other made for a unique way of playing. Nice!

Wspon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:27pm

This is so well made! It's insane you manage to do all this within 72 hours!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Well made game, you made great use of your 72 hours!
This would also have been a fine entry if the theme of the jam would have been 'companion', the one which I was hoping to win ;)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:34pm

I couldn't stop playing this game. Lots of fun. Great concept for a top-down shooter. The tutorial was done well.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:49pm

It was rather text heavy (if there was a way to skip through the text in the tutorial then I didn't find it) but other than that I have no complaints. It played pretty well and had a nice retro vibe going on.

Congratulations on making an ambitious game and doing it justice in the limited time.

MGhareeb32 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Very interesting concept. Graphics are very good. This mix between the background and the foreground style makes the important stuff really pop out. This reminds me of some digimon game I used to play :)

Good job!

terpin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:57pm

The text gets to be a little tedious after a while, but overall you definitely achieved what you set out to do - and you added a little innovative twist of having to control both the human and the PALBOT too!

Borkleby says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:04pm

Wow, the environment graphics in this game are huge and amazing! I like how the girl keeps burping after she dies.

Big Cow says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:04pm

this felt like a pretty complete and polished game. graphics were nice, mechanics were smooth, and the tutorial and narrative system added a lot to it.

mantisda says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Wonderful game and complete - amazing for all 3 days of work. I really like the way that you implemented the tutorials. The gameplay is quite fun and love the graphics.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:08pm

The background images and music in this game are quite nice. I feel like the switching between modes and special attacks makes the combat a bit clunky.

Dorgam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Very nice and fun game. would love to play a full version with more levels !

lizard455 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:39pm

The game looks polished :D

BoyWithStick says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:43am

Really nice idea and fun gameplay. The music really fit the game well. It was a nice touch to add in the tutorial. Overall, the game felt complete. I only had one issue when I was playing; when circling enemies and firing PALBOT I ended up losing control of my character, causing her to run down continuously until I hit the spacebar. Tried to reproduce a second time, but did not happen.

It would be great to see all the features mentioned on the website included and a totally complete game to play in the future. Hope to see continued work on this game! :D

Tortoise says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:49am

Great work! Trying to Multitask with Palbot is quite fun!

Super Hamster says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:34am

Wow! Very impressive art and music. I really liked the idea of the game. I think there is some bug where you can't get healed or where my palbot could not get healed either but maybe I misunderstood something. I felt like there were some over powered strategies like places your palbot right next to enemies and then walking far away from the enemy to dodge the slow bullets and there was no way to die. Overall, I was very impressed! I think this game could be developed further on to make a full game(as if it wasn't full already).

rojo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:27am

The mechanic was nifty. I liked the graphics as well. The game was pretty good overall, but I think it may have been more fun to have more enemies, but a higher amount of killing power to compensate as the pacing felt a little slow at times. Still, good job!

met44 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Oh man that was great. The hibrid turret/companion mecanism, what an awsome piece of thoughts food... and great fun too !!!

Really good job, gave you my new highest rating.

asobi tech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Cute little game.
I like the variation in the Wizards.
The Palbot/Drone idea is quite fun.

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Graphcis and music were good. Great game!

commodoreKid says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:00pm

That's a lot of content for a jam game, good job :) I like to skip tutorials so it would be nice to be able to but I think it's better than not having it. Hard game, good game, good luck!

panurge says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Wow, there's a lot of content in this. The story is presented really well and the controls, although slightly fiddly at first, are really intuitive when you get used to them. A very impressive entry!

DKoding says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Loved the music. There is probably a cool game in there but I had a hard time understanding what to do and I found the controls a little awkward.

edve98 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:49pm

I can't believe how good this is! It truly feels just like a full game. One thing that I didn't get: why does PALBOT have attack mode? It just feels a lot better to have him by your side so it's easier to dodge spells and everything. Anyway, it looks like you have been prepared a bit more for a theme "companion", haven't you?
But whatever, it is really awesome game, good job!

P.s. thank you for porting to Linux, it works great :)

Blobo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Really cool game!

CJ K says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Whoa really awesome! Plays well and is fun! My biggest bit of criticism would probably be that I would have liked to have seen enemies more varied so I'd have to approach them with different strategies...but of course 72 hours and all :)

hercludes says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:07pm

actually just had a lot of fun abandoning my robot and running around, until I got trapped by lasers and had nothing left to do but die. Pretty fun idea but I think it got repetitive a bit quick because the enemies did not have much variety. Music was a bit repetitive but I think fit the theme and the gameplay was pretty solid with the exception of enemy variety being a bit down. Graphics were top notch as well.

hercludes says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:09pm

actually just had a lot of fun abandoning my robot and running around, until I got trapped by lasers and had nothing left to do but die. Pretty fun idea but I think it got repetitive a bit quick because the enemies did not have much variety. Music was a bit repetitive but I think fit the theme and the gameplay was pretty solid with the exception of enemy variety being a bit down. Graphics were top notch as well, I have a feeling that you had this idea for if the Companion were to be voted as theme (it was the expected choice) but decided to stick with the idea for this one, well, it worked if that's the case :).

Xanjos says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:28pm

I enjoyed the mechanics and I loved the amount of detail you've put into the tutorial.

hexdie says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:54am

This was a lot of fun! Seriously, it controlled very well and the design brought about some very interesting combat scenarios. I had a lot of fun with this one. I also enjoyed the music.

The only thing that could use some work is art, particularly the environment artwork. That said, it didn't hold back this game from being enjoyable in the least. Very nice work!

Mr. Jif says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:56am

Very interesting mechanic and a good take on the theme! Had fun, although gameplay seemed a little slow after a while. Overall great job

skylerWithAnE says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:53am

This concept was pulled off exceptionally well! I think I've played this game longer than any other game I've downloaded.

Jasonsumm says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Congrats, awesome graphics

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Yeah this game is great! I really like the gameplay and also the art is good! Well done!

smokecastles says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Wow, really polished game all-around, I found the controls smooth and responsive, and the inclusion of a story for this kind of game with so little time to develop is something to be greatly appreciated! One of the best games I've played so far in this jam, well done!

TetraQuad says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:55pm

Very nice idea and execution, I love the Palbot's AI.

Budaniel says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:39am

Great terrain graphics, nice controls and fun to play. I would have liked for the space bar to continue text instead of enter since space closer to my hand position during play. My one recommendation during play is a better indication of when the PAL bot gets hit and better/more consistent ways of telling when the enemies are actually dead (aside from a barely audible audio cue). A couple times I started to walk off on one I thought was dead that wasn't. The game does so many other things so well that this little hiccup stands out more than it may have otherwise.

Bendev says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:21am

How you did this in less than 72 hours is beyond me. Excellent idea and execution. I think it was unnecessary to cover all wizards in the tutorial and it would help to have a better sprite of dead enemies, like the friend above said. Great game!

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:30am

Cool game, keep on working on that!

ruerob says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:58am

Very great entry! was a lot of fun to play! I like the graphics the music and sound and the gameplay was also fun! Great work!

safran says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:40am

Great game. It's like ready to be published.

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Game was very cool!

ShadowTzu says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Really very good, I love the concept and nice polished!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Very nice and innovative mechanics. Well done :D

lucidsheep says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Cool game! I dont really see how it followed the theme, but theres definitely some good stuff here.

Plustech says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:07am

Man I really like the idea. I kind of wish the tutorial were extended thru the duration of the first level, not very keen to the idea to explain that quantity of options straight away. Besides that, a really solid idea. Could be an awesome game with a good natural preogression.
Cheers mate

Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:06am

Was an interesting game, the controls were a bit clunky to use but after playing for a little while I got the hang of it. Well made game for such a short development time too. I would suggest a little more feedback for the player when they do actions such as the enemies flashing when they get hit and a simpler control scheme to begin with. Over all great game.

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:40am

NIce arcade-like game. Graphics are WONDERFUL!!!

xhunterko says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:43pm

A bit hard to beat this game for me. Still can't fault it for being adorable.

gruhn says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Great feedbacks! And a good introduction! Good job.

lucien says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Nice Idea but a bit to much reading I think

Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:28pm

I was really impressed by how complete this game feels. The graphics are really great, and the game itself flowed well.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:55am

A lovely well thought game. The idea is fun, but the game experience is even better. Well done.

jukimv1986 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Really fun to play, superb tutorial level and introduction to the game through the story. Great job!

Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Very cool - although the constant text boxes quickly got annoying

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Pretty good game, though a little repetitive. I never found the need to deploy the bot in attack mode, especially since its range is higher than the wizards', so it just became a regular twin-stick shooter. LOVE the music, by the way. Nice work!

Exolun says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:23am

This is undoubtedly one of the better games I've played from LD32. Very cohesive with qualities characteristic of a completed game. Well done!

joppiesaus says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 11:32am

Neat idea, polished, awesome music and graphics.
Unfortunately, confusing. That makes it hard to learn. But then you skip the tutorial, and you're ready for some action, you shoo- text popup. That makes it cost even more time to get into. Theme is ok.
However, look at all the content! It's an COMPLETE game! That's something unbelievable in 3 days.

Madball says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 6:46pm

That looked quite complete! Like, you could add more levels, but ones those exist are already great!

I didn't really like graphics. Well, they're good, but they look like a low-res image, not pixelart. But they are pretty realistic.

Controls took some time to get used to. The tutorial wasn't very useful for me. And what do these green and blue collectibles do? Oh, they're special weapons, I can see them in screenshots. Well, I just completed the game without any idea about what do they do.

I would like to heal the robot when it's not out of order completely, otherwise a killed robot is pretty much a killed player. By the way, I got the "Game over" screen twice in a row.

This game was very interesting to play. A game about wizards and robots! Who has both?

daredevildave says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 10:38am

A very complete and polished game. I found the controls a little confusing, but I think maybe I'd get used to them.

bvanschooten says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 12:45pm

I think it needs a save game, and I'm only saying this because it's one of the few games worth replaying!

AsixJin says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 5:53pm

I really like the concept for this game. My only changes would be to make the enemies do more than shoot stuff at you and the robot should rotate based on the cursor not the player. This made shooting kind of wonky if I was running away and unless I missed something attack mode seems useless (other than to fire special weapons)

IL_yoshioka says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 7:06am

COOOOOOL!:)

DesignerNap says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Great great great! Really enjoyed playing this. Absolutely solid entry. Well done!

thaaks says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:05pm

I enjoyed playing your game a lot! Real fun and it felt pretty complete. Sound and music were well done, the pixel graphics too. As already mentioned text boxes should react on mouse click too, not just Enter.
Great entry!

block97 says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Cool game, interesting concept. The tutorial was really useful. Great job!

Beavl says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 12:08am

Wow, really nice set of mechanics here. Nice job!

pikkpoiss says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Love the companion bot gameplay, and the entire game is super polished. Had a lot of fun playing it, great job!

uninthar says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Very nice, controls took a second getting used to but after that it was very fun! Great job.

f7f5 says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 10:45pm

The tutorial was great and the game feels very fluid. Great art style, and the sound adds to the mood. The story a bit silly, but who cares, anyway.

reiknight says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 9:44am

Nice game! You made a great work with this and the game seems very polished to me :)

RyanNielson says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Fantastic game, I really like the main mechanic and it really adds a lot of strategy. It also feels quite complete. Well done!

crazya02 says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:52am

Fun stuff! It felt surprisingly polished for a jam game, though seeing outside the level bounds was a bit weird.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]