Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The revenge of the little garlic

by borgi - Jam Entry

Hello there guy!

This is our entry to LD32! As usual, we did not have enough time for the audio part of the game :D
We hardly managed to finish this level too, but in the end we have this!

About the game:
Have you even used a vampire as a weapon? I bet you did not!
Use 'SPACE' to move on the 'story' parts, and use the arrow to control the garlic! :D

There are a few knows issues which weren't fixed due the lack of time, but all crit and comments are very welcome!

Thank you for trying! !!! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#63Humor(Jam)3.89
#74Theme(Jam)4.03
#181Innovation(Jam)3.65
#273Overall(Jam)3.51
#281Graphics(Jam)3.76
#335Fun(Jam)3.29
#387Mood(Jam)3.24

Comments

Luminar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Hehe a garlic :D Nice choice ;)

talecrafter says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Uh, that's bizarre. I like it. Would have been nice if it got more finished.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:00pm

A funny idea! Good graphics as well, some of the movement puzzles were pretty hard :p

Druid says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Well done guys :D Really funny idea. I like this one!

Zayron says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:03pm

I like the Garlic's face when the vampire is killing someone haha.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:03pm

http://puu.sh/hm0dz/e4ccd5e927.jpg
My vampire got stuck on the door :(

Wspon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:10pm

This is the funniest and most unique takes on the theme I've seen so far, same goes for the graphics!

sebasRez says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Awesome visuals!! A bit tough to guide the vampire but the idea is great! I would love to see this polished and such to really make the vampire kick ass because this is a great idea.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Would have also been a good fit for "Indirect Control" :)

HellBlazer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Awesome entry, and very original idea. The graphics are very good as well.

Does it always end after the corridor with the sun beams? At first I thought I had stood too close to the vampire for too long and he died or something... but I tried again and the same thing happened.

Also, there's a bug where the vampire can go through the door before you use him to press the switch, and then you're stuck.

randoman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Really enjoyed your game! Nice graphics, cool mechanics and a very original idea!

xirion11 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Interesting use of the vampires

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:06pm

aww, the garlic is so cute! I felt pretty proud realizing that I had to scare the vampire into the human's direction without any instructions

borgi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Thank you guys for trying and thank you guys for all the positive feedback, we really appreciate it!
And sorry for the door bug =( I will fix it as soon as I can.

sbarrio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Loved the story and the idea. Great use of the theme. Superb entry!

Elit3dGaming says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:05pm

very funny love the animations and art. Overall great game!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Clever idea, using the vampire as a weapon! Also very nice graphics, the garlic is a cool character! Congrats!

Donpastor says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Really fun and playable, and graphics are cool, specially the vampire.

RadStar says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:19am

Love this game!
Very cool idea and nice graphics and animations!
Very funny as well. good job!

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Its fun, garlic is cute! ^^

Taldius says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:55pm

This game is so hilarious and that garlic is so evil!
Really nice, I love the art style, well done!

Perjoka says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:22am

Great idea, well done!

Karsten says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:24pm

i love the setting, surealistic like a boss

Volatile Dove says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 9:23am

Nice and fun idea! Awesome graphics, and particularly the garlic eyebrows when the vampire attack humans. Only pitfall: it's a pity there is no sound and music. Also, my vampire got stuck at the door too.

Mechamew says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 10:13pm

MAXIMUM STARS GARLIC-POWERED VAMPIRE ATTACK!

I love this so much!

uber says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Nice to see a game made in Construct ;)
Controlling the vampire is a bit tough, especially in tight corridors or when you have to make him avoid traps.
But overall I enjoyed the game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]