Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Sleep Tight

by commodoreKid - Jam Entry

WARNING
- After you die, we recommend you to refresh the page to play again.
- Webplayer version of the game is built with lowest graphic settings. If you would like to see the real looks of the game, download the build below the webplayer.
- The game is designed to be co-op multiplayer online however we couldn't manage to do that due to technical issues. It still runs on a server but as singleplayer.

Are you ready to face your worst childhood nightmare? Only thing you have on your side is your sling and your snail shell collection.

Sleep Tight is a singleplayer shooter game where you try to survive against monsters crawling under beds as a child with sling using snail shells as ammo. There are pick-up items, attack, defense, speed and ammo stats that you can enhance.

INSTRUCTIONS
WASD = Movement
LMB = Shoot
Hold RMB = Rotate Camera
E = Pickup Item
1,2,3,4,5 = Inventory Hotkeys
TAB = Online Players
C = Instructions

We were a 5-people team working on this game for 3 days.
Here are the crew members:
- Anil Demir (Animations, Interface, Effects)
- Jan Szczepanik-Dzikowski (Programming)
- Kuba Samplawski (Music)
- Polgar (3D Modeling, Environment)
- Urszula Samplawska (Concept Art, Textures)

Please let us know about your opinions and bugs since we would like to work further on this game in the future.

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#148Mood(Jam)3.64
#189Graphics(Jam)3.97
#359Audio(Jam)3.11
#632Overall(Jam)3.08
#790Humor(Jam)2.28
#882Fun(Jam)2.50
#951Innovation(Jam)2.22
#967Theme(Jam)2.42

Comments

petey123567 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:23am

Maybe I'm a big dummy but I can't seem to find the download link for this. Looks super cool though!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:20am

I could not find the link too, but by the image, I can say that I liked the illumination a lot!

Drauthius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Snail shells? I thought it was pie... The game is really creepy and nice though! Linux version works well.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Creepy!

Nice concept, can see it needed a bit more time to get collisions and multiplayer working, but good job for getting that much done in the timeframe :D

Tanser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:20pm

The graphics are amazing. The idea is nice and the atmosphere is just stunning. Great job. Only downside is that I had a bit of a lag.

Issacchaos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:23pm

I enjoyed the concept, but I had some issues when dying, I never respawned and WebPlayer then crashed (maybe it hung because of the web side of your backened?) Other than that it seems like a cool concept, the bed (enemy?) seemed to stand in place once I approached it.

Pros':
Good Idea, Plays well, Enemies and Art all check out

Cons:
Game may Crash (Firefox Non-Beta Build, WebPlayer)

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:25pm

I really like the look of this -- the art style and color palette are very pleasing. The character moves and shoots a bit slowly, though. If those were sped up, I could see this being a fun multiplayer game once implemented. Nice work!

petey123567 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Great environment art! Not sure how to kill those enemy spawners though.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Nice looking game.

randoman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Had a connection issue the first time but it worked after that. Very nice game! I downloaded the windows version and could play it with full graphics. The illumination is amazing!

Dreyan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Nice tone to the game and some interesting ideas. With some smoothing out and bug fixes this would make for a really fun game with friends.

Andrea says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Very cool game! I wasn't able to beat it because I kept getting between two packs of mobs, but great mood, music and art! The character could be animated though :D
I heard it was supposed to be multiplayer, it would be so much fun!
Thank for an amazing job!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Really good game. A bit buggy and unbalanced,but that's not a problem. The character doesn't look that good, but all the rest is awesome. The sound design is really good and the game mechanics are funny.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:13pm

I thought the enemy design was really cool

Dorgam says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:57pm

Nice game, still needs more polish and you did will making creepy monsters indeed. A health bar for the enemies may be a good idea.

pkenney says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Very nice creepy vibe. The art and sound were great.

I was still reading the intro screen when monsters came at me. They looked really nice. I fired at them for a while, then went wandering around. As soon as I found my first potion my gun seemed to run out and I couldn't shoot.

I picked up a few potions while dodging and used them with the number keys, but they didn't seem to do anything. I was surrounded while investigating a floating bed that I tried to use with E, but nothing happened, then I died. I would have retried but the web player crashed my browser.

Despite a few rough edges on play the environment, monster, and atmosphere were memorable.

Oh, and I should say there was a warning about the web player, it's on me that I just ignored it. ;)

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:34am

LOVED the enemy design, and the visuals overall were really well done. A lot of content too, for a jam entry. Definitely consider working on this post jam :)

broknecho says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Really great start here! Taking on an online MP game over a weekend is no easy chore! Even though that part wasn't complete, it's still a cool concept for a co-op game.

The assets (music and graphics were really solid. Well done!

I would recommend quite a bit more feedback like ammo pickups, stats boosts. Just make those more clear when and what was happening. Also the Ammo count needs to be more prevalent and/or have an audible *click* when you can't shoot anymore. More feedback when you take damage too.

Well Done!

Perjoka says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 7:39am

Great game, amazing graphics!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]