Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Fish Fencing

by Schwiggy - Compo Entry

Fish fencing is an honorable sport well established in the following countries: . Indeed, there are those who wish it were played at the Olympic Games.

You must defeat your opponent by accumulating points from either slapping their head or body with a fish. Regulation games go up to 10 points, though certain provinces play sudden death or higher point ranges.

----------------------------------------
WASD controls your body and the arrowkeys control your arm. You can also use the dual joysticks on game controllers – and if you hook up a second controller you can play against a friend in practice mode. (Gamepads don't always work in browsers, this one has been tested in Firefox)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Theme4.63
#15Humor4.16
#47Innovation4.05
#296Fun3.37
#346Overall3.39
#640Audio2.47
#648Mood2.82
#655Graphics2.89
#2008Coolness30%

Comments

ruthiepee says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:45am

I am SO BAD at this game!! That's a testament to how well the AI is programmed, haha. I think the controls work equally well with a keyboard or a controller. Simple yet elegant graphics make the game fun and appealing along with an AWESOME use of the theme. PS: those fish look SWEET!

pattb011 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:21am

Haha. Great game :D

tanjent says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:10am

Games won by me:. Score to red:+13. :) I think it would be much easier if there were some preset combos so you could hit only one button to attack high/low and do combination moves with the directional controllers (like streetfighter)

ajopart says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Once in a while, we come across an entry totally insane. Today is one of those days... I can barely imagine the brainstorming session concluding on this idea. Epic ! Congrats !

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:52am

Both unconventional and fun. Controls could be improved a bit, but overall this is an interesting entry. Thanks and good luck!

ohsqueezy says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:31am

Red has some effective strategies -- impressive AI work! I had two surprisingly edge-of-my-seat battles. I wish there was a little more whipping action on the fish, but on the other hand their limpness makes them seem even more pathetic and absurd as weapons.

animanegra says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Fucking complex game control. The idea is soo coll. :D I get lot of laughs. :D ^^

suppi says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:43pm

very nice game. good job!

DKoding says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:12am

I LOL´d. Best game ever 10/10, would play again. :-)

yackeroeni says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Cool concept, fun to play.

johnnwfs says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Must be popular, error on dropbox link for source is Error (429)
This account's public links are generating too much traffic and have been temporarily disabled!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]