Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Light

by jthistle - Compo Entry

You live on a distant planet and have been put in charge of completing a fearless task. Can you do it? Warning: May Induce Rage! Have fun and don't forget to rate :D

ALSO, YOU CAN USE THE ARROW KEYS!!! It makes it much easier to switch shields, and I forgot to note that in the game :P

NB: Different shields repel different creatures, so don't expect a black shield to work against the first enemy or the pink shield to work against the last enemy etc.

This is my third LD, both consecutively and altogether, and I think this may have been my best entry yet :D Really enjoyed this one!

Sorry, no WebGL build for those of you who can't use the web player. Please download the standalone specific to your operating system.

Sorry about the glitches, I was a bit rushed for time at the end and didn't have time to fix them. Just keep on playing, it might work :/ UPDATE: Jumping is (mostly) fixed! And the typo at the start :P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#543Humor2.72
#742Innovation2.82
#763Theme3.09
#775Audio2.05
#927Overall2.73
#931Mood2.37
#972Graphics2.27
#978Fun2.41
#2090Coolness26%

Comments

amras0000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:11am

had an enemy clip through my shield and I couldn't jump after that. Without looking at source (way too tired to do that right now) I'm guessing you've put your jumping code in FixedUpdate instead of Update. You might want to fix that.

crockid5 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:14am

Couldn't make it past the second part, the shields didn't seem to repel the enemies as much as I've expected.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:14am

It was fun. But the player is a bit hard to control.

stoarch says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:18am

Good game. If jumping was not so difficult. Very novel idea only seen in Ikagura.

jthistle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:25am

Sorry about the glitches, I was a bit rushed for time at the end and didn't have time to fix them :/

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:32am

Don't know why but this design is just up my alley.
Keep it up!

jthistle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:43am

Hmm, if there's a glitch please can you report which build you where using (e.g. windows, web player), thanks!

jthistle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:43am

*were

TaoPhoenix says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:50am

Yeah, there's promise here, but the controls are really buggy! There's times you can't even jump at all!

And then the sequence to try to repel the monsters gets really tricky once you start having to interlock a d w q e r! (And probably more later!)

Buko-Studios says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:37am

also found the controls and physics a bit difficult to work with, but I like the changing fields for different enemies. Is the best strategy to deflect them out of the screen?

BraindeadGeo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:53am

Just echoing the other comments, a good idea but the jumping is a bit too laggy for precise movements.

Dynad says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:53am

Funny little game, controls are kinda sluggish.. and the shield doesn't always protect as it should and clips right through. Jump does't always trigger.. maybe you cant jump while shield is on.. but even then some weird occasions I couldnt jump at all.. anyway.. good job and will see you with the next LD! :)

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Jumping was difficult, it'd be easier if you could jump whilst moving

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:44pm

I LOL'ed. :-)

Please rate mine at http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=16225

Borkleby says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Very challenging, very fun! Epic walking animation too. Jumping was a bit weird, though. Couldn't always get it to work.

jthistle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Sorry, I'll fix the jumping tonight. I guess maybe a bugfix is allowed? :D I'll do it anyway. Thanks for the feedback guys, really apprieciate it!

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:42pm

so fun, but so hard to control... and that shield is good actually. a little confuse at first.. shield blockade the jump ? .. but sometimes i can jump with the shield.lol

Ershany says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Such an awesome idea :P and the bugs made it more enjoyable XD Graphics were ehhhh :P

ssiegel2 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Interesting idea. I could see this being used for a lot of puzzle mechanics.

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Nice concept, but the controls felt a little confusing, and the jumping was a little nuts. Would have been nice to have a bit more variety in sounds. Nice use of theme though.

thumbgarden says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:22pm

fun but think about making the keys easier to use. Say I wanted to jump move to the right and hit the shield all at the same time it would be uncomfortable with the controls you picked.

jthistle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:19am

Please read the full insertctions: you CAN use the arrow keys!

jthistle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:19am

*instructions

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:13pm

It's still very buggy for me - collision and gravity are really crazy or awkward sometimes. Interesting game which can be improved. Thank you ++

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:02pm

there is a fun "Double super jump" if you hit up and right together :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]