Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Follow The Light

by handkor - Compo Entry

You are a little glowing creature. Enlist the help of wandering adventurers to fight for you.

Controls:

WASD to Move
Left Click to Chirp
ESC to quit

*I ran out of time, this game is incomplete. The graphics are incomplete. The enemies don't do much and the final boss and goal are missing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#579Graphics3.00
#713Humor2.41
#714Innovation2.87
#792Theme3.05
#860Mood2.50
#1033Overall2.54
#1039Fun2.20

Comments

togie says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:24am

The lighting was decent,but the lack of enemies, sound and that final boss brought down the rating for me. Although i did like the idea, like bugs and a bug zapper :P

ito123456789 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:29am

A bit generic, looks like an UT demo. It's also very hard to install.

handkor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:34am

My original idea was to keep the followers close and have creatures hide in the dark forcing you to lure them into your lit area to let the followers attack. If they left the safe zone around you they were dead. Got a lot of the AI work done but that ate up my time.

handkor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:37am

Can you elaborate of "hard to install". I tried it on two different machines (dev and non-dev) and all I had to do was unzip and run the FollowTheLight.exe

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:49am

Lighting was good, but the enemies didn't really do much. Some polishing is needed, but i think that when LD is over, you should keep working on it.

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:27am

I nice concept but as you say, you ran out of time. I like the little cube grass tho :D

texdata says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:41pm

this is a huge endeavour! i like it a lot

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:53am

Good game,,, keep working

borgi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Nice implementation, cool concept. I really liked the graphics also :)

eddynardo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Weird game .I liked the idea.Dont be dissapointed though you have potentional :)

boateye says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Fun little game. easy to install, thought i have the UE 4 engine installed already.

This game would be a full star better if it had sound. No joke. It was really disappointing to click to chirp and hear nothing. That'd be the thing i'd add to this game before a boss battle.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Graphics were pretty good, but a bit laggy indoors; not sure why, and occluder should have made it better.

Understood it was incomplete so there wasn't much in the way of gameplay, but I could get people to follow me and there were some baddies, so there's that much.

A good start to something though.

yuigoto says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:47pm

I liked the idea of "herding" people to follow you and use'em as weapons, I also liked you joking about not having time inside your game :).

About the graphics, I like this contrast about hi/low-poly, textured/not-textured. I don't know if it was intentional, but kind of liked it. :3

It's a shame you couldn't finish the way you wanted to, but it is a good thing you made something and released! :D

handkor says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:13am

The contrast was not intentional as the indoor areas I built a full instanced mesh procedural room generator but only supplied it a base flat model.
As for the followers it was the same thing, I didn't have time to make a nicer models but I ended up really liking the look of them in the end. I'm actually thinking of using these blocky guys for future projects.

uber says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 3:30pm

And interesting idea you could develop even further, and I hope you will :)
Good luck!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]