Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Rage the Stage

by puppetmaster - Jam Entry

Rage the Stage - loud and hard!

-°- Intro -°-
You and your band are having a blast rocking the stage at what seems to be your greatest live concert yet.
8 songs in and the crowd is still screaming for more. Everyone is having fun. Maybe a little too much fun...

-°- Instructions -°-
Prevent your raging fans from invading the stage.

-°- Controls -°-
Arrow Keys for movement
Keys 1 – 4 to unleash various outrageous guitar riffs
or gamepad

-°- Tools -°-
This game is created using the Godot engine.
Inkscape for the art

-°- Team -°-
puppetmaster - idea, art and animation
sammakko - programming and light-show
dark3zz - soundfx and background music (soundcloud.com/dark3zz)

-°- Post Jam version -°-
- new: pounding attack (press [arrow down] while in air)
- new: rage mode indicator (progress bar)
- difficulty decreased
- smoother animations
- fixed fps bug
- guitar riffs can raging or calm down your fans

Windows 64bit
- https://www.dropbox.com/s/3hapz6ir3nb6ae3/RageTheStage_1.3.7_64bit.zip?dl=1
Windows 32bit
- https://www.dropbox.com/s/yvqirm19q4zz2od/RageTheStage_1.3.7_32bit.zip?dl=1
Linux
- https://www.dropbox.com/s/yt2nntf3pru9rob/RageTheStage_1.3.7_Linux.gz?dl=1
OSX
- https://www.dropbox.com/s/zcvl9nxfdeslgfv/RageTheStage_1.3.7_OSX.zip?dl=1

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#139Audio(Jam)3.64
#224Theme(Jam)3.77
#347Humor(Jam)3.21
#385Fun(Jam)3.23
#432Innovation(Jam)3.21
#549Mood(Jam)3.00
#595Overall(Jam)3.12
#620Graphics(Jam)3.08

Comments

lamogui says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Lol I think there is a problem with your URL it's only "http:///"

ianburnette says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:49pm

same here, the link is broken :)

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:22pm

The Link is now working.

Druid says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:09am

Interesting idea! But controls are really stiff. And i haven't good fps too.

x1212 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Funny idea!

RadStar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Cool game! Like it a lot ^^

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:29pm

haha ! funny game !

nightlord says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:28pm

First of all, anything with a rock soundtrack gets bonus kudos from me :) Things i liked:
- the concept
- the drum intro
- menu design
- stage design
things that would make this game better
- more responsive controls. I don't have an indication of when my guitar attacks recharge. which makes it feel unresponsive.
- more optimized code maybe. The frame rate dropped a lot on me as more people got on stage.
congrats on a nice game

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Interesting take on the genre. Love the music! Great job!

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Haha funny game, but nice graphics and sound! Great innovation too, very original. Great job!

Biliogadafr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:55pm

That was fun :) Would like to press more buttons (and more often) to throw peoples away from the scene in more ways :) Btw, when it says to press 'down' nothing happens... am I doing something wrong?

louis.denizet says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Really good idea, liked it :p

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:27pm

So many great comments!! :-)

@Biliogadafr [Arrow down] should be activating the rage mode! It start now automatically.

@nightlord the controls feel a little unresponsive because we have synchronized it with the animation (will be tweaked)

We have a few ideas! Hope we can include it in the post jam version. "Rage the Stage!!"

SonderWorks says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:57am

Fun little game, here. Feels like the difficulty goes from really easy to really hard, really quickly, though.

blob says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:59am

Funny idea :)
Started slowing down at rage mode moment!

Davikin92 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:08am

ROCK THE STAGE!
ROCK THE CREDITS!
HOW TO ROCK! (this is what I expected)

You can't rock quickly enough to push the fans off stage, I think difficulty goes up too quickly.

elpaulo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Awesome ! But don't fall on the crowd, i didn't manage to come back on the stage :-)
Nice graphics, awesome music.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Great game!

goblin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Great idea, nice sounds and graphics. Good job!
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

runvs says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Hi there, nice entry & well done for 48 hours!

scorched says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:37am

The soundtrack is good but very quiet. And different enemies requiring different riffs would be more fun. As an alternative, different types of riffs could be: 1) single enemy, 2) line shot, 3) area of effect, 4) chain shot; and deal not only damage but: slow down/stun, summon some music creature, you got the idea:-)

Sandcrawler says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:14am

I featured this game in my video Series. Thanks again for sharing it with me.

I thought the game was really interesting and the music was good. Visually I thought the game was great. My biggest issues was with the controls. I really wanted to play the game with a controller, possibly even use the second thumbstick for the guitar riffs. I liked the different riffs and how they were at various heights and angles. It does get hard quick.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sqa1iAMCQ3Y

dreamlogician says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:35am

Cool idea, but I encountered a lot of framerate issues that reduced my enjoyment and filled me with RAGE!

GarethIW says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Fun! Difficulty ramped up pretty quick, but I managed 1200 points. I liked all the animations - made the game feel "alive". Also, nice to see a game build with Godot.

Red_Fan games says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 11:42pm

A pretty dank game in my book but a wee bit slow on my ol' laptop

Xanjos says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 4:59pm

I loved the animations and the game itself isn't exactly too difficult but most of the time I found it slightly easier to just push the fans off the stage. Also I actually found rage mode to be more of a hindrance as it's a bit inaccurate at times.

John Vanis says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:21am

So rock! Nice game!

dos says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:07am

Nice animations, they contribute to the good feel of the game a lot :)

ROCK! \m/

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]