Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Unconventional Guns

by rectangular Tim - Compo Entry

"Shoot" your way through 11 puzzling levels to defeat hordes of horribly generic monsters using only most unconventional guns.
Made with PuzzleScript.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#24Theme4.29
#26Innovation4.16
#76Overall3.85
#121Fun3.71
#154Humor3.57
#381Mood3.13

Comments

From Smiling says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:34am

Super interesting control mechanic! (Definitely unconventional for sure)

helekopeter says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:45pm

cool mechanic.

mattfox12 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Great combination of genres. I like it a lot.

ProgramGamer says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Pretty fun, but I would have liked some music. Puzzles definitely made me think!

OadT says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Fantastic Concept! Really tough but fun

longshorts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:11pm

At first I was thinking "snake gun? wtf?" then I fired it and pissed myself laughing. Ridiculously awesome mechanic. Very well thought out game.

Johan Blade says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Great concept and intresting levels!

Junber says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:23pm

I really liked this one. Very innovative and very fun. I was stuck on level 6 but copied the source code into the puzzelscript editor to play the other ones. Really good game.

NuSan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Excellent idea. It"s beacoming realy though but this is a great puzzle. Keep up the good work!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Really unusual weapons. It's challenging. Love it :)

eric777 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Very cool puzzle game, the level designs were challenging yet fair. My brain hurt after screen 9! Very creative and fun!

pixzleone says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Innovative and cool mechanics. Nice undo mechanic. Well Ludum Dared!

MrDave says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Oh nice game, you have done lots with a very simple game mechanic. Great level design.

I like the fact that you implemented rewinding time as I think it could have become a pain restarting the level every time.

thaaks says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Nice mechanic for quite some brain teasing. Sound would have been nice. Graphics are minimal but consistent. Polish it and consider a mobile version ;-)

kyyrma says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:57pm

This was both unconventional and super fun. Good puzzles and nice minimalistic art. Most of all, made me want to read up on PuzzleScript.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:05pm

My absolute favorite entry so far, had a lot fun! = D

nicklink483 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:12pm

This one is pretty awesome. It was challenging figuring out the right order even on the second level.

Great job!

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Loved this so much - got totally stuck on screen 9 or 10 (can't remember) but up until then it was really really fun. A great mechanic, but I was sad to lose my snake gun!

Tijn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Wow, well done! These puzzles are great and the weapon is hilarious :)

gruhn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:19am

Well implemented mechanic. Simple, but a good game.

Ershany says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Loved the game :D

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Really great puzzle game! Good job.

Integershift says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:25pm

Interesting game, the mechanic is good, the puzzles are difficult, the weapon is unconventional and you meet the theme. One improvement is the audio. The sfx is good, but there is no music to liven up the mood. Great work overall!

BlakeB says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:36am

A bit beyond my capabilities in the puzzle genre, but well made and interesting conceptually.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:59am

Very interesting, well composed and addictive puzzles. The lack of background music gave the player's movement sound far too dominant a role in the game's soundscape though. Good job.

flummox3d says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:32am

Awesome game :) I always get surprised what things are possible in PuzzleScript. Good job :)

Draknek says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:15am

I like the snake gun a lot, the water gun felt less interesting to me though.

Level design could have been stronger I think. The last snake gun level was particularly frustrating.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Kind've like a Chip's Challenge except with snakes, which is always a plus. Unless you hate snakes.

xplicitone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Great game!! Love puzzles. I got to Level 9 and stopped but it was pretty good!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:03pm

I agree with Dranek. The ocean gun was just a way to extend the game's length, when I ran out of ideas for the snake gun. All of the ocean gun levels are terrible. I should have taught the player, that the recoil is strong enough to let you get past werewolves before using that mechanic in level 6. I should have playtested earlier to have enough time to fix things. But, hey, it's my first compo entry ever. Maybe next time I'll be able to make a better game. :)

rnlf says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Cool gameplay and the weapon is really unconventional. Nice mix between Sokoban and Snake! Made it to level 6, then had to give up after an hour or so. Good work!

stoarch says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:38am

Great game. And snake gun is hilarious. So hard and fun.

andreimarks says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:42am

Ahhhhh this game made me go way over my self-imposed jam game time rating limit and I only got to level 9. I'm going to be coming back to finish it later! Great job all around!

monika says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:36am

This is a fantastic puzzle game! The difficulty curve is just right, the pace of mechanics introductions, everything. The art is cute, the puzzles are interesting, the premise is amusing. Good job!

phaze112 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Quite the nice puzzle game. I especially enjoyed the 'snake gun' portion.

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Good use of the theme and the puzzles were well crafted!

spin-down says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:26pm

I spent a good while playing this and enjoyed it immensely. I wouldn't even know where to begin to plan levels out for a game like this so you have admiration for that aspect alone!

ceosol says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:09am

Fantastic entry overall. You really had a handle on the theme. Though, I am wondering why you opted out on sound or graphics? It makes me think that you had outside assets, which is against the compo rules. Please clarify :)

MaesK says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 11:43pm

Excellent puzzle game! I never thought a snake would be so hard to control, I liked a lot how much "recoil" it has. Every single new piece would improve complexity greatly, be it a box or a new type of enemy. Great one!

May 3, 2015 @ 2:14am

@ceosol: Good question. PuzzleScript severely restricts sound and audio. The game has no music, the sound quality is terrible and the graphics are just 5x5 pixel sprites. I really don't need people to tell me how much room for improvement there is there. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]