Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Dog Bulldozer

by tmpxyz - Jam Entry

You're a scientist inside the zombie apocalypse.

But you're not Gordon Freeman, you have no crowbar, no gun, no rocket, no weapon.

All you have is a laser pointer, and your pet giant mutated lovely dog.

Use the pointer to guide your dog run over the dead.

Protect yourself, don't worry about the puppy, he can take care of himself better than you.

* The control scheme is the old-school action games (Bioharzard/AloneInTheDark) style, used to add some twitch to the action part, Enjoy it.

====================================

Update:
* Add an arrow to indicate the facing direction to help you evade the horde better;
* Raise the walls' collider, you can not escape out of the highwalls now, mwahaha;
* Add an Linux build, as Unity webplayer will not work on Linux;

Credit:
ClipArt images from FlatIcon.com & Freepik.com;

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#215Theme(Jam)3.78
#312Audio(Jam)3.21
#356Innovation(Jam)3.33
#373Graphics(Jam)3.57
#474Overall(Jam)3.27
#506Humor(Jam)2.88
#514Fun(Jam)3.06
#549Mood(Jam)3.00

Comments

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:03am

Cool 3D Graphics! Well done!

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:12am

I like the Dog.

Let's see here, I bumped myself out of the level on accident, and then intentionally, the player controls are abysmal, having to rotate from a fixed perspective tank style, in a game where you have to avoid things attacking you from all directions is not optimal.

But the dog was cute, the game was actually fun to play for the most part, once you accept the tank controls as a given.

djfariel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:17am

It's an interesting idea. The music is super loud and the walking controls are weird, but it's an interesting idea.

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:24am

It's an interesting mechanic, but I think the player should move relative to the camera since it's often hard to tell which direction the player is facing. It'd be cool if there were different dogs to control that had different powers.

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:28am

funny game, the control are a little complicated but its alright

Infernobomb says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:50am

Looks awesome, and plays really well. Great concept, and well done :)

lxem says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:59am

This is an interesting game :)

ccglp says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:52am

A game with dogs is always good but i feel that the main character controls are a bit hard. I guess it's on purpouse? Good game :)

kikijin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:57am

Great graphics, and sound but when the dog collide with players he stunned too ?

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:06am

(+)Very good game idea, i like the idea how to use a dog.
(+)Decent 3D graphics.

(-)Control very awkward, hard to control when evade zombies horde. Maybe i would be better if control relative to camera, not player.

SayHiBen says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:30am

Nicely packaged and fun. Player's a little funky to control, but I got the hang of it quick enough. Love the graphics.

Karai17 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:46am

The game looks good, sounds good, and controls really bad! I feel like in this sort of game, up should always be north, or at the very least a more clear indicator which direction you are facing.

Level progression could make the game a lot more fun, too. Maybe kill X zombies in Y level, every Z levels there is a "boss", that sort of thing?

All in all, a great LD entry!

benbateman says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:30am

Cool idea and the graphics were really nice. Overall I enjoyed.

A couple of feedback points. I think the controlling of the player's rotation with a/d made movement a bit difficult. Also a small bug: I got hit out of bounds which meant the zombies couldn't get me.

Kardamom says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:38am

I liked the mechanics, they are innovative and work well. On the downside, the game made me repeat tutorial every time I played. I also had problem with the movement - either W,S,A,D should correspond to actually moving in a direction or the camera should rotate with A,D. Since it was hard to tell which direction the character is facing, this made the gameplay confusing. But overall it was good fun.

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:48pm

@Karai17, yeah, According to my original plan, there should be 3 kinds of enemies, one boss, a shopkeeper and the shopkeeper would be the big boss of the hidden level.

A mistake on time estimation and finally barely make to finish this lot.

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:39am

The game has a good aesthetics and I always love me a good dog. The controls should be 8 directions on keyboard. My highscore is 30 and it was fun, but the low variety in gameplay made it fall off. It is still impressive for a game jam though, you could potentially sell this if you put more time. Good work so far.

Taldius says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:25pm

This game was really good, the only problem was the control of the main character, I would have prefer a classic multidirectional WASD. But despite that, it was really fun to play and the graphics were really good.
Great job!

DarkwindMedia says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:28pm

The texture of dog is really nice!

Victor RENE says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Sorry, but bad controls. If we use the mouse, why not use it for both characters (check ld-rainballz) ? Also you can not turn unless you move forward, and that is counterintuitive, I played at first without understanding why I couldn't turn. That's a shame because you took time to make a sort of tutorial. Music is nice, 3D is also nice. I am so tired of zombies...

Namide says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:04pm

Very interesting concept!

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:56am

I keep thinking that the terrible controls was supposed to make me feel like I'm in a survival horror game. But the exciting music keep implying otherwise. The adorable graphics does not help, either. It feels like a lot of parts in the game conflicts and fight with each other, leaving an unfocused experience behind.

Andy Gainey says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Definitely had a lot of good stuff going for it. Good clear graphics, loading/tutorial screens, effective sound effects and music.

The control was unpleasantly constraining though. Especially since there was a little bit of inertia tied to rotation, but you can only rotate while moving forward, I had a really hard time actually running in the direction I wanted. It made the game more difficult, but not in a fun way.

The smoke cloud on the zombies could maybe benefit from being less opaque, too. There were times that I couldn't tell if the zombie underneath was done for, or still moving, and if so, moving in which direction. So I didn't have the information necessary to decide where to run, or where to send my dog.

Being able to toss zombies (or oneself) in the air with the dog was a cool effect, but I couldn't tell how to trigger it intentionally, and it still seemed to cause the dog to come to a standstill momentarily. It would be interesting if there were ways to utilize the dog that required more skill, but enabled stronger attacks, or more efficient attacks that didn't suffer from the momentary stun.

tmpxyz says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 4:53am

@Andy Gainey, Great opinions, will try to fit them in when I grow it into a regular game.

lucidsheep says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 9:14pm

fun but hard to control. up should be up, down should be down etc. no need for rotation.

May 4, 2015 @ 11:33am

The player controls are awful, but everything else is great! Good use of the theme!

May 4, 2015 @ 2:50pm

I like the Idea. I wasn't able to really move the character where I wanted (but it's may be because I play on an "azerty" keyboard, so the "wasd" controls are not optimals). that's pretty fun though, good work.

alex31016 says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 7:29am

Great idea for an unconventional weapon :) I think the control of the main character is hard and confusing, also I didn't understand why I am losing the game when I had 42 HP

MonoS says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 5:30pm

I don't understand why do you chose this control scheme, wouldn't have been better a simple wasd??

BTW the game feel easily exploitable hiding in a corner.

FistBumpGames says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Nice art and idea, the sound was good but a littel to epic. the controls gave me a bit of a hard time though.

uber says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Controls are a bit clunky (as in player movement) but the rest is pretty great.

Demy says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 9:29am

Nice idea and graphics. Yep, controls are not so good. Very strange idea but may you could make the game turn-based and work on different zombie types?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]