Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Spheres

by Ogniok - Jam Entry

What is our game about?
--------------------------------------------------------
You play as Edward who wakes up on a strange island after
a night of heavy drinking. Abandoned by your friends, you
must find your way out of the island. But beware - there
are strange spheres that won't make your journey easy.


Our thoughts
--------------------------------------------------------
We planned definitely too much and because of that we did not
have almost any time to polish our game. This is very bad, since
every game is better when it features less content but very good
and polished than when it features more content but has bugs etc.
Let's just hope we'll learn from this experience and do better next time!


Team
--------------------------------------------------------
Ogniok - Programming & Music
derko666 - 3D Art & Level Design
Mike - 3D Art
doosead - 2D Art

Special thanks to Elijah Lucian for voicing our game.

FEEDBACK
----------------------------------------
Please, leave your feedback about the game and report
bugs if you've found any. We appreciate it very much.
Unfortunately we won't be able to fix any bugs and upload
post-compo version, because we have a lot to do in a coming few days.

Spheres on GameJolt: http://gamejolt.com/games/adventure/spheres/61837/

Fireline Games | firelinegames.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#14Audio(Jam)4.27
#45Mood(Jam)4.04
#108Graphics(Jam)4.19
#138Overall(Jam)3.72
#404Fun(Jam)3.21
#435Theme(Jam)3.46
#530Humor(Jam)2.83
#546Innovation(Jam)3.05

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:04am

A perfect entry to the jam! Just awesome! I love the way the character tells what to do. Nice work guys! :D

Qui says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:06am

The game file is quite huge and the game is a bit laggy on my poor's laptop. But I reaaly liked the art and the atmosphere. The voice acting is impeccable.

YaaZ says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:09am

Very cool! Full 3D and voice acting is not what you expect to see at LD game. This one really stands out.

Pix3M says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:23am

Interesting premise, though getting no farther than the fence blocking the bridge, I ran off into a massive forest and discovered a 'hole' in the level where you can jump into the ocean endlessly fall off the level.

I unfortunately found the game overwhelming to play as the creepy music was overwhelming when you're wandering around with no idea what to do. That, and the spheres are nothing more than random annoyances that causes the game to reset back at a past point. It's punishing, eh

OneTrueAaron says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:58pm

This was amazing! And funny! I'm just sorry i missed out on some of the voice acting because i died so quickly a few times. Coming out of the cabin i had no idea i needed to use the flares, so i just died. Great transitions, great 'recovery' from death, perfect world size. I'm just sad i didn't get to hear more of that battle music.

Ogniok says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Thanks for all the feedback.

@Pix3M Checkpoints were supposed to save the game and then load on character's death. But unfortunately, we noticed that it wasn't working about 2 hours before deadline and we couln't do anything about it. If they would work properly, fighting spheres would be a great mechanic.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Sweeeet, I was wondering when I'd see a UE4 game :) I didn't mind the focus on content rather than polish in this case (look at any Bethesda game :P). The mood of the game kept me engaged through the end, and the battle music was fantastic! If I may ask, what daw/plugin/vst did you use for the strings? Great work overall, and especially on establishing a mood!

Reccy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Brilliant game, I really enjoyed it! The voice acting is very well done. I can't really fault this game other than it could use some post-LD polish. Excellent job! :D

rjhelms says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:17pm

The size of this is impressive for a Ludum Dare game. Interesting concept, and the voice acting really helped with the immersion and to guide the story along.

The framerate was a little low on my PC, but not the the point of making it unplayable. I also would have liked to have seen a bit more of a tactical element to fighting the spheres, rather than just needing to fire a flare each time you see one.

daltostronic says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:39pm

If I only could, I'd give you extra points for audio and sense of humor :D Graphics are also very, very nice :) I like it very much :)

Clavus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Graphically amazing for a jam game, and really solid voice work. The combat was a bit wonky but interesting enough. Great work!

sebasRez says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:59pm

The voice acting is so good, nice job Elijah. The visuals were also great for the time constraint. The combat was incredible difficult to manage. I wasn't sure if I was hitting the enemies or not or how to avoid them, insta kill kept getting me down.

AtomicVikings says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Damn dat plot twist 8O

Diventurer says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:15am

I really like the mood and voice acting.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Quality voice acting! Like really good. Nice solid entry.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Awesome job! Loved the use of voice acting, very intriguing story, too. I died a few times to the horde, it and felt like there wasn't much I could do to avoid it. Otherwise, lots of fun

Embalaje says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:09am

Wow! Good Job!
That's a consistent game.
Good Gameplay, nice graphs, interesting Voice off and story...
Perfect music.
Very concerned work.(Hope this expression fits...as you see i´m not a native english speaker)
So, made with love and care!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Very impressive work for a 3D game made in only a couple of days! The story was really intriguing and I liked the voice over part. The game makes my computer bug though. But definitely interesting!

OrkyOrks says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:44pm

very very well done, only minor tweaks need. Please move forward with this

th4t says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Really amazing !
I loved the graphical fidelity and your level design.
I was guided perfectly through the level.
The "combat" could use some work. I died quite a lot :D
The narration was just awesome.
Super good entry for the jam :)

TeamQuadratic says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:25pm

Great mood, music, and voice over! Excellent work!

tughan says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:33am

Nice to see another unreal engine game. The environment is nice, and the atmosphere, and the voice acting :)

Jaloko says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:02am

The large download meant I had to wait but damn was it worth the wait. Amazing atmosphere the audio and voice acting really made the game immersive. The graphics were stunning, very very good job on this!

Skiddings says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:40pm

This is great work! An excellent achievement in the time. I had a problem that I could only kill the spheres using flares, I don't know if that was by design or not.

Omiya Games says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 3:47am

I really enjoyed this entry, especially when the narrator attempted to match with your actions. A lot special things were going on with the narration, such as being disguised as a tutorial, and attempting to observe how player plays. It was a bit short, but I see a huge potential with this game.

Flairs for the win!

May 4, 2015 @ 2:51am

Camera needs some work. would be nice if it had a better combat system. Like the use of the lighthouse as an overall goal to drive the player.

Crowbeak says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 1:53am

I love the storytelling. "The glowing intensified when I pushed the left mouse button." xD Good voice acting for the narration, even with the blatant tutorial fourth wall breaking. It was neat to see the environment change with the storytelling, too, and it felt like a complete mini-arc in a larger story. I could see this as a demo/intro for a full game. I'm glad you had a solution in place to keep player death from causing loss of progress. I was afraid I'd have to start over when I first got attacked. My biggest problem in the game was the lack of ability to invert the mouse. It's also kinda sad that there are no subtitles; any deaf person who plays this is going to miss out on the narration and probably find the game a frustrating experience.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: using cached page]