Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Conquer and Consume

by Nilq - Jam Entry

--=== Conquer and Consume ===--

In Gingerbread-land, bullets does not work. Yet, you have taken it upon yourself to carry out the first gun-massacre. Even if it means you will have to throw them.
But the mute inhabitants of this sugary land will not go down without fighting, so be prepared to face the hordes, eating the fallen for health and ammo.
Conquer and Consume!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z-Cl9zg7Eeo

~-Controls-~
Change Weapon: 1,2,3
Throw: Left Mouse Button
Eat: Right Mouse Button
Move: w,a,s,d

-=Credits=-

Niels Horn, Asger Horn, Fredrik Lundin.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#296Theme(Jam)3.68
#423Humor(Jam)3.06
#514Graphics(Jam)3.31
#538Audio(Jam)2.67
#691Mood(Jam)2.81
#706Fun(Jam)2.77
#749Overall(Jam)2.94
#860Innovation(Jam)2.42
#1566Coolness44%

Comments

redbeard says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:08am

Love the fact that you throw the flintlock. Totally fits the theme. :D Would have loved to have some background music or something, even if it was really simple. The source of the throw above the head made it difficult to hit guys right in front of me.

jejevi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:08am

I giggled when i figured out that you actually are throwing guns.

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Haha, throwing the gun is awesome

lanza says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:38pm

I love the fact that you use a conventional weapon in an unconventional way. I would never have thought of that.

PixelMind says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Funny game. Pretty difficult though. Didn't get very far.

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:55am

kkkk very good,,, congratulations

Somnium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:11am

Nice take on the theme! :-)

Huo-cuo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Very nice graphics and I enjoyed the mood of this sweet land.

dreadzilla says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Fun game! I was overrun by all the gingerbread men. They were raining down on me. :)

volkoivan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:24am

Throwing the gun is a really fun idea!
But the game is REALLY hard
Because of the quantity of enemies after about just 1 minute!
Also after eating the enemy I have eyes floating in the sky, which is kind of creepy, but pretty funny

Supr says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:25am

Good concept.

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:57pm

I really like the world you created, looks awesome!
Its just sometimes a little bit tricky to throw the weapons because you can just throw them when you're not moving.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:19pm

haha nice scenario, good use of the theme too,

fixitteam says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:58pm

haha ... so funny :)
the gameplay seems a bit buggy tho.
anyway, good job :)

ajopart says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Hard to kill, those things. Throwing flintlock, always a smart solution. Design is nice.

Dejvo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:37am

neat idea. you kina throw the weapon too high which makes you look more to the ground and not watch the enemies AND the weapon itself is not unconventional you just use it differently, but over all, neat game. you made a first person thrower

Filoox says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:44am

Yes, throwing the gun is a god idea. The enemies are terrifying with their big eyes!

hypp says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Very nice, I liked it already when you showed it at Isotop. Well done!

Tommislav says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 7:02am

What I like about the game is the graphics and the solid controls. The game idea is also good, but the mechanics could have been polished a bit more. Right now you're just getting surrounded by gingerbread men until you die, or get tired.
So from a technical perspective this is an outstanding effort! But I think you could have focused a bit less tech a bit and used more time iterating on the actual gameplay.
Still an impressive entry, and I hope to see you guys again! With more awesome games! I whish you all the best!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 5:05am

nice idea - way too hard - controls were hard - nice effort

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]