Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Cheese Ball Warfare

by QuexD - Compo Entry

PLAY WITH SETTINGS IF IT IS TOO EASY THERE ARE FASTER SETTINGS.
also stale cheese mode is op and should be nerf.

My 3rd Ludum Dare entry I have done it I have cut my procrastination down from 36 hours to 20 hours! Yeah!

Recommend the Windows Vers.


How to Play:

use arrows / enter to navigate menus (stale cheese mode must be clicked)

click the cheese ball and pull back to charge shot, release to fire.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#538Humor2.73
#607Audio2.56
#776Theme3.07
#987Mood2.21
#992Fun2.37
#1028Graphics2.11
#1041Overall2.52
#1061Innovation2.11
#1436Coolness46%

Comments

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Hmm I never managed to fire a single cheeseball. But I think I get the concept. :-) Please rate my game at http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=16225

QuexD says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Click and drag the cheese ball.

zwartraider says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Man, I really had some trouble hitting guys with the cheese ball, I guess my aim sucks, I keep hitting just right in front of them :)

ito123456789 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Too easy.

Dungeonation says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Cheese balls fit the theme very well. But the gameplay, graphics and slingshot arching is really weird. Good job though!

conno1234 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:47pm

I still haven't stopped laughing, the graphics were perfect for this style of game. Great job!

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Kinda fun - slingshot felt a bit underpowered in terms of actual launching force, but is certainly killed a lot of the.. erm.. people attacking the castle.

Enjoyed the art style too - a fun and simple game

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:58am

Easy... but fun

fixedgerald says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:00am

Very slow paced. The game itself does not tell you the controls which is confusing as you have to use the keyboard for the menu, but the mouse for the rest of the game.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:03am

This felt like a series of skill shots I just could not make. Graphics fit the tone of the game.

anokta says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:04am

haha those enemies are creeepy! the cheese ball physics were kind of unusual, but still managed to hit some 'walkers'! :) well done!

uvwar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:07am

I wish the cheeseballs had more 'oomph' to them, but otherwise a really solid game!

Hammer Games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:14am

I can't use the ball. =/

nevet says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:57pm

this was funny :) wish the game graphics would have been photos too.

SmallPhil says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:20pm

The ball is a bit slow, but it's a nice game. Also, the sun is really weird ?! :P

Garris says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:25am

The controls all worked well for me, and it was nice to have music, though it sounded a bit too intense for how slowly the enemies appeared. Pretty fun though.

jackyjjc says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:00am

It is overall a funny game but it would be nice if it is more polished.

Langouste says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Super game! I love it, thanks ;)

kirbytails7 says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 12:48am

Nice. Note: Don't require separate controls just for the menu.

yuigoto says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 8:55am

Nice entry. :P

Original slingshot/ball mechanics feel a little bit restricted. There's that feeling that "oh, we could shoot this one a little bit more far/with a little bit more speed". But playing with "stale cheese mode" made it a better experience! :D

And, whoa, you made it for the compo! And that's something I couldn't do! Thumbs up for this! :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]