Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Island

by xWarZonex - Compo Entry

I released my game last night, but I didn't get around to writing this until now.

THE ISLAND
The island is a survival/horror game where you wake up on a mysterious island, where it is obvious, something is wrong. Signs across the Island shed light to you, that this isn't any normal Island, and who-ever sent you there, is no normal person. Loot much of the surrounding, such at crates and bushes to find food and unconventional weapons. BUT REMEMBER, DON'T ENTER THE CAVE!!!

I slept like, 3 hours this weekend. I worked all weekend, and I turned it in with 10 minutes left in submission hour, I spent a lot of time and work on this game (I hope you can tell from the quality of the game?) and I think I finally made a epic enjoyable game during Ludum Dare.

I'm a ex-game developer and current dubstep producer, and I haven't made a game since the last LD, so it was REALLY fun getting back into Game Dev, and it was really fun making the song for this game! Please rate me well, Especially in audio. Rate me honestly, but pls rete me well :) .

I hope You enjoy the game!

*TO AVOID A VERY ANNOYING GLITCH WHERE THE SPEAR GOES THROUGH THE FLOOR, NEVER AIM YOUR SPEAR DOWN, AIM AWAY FROM NEAR TILES.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#448Audio2.89
#486Humor2.80
#609Mood2.87
#729Graphics2.76
#770Fun2.80
#826Overall2.87
#1016Innovation2.26
#1086Theme2.11

Comments

SuperDolfy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:12am

I like the graphics, messy yet great!

Chadivision says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:22am

You really should warn people not to go in that cave. :)

Fun game. This is something that could really be expanded upon. I really like the graphics style, and the signs are funny (they kind of remind me of the Sign Painter from World of Goo).

jbasinger says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:09pm

I keep getting stuck when I try to jump over the dog thing on the 2nd screen.

texdata says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:39pm

le image du critique malade !!! i liked this "image of messy things" great !

ThommazK says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Fun signs!

Ershany says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:05pm

So cool!

liniix says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:35pm

I got stuck in the cave......but probably shouldn't have gone in to be fair...

thumbgarden says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:42pm

really nice graphics. keep working on this!

LuisDC says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:45pm

I've got stuck in the second dog :( I wanted to see the cave!

matthewd673 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:49pm

The music didn't go very well with the game, but other than that it was good! Nice work!

xWarZonex says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:57pm

1. I fixed the glitch that made you get stuck in the cave
2. The cave is where the game gets fun, so don't quit the first time you die from a LEOPARD.
3. It is a Leopard, not a dog :p
4. The easiest ways to kill the leopards, is to snipe them down from above.
5. DON'T GO IN THE CAVE!!!

Blobo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:05pm

crashed in the forth area.

Hectate says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:08pm

I throw too many spears away on accident :(
But nice scary mood here.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:13pm

The trees and vines and stuff are really pretty. Please make the signs disappear! I keep throwing my spear off screen trying to dismiss them.

Finn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Windows link is the same as the Web link and you haven't included the source code, which is stated in the rules you must do if you are entering the compo. Sorry to be an arse.

The game looks pretty, with very nice vine physics, but I think some of the effort that went into the vines should've gone into the polish. I can throw my spears through the floor and lose them and I can get stuck on the ceiling if I jump into it.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Very nice and solid entry! I loved the spear mechanic.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Cool game, but there are a lot of bugs, some times the player get stuck in the walls, when you go back in the room you don't appear in the place you had entry.

But overall, it is a nice entry with a surprising end.

joaovitorbf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:04pm

Nice game, but needs some bugfixing. Sometimes the player enters the wall xD

Good luck with your game ;)

xWarZonex says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:28pm

@Finn
I linked the source, I had been holding it off, cuz I always have problems with it (And I did).

The web and download are the same because I'm just place holding the web until I can get the web to work.

Moraleidahgo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:00am

Love the graphics and the overall feel of the game. Also very humourous. Could be a bit more polished programming wise. On my second run I coundn't die and had several collision bugs.

colludium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:03am

I got stuck in the cave! My spear fell through the ground to the bottom of the screen and I couldn't collect it.

Shouldn't have gone into the cave!! Good work!

Phil Strahl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:13am

Okay, this is totally subjective, but I personally didn't have much fun with the game because I never was sure whether something was a glitch or supposed to be that way. I killed an animal with what looked like a fence of 10 spears at once and clicked it until it was gone. When I went into the cave (first thing to do, of course!) I found there two spears but once they glitched to the floor after first use, I pretty much had to restart the game. Also, the survival mechanics don't seem to work for me, because no matter what the values said, I didn't experience anything different about the game.
The dangling vines in the scenery are real nice but I didn't find any use for them, but I am pretty sure I was missing something.
So once I made it into the cave and to some black hole spewing blocky heads at me, I was stuck pretty much. I managed to get a spear from each pile of oranges on either side but I couldn't use them after just one attempt because they were on the bottom of the screen. Also the music was kinda repetitive.

Again, this is just my personal opinion, and apparently i am the only one who had no fun playing the game. I respect that you put a lot of work into it, but I was just confused and annoyed by it. Also, I was missing any Unconventional Weapon, sorry.

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:28am

This was neat! I liked the bongo music, and throwing the spears was surprisingly fun! I made it all the way to the end and had fun the whole way.

Donni11 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:02pm

This is so cool !

jfraser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Funny signs, great idea, I enjoyed playing.

xWarZonex says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:00pm

@Phil
The glitches really hurt the game, I tried my hardest to fix as many as I could, But I ran out of time. The glitches are a major let down of the game, I agree. I spent too much time on trying to give the game a good appeal, that I didn't have time to fix the glitches, and I have learned to never to that again. The unconventional weapon is the spear, because in this age, that is not a normal weapon. I was planning on adding Meat weapons and scorpion swords, but I didn't have enough time.

I respect your opinion, and I sorta agree. The glitches are a massive let down, But try to remember, I had less than 48 hours to make this game.
Thankyou for your long and detailed review and thankyou for sharing your experience with the game. I've learned a lot of what to do and what not to do this LD.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Pretty cool! I really like the music; I know that's something you enjoy creating. The graphics fit the game's style nicely. The story is kind of creepy, as I'm sure it's supposed to be. There were a few glitches; you can stick to walls/ceiling, and somehow I didn't die when my health was -450%. The boss fight was fun, but it could have been a little bit more challenging. A pretty solid entry altogether. 3/5

allanolivei says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:42pm

The game was very interesting but the spears are entering in the walls.

Ershany says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Liked the game, it felt funny and that was perfect, however I kept losing my spear in the ground due to a bug :/ Graphic style was nice however!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:57pm

The idea is nice, but doesn't seem to fit too well with the theme. The graphics are messy, and the game has lots of tiny glitches. :/ I liked the music, though! :D

EwChap says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:55am

Love the feel of this. very solid foundation. Clean it up a bit and it will be a very interesting game.

PapyPilgrim says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:07am

crashed multiple time, threw away my spears while trying to do something else multiple time, muted the game because the footsteps were annoying.

drludos says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Nice Entry, I really enjoyed the song (I see that you are a dubstep producer, and it shows!). The game idea is nice (spear throwing), but the game suffers from several bugs (I finished the cave level with -50% of energy, I launched the spear through a zombie and it did'nt kill it, but then he walked on a spear on the floor and died instantly), although it didn't prevent me from actually having a lot of fun completing it - so congrats for your game.

P.S.: Next time, please think of non-QWERTY keyboard users: http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/04/24/why-z-is-a-bad-action-key/

merrak says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:01am

I thought it was fun. Music was good!

pythong says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:18pm

i got stuck in the air in the 3rd screen. also, dude, grammar o.o

ceosol says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:02am

I think it would have been lightyears better with a "hit" boolean. You could have had "when collided with enemy, If hit is false, set hit to true. After 0.5 seconds, set hit to false". That way it wouldn't be instant death whenever something touches you. Otherwise, it was neat what you attempted with the bushes and carcasses.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:09pm

Oppressive - like the music :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]