Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Messenger

by Mossy Frog - Compo Entry

A super short "platformer" focused on it's super short "narrative plot". Hopefully you understand what you need to do at the end. The platforming is super finicky and the collisions are hit and miss, so you may fall through the world if you hit certain corners just right.

Control the character with the arrow keys

Please leave as much criticism as you feel. This will be my last Ludum Dare using Flash as I am going to attempt to learn Unity by LD33. Hope you all enjoy :)

now sleep... so tired, so very tired.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#259Mood3.30
#348Audio3.08
#608Graphics2.96
#666Humor2.50
#816Theme3.00
#937Overall2.71
#1003Innovation2.30
#1011Fun2.29

Comments

ianburnette says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:35am

I see what you did there. Very clever.
I'd opt for a higher contrast between background and foreground elements, as it was a little difficult to tell what I was jumping on at a few points. Nicely done!

Mossy Frog says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:21am

I agree, the platforms don't pop out well enough particularly in the underground sections. I dont notice this kind of thing when I'm testing it again and again. Thanks for your feedback :)

Somnium says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:54am

I fell through the platforms a few times, and I also had issues with differentiating the platforms from the background (especially since I am sitting in a bright room). But I enjoyed the art style, as well as the ending :-)

Mossy Frog says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:07am

Thankyou :] yeh im sorry about the collisions they're really funny on corners.

Celt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Cool! Yeah, collision, colors, you know it. But i like the shortness and atmosphere you tried to put on the table.
You had a suprisingly similar idea for the "weapon" as i had with my entry ;)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:38pm

As you mentioned the platforming was a bit fidely.

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:28am

I didn't get the ending! I tried clicking everywhere... or did it just mean closing the tab? Cool little platformer though, I liked how it was just simple and atmospheric, not really worrying about enemies, just getting to your destination.

Pinpickle says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Definitely very finicky platforming, but the environment was nice looking enough, and the music sets the mood very well.

jk5000 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:20am

For me is the best part of this game, the backgrounds and the music. But I am missing some action.

cyand1317 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:57am

Well, since this has a super short story and thus isn't that innovative, the inaccurate platforms can be made a highlight...
Perhaps you can really think about this - a platformer game with inaccurate platforms display...

IDidGame says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:58am

i quite liked the atmosphere and the concept
imo the platforming didn't really serve the narration, maybe something like a runner would have worked better

pixzleone says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:51am

A bit short as you said, but great music. Keep it up!

rinat.kh says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Cool game. I liked graphics and animation of movement

NIGIC says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Super easy to get OOB. Unfortunately I didn't find much to do with it. Oh well.

Level design is a bit iffy. Simple platforming, but the irregular geometry and cramped spaces made some jumps harder than they ought to be (and created a whole lot of spaces where you could nudge yourself into the wall). At least it wasn't really punishing on that.

Soothing music. Good aesthetics. Controls are pretty solid. Good job!

(PS: And I notice just now that you've already noted on the clipping and stuff in the description. Silly me.)

crazya02 says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:34am

I didn't quite get the ending... was it closing the tab?

May 12, 2015 @ 12:54am

Wasn't quite sure how to win. i thought i was supposed to click but that didn't do anything. the platforms were a little inaccurate at times. great mood and cool graphics though.

CrefossusJam says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:55am

Needs more contrast for foreground elements. I liked the mood and music. The collision was sometimes difficult. I didn't get lost which was nice.

Borkleby says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 1:02am

This story is somehow... very profound. I really felt something when the main character walked in front of the two armies, dressed all alike... profound. Not sure if the "higher being" is supposed to do anything or not... hopefully so. The background was really really beautiful in my opinion. My favorite part about the game, actually, are the physics of the main character. He falls super slowly! He walks with uncrooked knees! He can jump a hundred times per second!

igoramendola says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 4:08am

Nice! I like short games like this which try to pass some kind of positive message :D

I read that you will use Unity3D on the next LD. It's a great program and worth to try. However, if you still like Flash and want to keep working with it, check the Citrus Engine: http://citrusengine.com ^^

Btw, although I'm commenting now, I was able to vote in time :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]