Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Bits and Pieces

by tigerbyte - Compo Entry

**NEW!** HTML 5 Entry!
Movement is much smoother in the HTML5 version.

My 3rd Ludum Dare and possibly my best polished yet. This one even has AUDIO!

A dual stick shooter with an unconventional weapon. Right click on junk to pick it up, left click to shoot the junk, or melee if you don't have any junk. Every time you shoot junk, your gravity gun heats up. If you let it heat up or you run out of HP, game over!

WASD - Move
Right click - Pick up junk.
Left click - Shoot currently held junk, melee if no junk held.

Tools:
GameMakerStudio
Photoshop CS2
AudioTool.com
SFXR

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#360Fun3.29
#484Mood3.00
#537Theme3.36
#543Humor2.72
#556Innovation3.10
#629Overall3.09
#741Graphics2.73
#1811Coolness36%

Comments

dvdfu says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:12am

Surprisingly very fun! And catchy beats, too. Movement was just a little weird (I think I stopped moving a couple times). Great job!

bentglasstube says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:20am

The controls are a bit sketchy (you have to let go of all keys to stop moving diagonally) but once I got used to that it was fun. Needs more junk to spawn or something and the melee didn't seem to work. A fun concept that could be interesting with some more variance.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:24am

Seems frantic.

Only real issues I had were the tiles causing weird strobing while the camera scrolled, and that the controls would get "stuck" if you moved from UP+LEFT to UP or LEFT (or any other combination)

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:25am

AUDIO!!! Congrats on being able to make some beats, it always adds a lot to a game. Cool idea, its fun beat up enemies with the corpses of their clones.

A few comments:
- Player movement is a bit buggy
- Sometimes the 'pick-up' sound would play but nothing would be picked up
- It would have been nice to have a visual cue indicating whether it was possible to pick up a piece of junk (maybe a radius that would flash around the player on click? Or junk could glow/shake a little when it's in range)
- I don't think pick-up and shoot need to be separate buttons... unless you were able to pick up MULTIPLE JUNKS and shoot them all in some sort of powershot! That would have been cool :D

Smirnov48 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:25am

Interesting game. Need time to understand how currently pick up junk. But really cool when you start killing them in the back.
Sometimes appears strange black hole on the floor.

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:35am

A great time! The controls can have some strangeness, but overall I had a really great time.

MoogleSensei says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:35am

The controls were definitely a bit glitchy. I also found a sadly lacking supply of non-enemy junk after the initial few boxes. But other than that it was a very well put together game. You did a good job on the music and sound too, every game tastes that much better with audio!

tigerbyte says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:52am

@BoxedMeatRevolution - Pickup and shoot are separated because left click is melee if you have nothing to shoot. I wanted to give players something to defend themselves with while they disperse heat from the gun.

@MoogleSensei - The lack of non-enemy junk was simply a time thing :(. Also the lack of power-ups, which I imagine the crates might have.

---
I did notice the buggy movement. That is actually why there's no HTML 5 port; as soon as I port to html 5, movement breaks completely.

tigerbyte says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:55am

@Smirnov48 - The holes in the floor are additional enemy spawners! :)

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:00am

Very cool. The concept was simple but good. Gameplay was fun, however, I think I could have used some visual feedback on when I was close enough to junk to pick it up. Nice work!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:04am

Alright, I suppose. I had a hard time telling the enemies apart from the junk I was supposed to pick up. Very cool music.

Shugor says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:05am

Using the parts of enemies you kill to kill more enemies seems like a repetitive idea, but it's done pretty well here. It's nice how you're forced to keep track of all of the parts the defeated enemies drop, so they don't all disappear and leave you out of ammo. It's very nicely balanced, although the heat meter doesn't seem to deplete fast enough to have much of a purpose. Well done~

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:21am

Thumbs up! Great mechanics, great audio. The gameplay is a little bit glitchy here and there, but nothing that made me stop playing.

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:32am

The controls threw me off, but the gravity gun mechanics make up for it. Half-life is great

thaaks says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Controls were complicated. Picking up junk wasn't so obvious. Music was good. Graphics were okay, a bit more colors would have been nice (too gray).
Did'nt have enough junk cause hitting a robot didn't always break one to create more junk.
I like the idea though and I think you can easily improve this game a lot!

goblin says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Interesting idea to use in some way the enemy as weapon. But at some point I couldnt pick up more junk from the floor
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

tigerbyte says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:56am

@goblin -- Couldn't pick up more junk because there wasn't any? Or did the gun break?

When you run out of junk (none on the floor) - left click to melee!!

GBGames says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:44am

Hmm, it runs very slowly in HTML5 in Firefox on my Ubuntu system, but I see it runs quite fast in Chromium. I love the fast pace, and I love how you can attack the enemies both by shooting the junk and by picking up the junk if the enemies are between you, allowing you to rack up some quick combos if you have a huge trail of enemies chasing you.
Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]