Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Maggie

by Bergara - Jam Entry

================
Game Description
================

The main character is named Maggie and the game is titled after her. She possesses a weapon called the Portable Remote High Power Self Sustaining Electro Magnetic Fields Generator. Or, as she likes to call it, the Horseshoe. It is capable of creating self sustaining magnetic fields, within a range, that will attract any close metals.


========
Controls
========

A, D - move
W - jump
Mouse click - create a magnetic point
Mouse hold - move magnetic point around


=====
Notes
=====
My weekend was quite busy so I didn't get a lot of time to work on it, but I managed to get the core mechanics working and make a test level. Unfortunately, there was no enough time for me to put any audio in the game.

As of now, only the stand alone windows version seems to be working properly. The webplayer build has some odd gamebreaking glitch, breaking the core mechanic, and the WebGL version is not loading, at least not in my computer.
I'll fix the web build glitch as soons as possible. Thanks!

The game embeded in this page is the Post LD version. To see what changed and/or play the LD version, see below.

=======
Updates
=======

These are the updates in the Post LD versions:
- Bug fixes;
- Added music;
- Added SFX;
- Improved the physics a little;
- Bats are now killable (gotta hit'em hard!)

The core mechanics hasn't changed with the updates, and I didn't add anything big, just the audio but it's not rateable anyway, so it should be okay to play the post ld version. I'll still keep the pre LD version just in case.

=====
Tools
=====
- Unity 5
- Paint.Net


=======
Credits
=======
Game Design and Programmin by Victor Bergara;
Image assets by Kenney "Asset Jesus";

A game by Victor Bergara.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#174Innovation(Jam)3.66
#362Fun(Jam)3.26
#435Theme(Jam)3.46
#457Overall(Jam)3.30
#575Mood(Jam)2.98

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:15am

Man it's so simple but really addictive! Good job!

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:59am

Great game play idea. The controls were a little touchy and it would have been nice to stay on platforms when they are moved by magnets, but fun nonetheless. Nice job!

infernalad says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:16am

Great concept! Really enjoyed it! :)

bace1000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:31pm

The physics were odd in places, but very fun to play! Well done :D

Bergara says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Thanks for the feedback, guys!

@MobsterSquirrel Thanks!

@LandoSystems I let inertia take you off the platform, because if it didn't than the player would be able to just surf it to the end of the level, wich also sounded like fun, so I had planned to add a level just for that, but time was not enough

@infernalad Thanks you very much.

@bace1000 The physics are something that I definitely wanted to work more on, as it can get really odd, specially when the player is involved with the steel beams. But thanks!

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:57am

Nice job, especially cause you said you didn't have much time! Now we want more levels, and music, and sound fx! :D

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:32am

Such as simple yet effective mechanic, great job. I kept trying to abuse it by collecting up a ton of platforms, but I usually ended up knocking myself into a hole doing so and was forced to do things the proper way. Great job!

volkoivan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:19am

niiice!
The thing that you need to restart from the beginning is frustrating, but the idea is nice and fun to play!
I give you 5/5 for that!

Orava says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:25am

I loved going full Magneto and just holding LMB to gather everything around me, then flying around.

morazor says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:28am

Cool concept and take on the theme, good job!
Moreover, I like to slam enemies in the face with tons of metal :D

edve98 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:17pm

You are using unity. Why wouldn't you port it to Linux? (And Mac probs, lol)

Taldius says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:00pm

This game is really funny, I love the randomness that the magnets create, but it makes also the game pretty hard.
Anyway, well done.

SamH says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:16pm

Very nicely done, but also a bit frustrating; on multiple occasions I miscalculated my jump timing and had to restart from the beginning. Maybe add checkpoints? Or maybe there are checkpoints later in the game but I didn’t reach them?

The WebGL version lets me play on Linux, thanks for providing it.

gruhn says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Excellent mechanical! The game is very interesting and has good visual feedback

seankimdesign says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Is the HTML game embedded on this page the submission version or post-comp version?

Bergara says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:52pm

@seankimdesign Forgot to mention that! It's the Post LD version.

jacketsj says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:57pm

After rigorous attemps, I managed to beat the game in about 30 seconds.

Bergara says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:08am

@jacketsj It gets easier the more you play. There's also a lot of room for hacking, like piling up a whole lot of bars and trying to surf them to the end. It just takes some luck ;)

Plustech says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:46am

I wish there was less bounce when you move the brown steal beam, was really hard to get over that in the first hazard and I don't see how that is helping further on, looks cool but I think it could be tweaked to have less impact on the gameplay. I like the idea but the controls were a little funky as well as the physics. Try to concentrate on the controls, a good character control could make this game jump to the moon.
Cheers mate, nice entry.

Bergara says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:32am

@Plustech Thanks for the feedback! In fact, I am not satisfied with the feels of the controls yet, I still have a lot of tweaks to do to try to get the right feel to it.
As for the brown beam, you can position it first and only then jump onto it. You can put it against a wall to stabilize it, or try to make a quick swipe while on it, there are many ways to do it, and my fault was that I didn't properly introduce them to the player. I'll expand the level and give more detailed instructions.

jprogman says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:18pm

I was able to ride on a metal platform and move the magnetism across the level. Not really an exploit, but allowed me to get pass the level PDQ. :) The jumping is sort of unresponsive, but that is all what I'm concerned. Love the bat dying sound, heh.

Fabraz says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Art is basic, sound is basic but damn if the core mechanic isn't genius!

Continue with this but make sure to focus on the thematics, make it pretty! In terms of mechanics, I'd adjust the values so that beams come to a halt faster! They're a little too jittery too long.

panurge says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Great mechanic! I would personally have liked more frequent checkpoints but this was a lot of fun in every regard.

MiniBobbo says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 12:01am

Not much to add that hasn't already been said. The game and concept were neat. I really liked pulling things all over with the magnets. It felt rather random though.

Also, some feedback with things like the bats getting you would be nice.

Good job! The post compo is well on its way to a really neat game!

jcsirron says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 12:44am

I really enjoyed the concept of using girders to get where I needed to go! AND THANK YOU! You gave us a Unity game that quits gracefully!

SledKnight says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 1:30am

Nice little game!

jk5000 says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 7:18am

The concept is quite good. The game is fun. Perhaps a bit short, but that's ok. well done.

Zeriver says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Hah, we made kinda similar games :D
Really nice idea and execution.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]