Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

TOIL

by Luthwyhn - Compo Entry

In TOIL you wake up each morning, eat breakfast, and then rush off to your tedious factory job. After toiling the day away you return home for dinner and a restless night of sleep. Over and over again. Forever.

The weapon is the wage labor system, and as a member of the working class you are not its wielder, but its target. What can you do to stop it?

Keep going. Build those things. Make your money. Keep living. Or don't... it's not like the boss cares.

-------

CONTROLS:

Hold Left Arrow: Raise left arm.
Release Left Arrow: Lower left arm.

Hold Right Arrow: Raise right arm.
Release Right Arrow: Lower right arm.

Some tasks require you to hover your hand in a certain location for a set amount of time for them to happen - for example, to eat your food you must hold it in front of your mouth for a couple of seconds.

-------

Full disclosure - there is no way to 'win' this game in its current state - it's simply a depressing, Groundhog Day-esque ever-repeating life of hell.

My full intent was to add co-workers and bosses who talk to you as you work and allow for events to eventually occur in which you can use your limited power to become involved in things such as the labor movement, other jobs, fights, protests, etc. Alas, not in 48 hours.
...
Enjoy? :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#395Innovation3.33
#484Mood3.00
#597Humor2.63
#867Theme2.90
#997Overall2.61
#1022Fun2.26
#1053Graphics1.97

Comments

Tijn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:43pm

It's a bit dark take on the theme, but I like it :)

bazld says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:23am

You definitely have something going here - a kind of QWOP life simulator! An extended version could be really great.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:47am

now I'm depressed, need beer and bacon :p

alex31016 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Good idea but I didn't like the controls

eastes says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:54am

Possibly the most unconventional weapon I've seen. 5 stars for innovation too.

iceburg7 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:06am

Bravo. I'm horrified by how good I got at this game. It's all the better for the fact that it actually does require a level of skill to master, which makes me want to keep playing into this horrible wage labor system. Great work.

Foofanoo42 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:07am

I think you've answered your own question. To make your wage-slave hell life interesting, just contract a rare form of muscular dystrophy that makes holding your arm still in front of you an exciting daily challenge. This was suprisingly fun

dyfer says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:58pm

the idea is fun but it's very slow and the control is too hard

May 5, 2015 @ 11:41am

Very interesting! The fun catagory mightn't be necessary for this game, but I feel it does well elsewhere (apart from graphics). Good work with this!

May 6, 2015 @ 11:26am

Nice balance with the controls - felt difficult enough to do simple things

KaiseanGames says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Why did you make a game about my life? :p

lizard455 says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Really cool! I would love to see this continued.

k0j0 says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Interesting idea and mechanic. Yeah, it's kind of like Everyday the Same Dream meets QWOP (kind of). I liked it.

Borkleby says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:00am

This was a strangely great idea, but just not done well enough. It took me a while to realize that I could actually do something with my arms because the frame rate was so low. It's the little things, really.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]