Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Gluebie

by slowfrog - Compo Entry

You are trying to escape the evil robots. The only weapons you have are
- glue: to immobilize your enemies
- plastic bags: to blind them and make them go away from you

* Keys
- arrows to move or throw glue or bags
- G to switch to 'throw glue' mode (yellow arrows) if you have glue
- B to switch to 'throw bag' mode (blue arrows) if you have bags
- M to return to 'move' mode (grey arrows)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#464Theme3.45
#637Humor2.57
#653Audio2.44
#695Innovation2.89
#818Mood2.60
#873Fun2.63
#927Overall2.73
#1018Graphics2.15

Comments

slowfrog says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:16pm

This is my own entry. I don't really understand why it shows up in my dashboard of games to review :)

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Well as far as I could tell I only needed to throw things on the first level, and on the others I could just outrun everything.

Armanky says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:23pm

The mechanics are actually pretty satisfying to use, but the AI is simple enough that you can easily manipulate the robots' actions. This could probably be expanded into a decent puzzle game if you place your items and robots strategically.

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:57am

Lovely,, simple but lovely

ocarson says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:58am

Cool little puzzle game.

Beege says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:32pm

I found the first level more challenging than the second, I like the fact it plays like a classic dungeon crawler.

mantisda says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Fun game! I really enjoyed the turn by turn element of the movement. I couldn't get the game to recognize any inputs on Safari, but it worked fine in Chrome.

Ossi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:03pm

That was a nice game. I really like the unconventional weapons you chose and it fit really well with the dungeon crawling style of gameplay. Well done!

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:00am

This is a nice little idea and could develop into a cool puzzle dungeon crawler.

rzfmzn says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:23pm

I did the same mistake in my game: placed a important command in a bad button (alt). when I press alt, the game tries to get to the browser menu and I get stuck :(

Seems a good puzzle tho :D

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Cool, and odd, idea to have bags and glue as a weapon. I was not a fan of changing the controls constantly between moving and the bag types. I was a fan of the strategic/puzzle elements to the level design.

slowfrog says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:00pm

The mechanics are there, but I agree that the levels are not. I finished everything at 1:30AM, which was 90 minutes before the deadline and was too tired to come up with good puzzles. I might do it later on.

I actually guessed we would have the "Companion" theme, so when the Unconventional Weapon theme appeared, I resorted to what was visible on my breakfast table: a stick of glue, some plastic bag...

The controls are not what I would have liked them to be, honestly. I wished to make the collected items clickable (to change mode) and the colored arrows as well. This would have made the game playable in a mobile browser, without keyboard. But the compo is only 48h long, you know how it goes.

Smiley says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:45pm

I liked the turn based feeling

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Simple and cool, i liked! ^^ Good Job

f7f5 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Good idea for the mechanics. My only complain is that it's too short, and that you can ignore most of the labyrinths and enemies and just run to the exit. Could make a fun mobile game if developed and polished.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:59pm

I found it a bit easy, but I think once you have time to work on the puzzles, there will definitely be something to it. I liked how you had different mechanisms to have the enemies react differently. Overall it's a nice game.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Solid game in terms of mechanics... would be good to play this with better levels (or make the robots continue following you if you turn a corner). I only had to use items on the first level and mostly just ran through on the others.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Great turn based game - good job!

ajopart says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:25pm

I like those turn-based games. But you can easily outrun the robots. Well done in 48h !

jacobturn says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:56pm

i tought it was funny

Langouste says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Super game! I love it, thanks ;)

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:57pm

I just walked right through all levels but the first one, it had a good fit with the theme though.

ProgramGamer says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Nice idea, but the execution is too simplistic to make for a really satisfying game. If you expand on these mechanics in the future however, it does have potential.

Yazara says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Really good mechanics, a lot of fun to play :)

local minimum says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Nice little game, the level design could do with some tweaking to make it more puzzly. Or if the enemies remembered seeing the player for some turns after player left sight. That would also make it more challenging. I was about to complain about that GB and M were an odd set of keys, but I never used M so it kind of worked. I see that it was nice with the letters relating to the things they invoked, but I still would switch M for space at least. The music was nice and I liked the glue a lot. Fun game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]