Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Rubiks Ruckus

by kitcar2000 - Compo Entry

You must find your way through the levels by presenting all of the enemies with a rubiks cube to defeat them and then go through the door.

Control with WASD to move left/right, jump and show the rubiks cube.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#608Theme3.28
#656Humor2.53
#804Innovation2.72
#944Fun2.50
#1016Mood1.94
#1045Graphics2.00
#1064Overall2.47
#2341Coolness14%

Comments

Tijn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Maybe not the greatest platformer in the world, but I thought it was pretty fun to "bamboozle" your enemies by becoming a Rubics Cube. had a good laugh :)

madflame991 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:07pm

This was really an unconventional weapon! (I'm looking at my Rubik's cube right now)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Harsh lava on level C!

Elit3dGaming says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:29am

Pretty neat game. I sucked at it couldn't get past C but the Rubik's cube was a fun idea

OadT says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Funny idea, maybe a short story explaining it would be nice :D

morokiane says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Like it, but that level C lava. Wouldn't mind if the game started over on the level the player died on.

Alpenter says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Very simple and creative take on the theme. It would have been great if you could control the character while jumping. Other than that, it's a very solid game! (Also very difficult!)

pixzleone says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 10:29am

Nice weapon, third level almost unbeatable and i like it!

Chaoseed says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Well, it's certainly unconventional! As for the game itself, the platformer engine seems a little shaky. Also, it's annoying that the insta-kill fires send you all the way back to the beginning of the game. I think you overestimate how skilled people will be at navigating those jumps!

HotBoxGames says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Nice entry, would have been nice if the player didn't freeze in mid air when turning into the rubiks cube, made it quite hard on some bits. Good effort though, was fun to play!

May 10, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Well, that definitely was an unconventional weapon!

Tselmek says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:27pm

The mechanics are nice yet a bit clunky. The permanent death is quite unforgiving considering the floaty controls, especially the lava's collision box in the 3rd level, which I couldn't pass. May need a little effort in level design and logically a checkpoint. Controlling the Rubik's Cube might feel very satisfying if it was possible. Great entry nonetheless!

sorlok says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 1:52am

Now that's a cool idea! The controls are really tricky though, and the mechanic is tough to use right. Once I got the hang of it I did ok. :D Wish there were checkpoints.

May 11, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Wasn't to sure on the movement and how it felt, but i loved turning into a rubix cube great use of theme in my opinion haha

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]