Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Valo/Varjo

by Windmill Games - Compo Entry

Valo/Varjo is a moody puzzle game where you control a being of light. You have an uncoventional weapon in the form of a sphere of light that you manipulate in order to kill enemies and solve puzzle.

Made with the awesome framework Löve, https://love2d.org/

Twitter: @WindmillGames
Website: http://windmill-games.net/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#34Mood3.96
#51Innovation4.03
#85Overall3.83
#113Audio3.61
#116Graphics3.97
#230Theme3.75
#232Fun3.48
#899Humor1.95

Comments

SiENcE says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Cool idea! Nice use of shaders btw.

masterboth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Awesome game, I liked the innovating mechanic and the atmosphere that is built, also nice use of piano sound to make music, it adds a mysterious vibe. I hope it get's more attencion, they are missing out.

S0lll0s says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:49am

Very interesting mechanic, but I think it needs some more limitation or it get's too easy (just run around killig anything with the invincible light-weapon, you don't even need to throw it).
The music builds a nice atmosphere but the game would profit from enemy sounds etc.

thecord says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Cool! the mechanics and the athmosphere are very interesting

Drauthius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Extremely nice game with a nice aesthetic (both graphics and audio). Good job!

diiq says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:24pm

This is delightful. This is the first game I've seen that I'll come back to after I've voted.

The music got a little planky for me, but I loved the duDuh of picking up a triangle.

I liked the mechanic of moving the weapon when you yourself were pinned.

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Great concept and well executed. Really enjoyed this one.

Slikker says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Really enjoyed plying it well done!

maunovaha says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:13am

I enjoyed! And it fits the theme nicely. :)

phi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:35am

Both the graphics and the responsive audio are very appealing, but the gameplay alone is enough to keep me playing for a while! It's simple and nicely explained, but allows for some challenging maneuvers. It's a little hard to control at the beginning, but once you start to master the mechanics, it's a lot of fun. I love the hidden corridors! Awesome work!
I think I found a bug where you can push your weapon through a movable object by pushing it against it (which allowed my stupidity to get me stuck at one point: http://i.imgur.com/3sExpP6.png), but otherwise, the whole game is very stable and playable. :)

Reccy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:47pm

The game's mood is perfect! There's a great sense of anxiety when the light hits off of objects to create that off-tune noise. That said, although the concept was cool and the game plays really well, I gave up after the red level simply because I felt the game got too easy.

jojocanard says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:38pm

I don't understand how to move the barriers. I got stuck in the 1st level because I had pushed it to the left instead of the right and the same thing happened to me in the 2nd level
But great work. Awesome mood and interesting mechanic.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Very well done. I would have thought this was a jam entry. The game is audio-visually pleasant, not too long, but long enough, doesn't get frustrating, is easy to learn. Excellent work.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:44pm

I really like the lighting effect!

Solid mechanics, and good puzzles. Great job!

zell2002 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:29pm

really enjoyed the mechanics !
im a big fan of puzzlers too, and this fits quite nicely with the theme ! loving the shader stuff :D
and the music is a nice touch

nassi says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:51pm

What an useful companion/weapon <3. The length was really good as was the content and overall execution. Didn't really need to throw the ball around though, since carrying it got rid of the enemies too (like a chainsaw!).

Got stuck in level 2, because I went for the end first and the enemy pushed the block back into its original place while I was there :P.

Expected there to be secrets in those walls, they would've fit the style and feel of the game very well, but even as it is its a splendid compo game.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:40am

Nice mood and liked the simple minimalist graphics, think they worked well. Did have issues at times navigating the controls, with my character seeming to move a bit sporadic.

DeltaF1 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:53am

Wow. The atmosphere in this game is incredible, easily one of the best this LD, and that's including Joe Williamson's entry :P The graphics and audio all combined together to augment the mood, and the off-kilter piano sounds everytime your companion hit a wall was perfect. The level design was a little confusing, and I ran into an issue on the last level where an enemy would spawn inside of me every time I spawned, but these are minor complaints. Well done. An excellent game, and an excellent use of LOVE :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]