Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

iRevolution

by Suvidriel - Jam Entry

Take over the city using your brand new iRevolution-phone. Indoctrinate people to gain more influence and soldiers to use as meat walls.

This game was made for the Ludum Dare 32 jam.

---

INSTRUCTIONS

- Click and drag mouse cursor around to move the camera
- Click the apps on the iRevolution-phone to perform actions
- Indoctrinate people to gain more influence
- Indoctrinated pawns work as human shields
- Inspiring your pawns can make a huge difference

---

This was my second time participating in Ludum Dare. Also the first time doing the jam since my brother also wanted to participate this time.

The game was done using Unity, PixiTracker for musics, bfxr for sounds and my brother did the graphics.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#102Innovation(Jam)3.81
#187Theme(Jam)3.81
#299Mood(Jam)3.38
#450Graphics(Jam)3.42
#480Audio(Jam)2.85
#484Overall(Jam)3.26
#706Fun(Jam)2.77
#748Humor(Jam)2.39

Comments

jordyadan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Really like the concept, very well implemented.

jojocanard says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Great concept, great mood !

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Very interesting take on "Tower Defense", not actually defending a tower but a moving mob of supporters instead. I really liked it.

Multiplexor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:10pm

Very cool art,music. The gamestyle fits all together, but i wasn't able to get very far, everytime i convert someone they run into someone else and die, and I'm unable to gather enough influence to do the 4 last habilities

ito123456789 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:11pm

The best one I played until now. Very well executed and great take on the theme.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Unique take on the theme and the colour theme worked really well with the concept.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:50pm

The color pallete rules, really well executed.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:08pm

interesting! Was confused about the camera function at first but cool idea!

MrDave says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:22pm

A very sinister feeling game with the music and style.

sentendo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:39am

like the concept! :)

JALgames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:11am

Very nice idea... I had some problems gettings tarted, but after that, I really liked the game.

j_peeba says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:13am

Aw, got executed brutally by the tank. :(

It's a neat idea and the presentation is very stylish. The gameplay had great promise but it was a little fiddly in practice though: converting people felt a little bit too difficult and random at times so it felt that you didn't have many options - just press convert when someone's in your close range and use the other abilities once they become available.

HellBlazer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:17am

Nice concept and atmosphere. Good execution for a game jam; I would be interested in seeing this idea pushed further in a more complex game.

leafo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:26am

Great mood. I like the idea.

ChaosCult says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:16pm

Nice idea, but it plays so sloooow. I think a bit more frantic indoctrination might be better.

alpha_rat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:18pm

I like the idea but the gameplay is veeeeeery slow (and kind of boring)
Also, it's difficult to endoctrinate people because as soon as someone enters the "sphere of influence" and there is alredy some people in it, it destroys supporters without being converted, so the number of converted people always stays very low

DKoding says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:15pm

I feel stupid, I did not understand how to play. And it's my loss because I feel there is a cool game in there somewhere - complete with social commentary. :-)

maunovaha says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:09am

Nicely done.. I especially love the cool red/black coloring

Luke Magitem says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:15am

I like the concept! The graphics and sound are great too! It may be a bit slow, through?

nutcrack says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:17am

Nice idea, like an reverse td
I really like the graphics!

SySaNiN says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:44am

Very nice game!

DarkwindMedia says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:21pm

very solid concept and good game art, but I feel the pace of the gameplay is too slow for me

MasterOfNaN says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Lovely concept (we toyed with something along those lines, but couldn't come up with anything as good!) and lovely whole vibe to it.
Only complaint would be that it feels slow - I'd like to be able to work harder to help my cause.
Fits the theme brilliantly, and you can infer all sorts of political/social metaphors from just about every aspect of the game - really good stuff.

PixelStuff says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:23pm

interessing concept but very, very slow

Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Love this stye of game, love the idea, love the graphics, the music the feels. Brah, I love you.

Gameplay could do with a little more balancing, but I could see a full game in this.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Seems a bit hard but great concept with solid graphic style.

Langouste says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Super game! I love it, thanks ;)

Cambrian_Man says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 2:49am

Cool, I liked the concept; I'm a fan of 'reverse the gameplay' concepts. I had a hard time at first since I kept recruiting people too close to the edge of my influence, meaning that they'd always fight any potential recruits before they could be recruited. But I did eventually win!

Serena says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 1:07am

This one's very different from what I expected from the name, a very dark take on a revolution that's for sure (as a leader of a revolution, you are indoctrinating people to use as human shields!) The music and graphics give it a very dark, nihilistic mood.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]