Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Cupid's arrows

by OadT - Compo Entry

You are a criminal in control of Cupid's arrows. Use them to distract the guards.

Controls: Use WASD or arrow-keys to move | Use mouse to select guards

I highly recommend playing in a recent version of Chrome, Firefox or Opera. Loading may take some seconds.

I hope you like it :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#66Theme4.07
#191Humor3.46
#218Innovation3.63
#242Fun3.46
#251Overall3.52
#384Graphics3.33
#493Audio2.81
#612Mood2.86

Comments

Humanoid says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Really nice idea, especially the new mechanic from the last stage. It looks nice and explains itself pretty well. And what isn't explained isn't explained for more fun experimenting with love arrows.

minnouu says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 9:46pm

I really liked this... after that mechanic on the last stage I think that this could really go somewhere. Too bad it wasn't a bit longer.

XeroCake says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 10:40pm

This was really fun and I love the pixel art. The concept is quite imaginative, and the mechanics are interesting.

Vulkanmannen says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 11:18pm

I felt frustrated when i played. Sometimes when i shot the guys i think they walked illogical and it feels weird that i have to walk to start the game when I want to start with shooting tha guys.

Mantlair says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:37am

Nice idea nice mechanics! Nice guards. They keep watching while "making love"!

koredozo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:08am

Darn, and I thought my idea was original!

Your take on it is completely different though and quite fun. This concept has a lot of potential if you decide to make the game longer.

ForSpareParts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:15am

It was actually the *second to last* stage that grabbed me the most. Super clever spin on the mechanic.

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:36am

Took me a minute to figure out, but when I did it was great. I very good concept. Would have liked to see more puzzles. Great work.

nightlord says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:39am

very nice idea. i also thought about love as an unconventional weapon on Friday but went in a different direction. i like the graphics. one issue i had was telling when they can or cannot see me.

From Smiling says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:42am

Great novel use of unconventional weapon! Without being too literal, which is great! I felt Some of the colouring / visuals of the of the level design was a bit noisy!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:04pm

I can't do anything but to rate this very high.

micahcowan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Nice game! Simple, but good fun.

Might want to check out "Love Hurts", another web game with a similar theme:

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=12006

Xgor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Love the idea and i wish that it could been used in even more crazy ways. Like creating a love triangle.

pythong says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:04pm

i wonder how many ppl fell for the last level :v

fserb says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Nice idea. :)

Vytheros says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Got a lot of fun out of the level with 3 guards by makign two hug the other. The weapon isn't really conventional as they are just arrows, which are commonly used in other games and media. The pixel style is pretty cool and the animations feel really bloopy (?) and fun to watch.

OrkyOrks says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Love the design and mechanics. Love the sound when you successfully bring the two people together lol. Great entry!

ruthiepee says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:06pm

I like the way you explain the gameplay in the game-- I feel like that's something a lot of people leave out. The gameplay is immediately clear since you did that. It's quite fun too! The splash screen and game over screen are really stylish and you game has a really nice color palette.

jojocanard says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Great mechanic, nice interpretation of the theme both literally and as a mechanic. And funny ending ! Make the line of sight visible and it will be awesome.

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:57am

This is the kind of stuff I love seeing at LudumDare! Great job.

sebasRez says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:33pm

This made me laugh. I liked the mechanics to this and I thought a good back story if he is the ultimate thief that stole cupids bow for nefarious purposes is great.

ploy says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Gameplay is excellent, but shooting Lesbians is much more enjoyable than helping gays :|

goblin says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:59pm

Fun game, nice art and concept. Good job!
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

lvoursl says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:03pm

amazing game:)
I have a lot of fun, thank you:)

Javabot says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:07am

I hope level 3 rots in an unused directory! 10/10 Very funny.

Langouste says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Super game! I love it, thanks ;)

philipp says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 9:42am

Love the idea (haha) and how you setup the puzzles. Needed a little bit to grasp the vision of the guards. Really would have liked to see more content :]

May 2, 2015 @ 9:52am

I did really like this! The game was a little short, but the idea was definitely there, and the last level was a wonderful mix of creative thinking and humour.

Good use of the theme!

PlasmaErnst says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 11:52am

Haha! Great, enjoyed it very much. Some more levels/situations would have been super. Sweet graphics. Very cool!

TeamFlare says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 12:00pm

Really nice idea, and execution. :)
(Funny , I played a similliar game here, but instead of making people love each other, you made them hate each other ;) It was a platformer though, but similliar mechanics)

May 8, 2015 @ 2:08am

really creative game mechanic. I would love to see this expanded with more complex levels and AI

Andy Gainey says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 4:21am

Very clever. Add a few supplements to this core mechanic, and I bet you could come up with an endless collection of interesting puzzles.

The loss condition felt like it happened rather abruptly, but upon reflection, I think it was just the fact that the game play screen was replaced by the "They caught you" screen. I think somewhere in my brain, I wanted to continue to observe the map and where I and the guards were when I got caught, and I was mildly surprised and frustrated when I couldn't. But that's just a minor UI polish sort of thing.

jk5000 says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 11:19am

Well done. The game length is fine, for ludum dare.

Druid says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Wow! Really cool entry! I love that game mechanics!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]