Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The War Dog

by Xinelu - Jam Entry

So, what weapon could be more unconventional than a Dog? Choose carefully your steps trough the war field!

If the entry go well on the Jam i thinking in make a full game =)

Anyway, please enjoy it!



Update ? 1 : Some people are having a problem with the audio!, im working on it so please, be patiente!


Follow me on Twitter, to let me know more about who wants a full game!
https://twitter.com/RobertoRomao

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#120Mood(Jam)3.71
#232Audio(Jam)3.38
#391Theme(Jam)3.53
#665Overall(Jam)3.05
#673Innovation(Jam)2.82
#825Graphics(Jam)2.58
#922Fun(Jam)2.41
#924Humor(Jam)1.70

Comments

crewderek says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:47am

Man, that is deep. Not going to lie here. Gameplay overall not great, but the idea behind it was solid.

handkor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:48am

The music is very sad and fitting. Good job.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:48am

Really lovely audio. Good text too, I actually cared for the dog! Wished it was longer, and that there was more room to play around.

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:49am

I read an article about this military practice durin WWII (not sure if it was geniune). The game could be a bit more polished, but I had great time playing it :)

doitle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:51am

This has a really unique control / movement scheme to it that I really like. The dog has momentum so pressing left or right just tends left or right rather than abruptly changing direction. Since most of the game is spent dodging mines that have pixel perfect collision, this control scheme almost lets you flow around them. I think it feels really good and slick. Also this fits the theme well and is a nice little complete nugget of game. There's not much to it but it's all pretty well done and you can leave satisfied having seen all there is to it.

Wow says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:53am

Very interesting and creative take on the theme, while also fitting perfectly. Navigating the mines was challenging, and I liked the song. The graphics felt a little bit too bright for the theme in my opinion, but that was about it.

Chadivision says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:56am

The music was great. I also really liked the feel of the controls, how it had some acceleration to it and some rotation, not just immediately flipping between left/right up/down.

I was kind of hoping that once I got into the tank I could start blasting stuff but...wait. Maybe I should have paid more attention to the moral lesson. :)

omaha says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:12am

The music and concept are beautiful.

Fanttum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:12am

I remember reading about this kind of warfare used in Russia during WWII. Some great history here, and a touching story. A bit short.

JohnGalt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:14am

Story is so great.

TheBigShot says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:17am

Short and sweet. But damn thats so sad. WOrks really well with the theme.A dog certainly is unconventional. I lik ethat there is multiple endings. Realy shows how much effort you put it. Great work!

fserb says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:24am

I enjoyed the two different set of clues on the map. :)

Birke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:25am

I liked the idea but I think it is a shame you told what was the good and bad ending. Could have been even more deep if you actually gave some reasons for choosing either of the options such as texts that hinted to loyalty for example. Music fitted the game really well though.

ForSpareParts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:28am

Great fit thematically. There's a lot of room to move around in the game as it stands -- it would be really cool to add more stuff to find (even if it was just text, I'd love to feel like the game was rewarding me for exploring.

bpvelloso says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:30am

Man, that just sad, very sad! Great production, ruin my night. Kill dogs is just wrong! Bad Developer! Bad Developer!

Havacore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:42am

I like the audio, I thought that was just a tutorial and sad to see it end so soon.

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:42am

I would like to have seen a couple more levels, but what was there was good. I liked the music, but it seemed like my browser was having some trouble playing it smoothly. Good use of theme.

shyupuff says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:45am

Awesome music. Awesome idea. Very fitting to this theme as well. Amazing job.

crazya02 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:45am

It felt like it was trying too hard to be "clever". The two endings were indistinguishable aside from the text (including a helpful bit to let you know if the ending was good or bad, complete with emoticon). The gameplay itself, meanwhile, wasn't engaging at all.

ALLCAPSON says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:47am

It took me a while to figure out what the weapon was. :(

Effective way to get an experience across though.

Bemmu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:53am

Short and not much gameplay, but I like the "story" of it. It's a clever take on the theme, nice entry!

leo_p_mahon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:12am

Wow, just wow. What an incredible game. I had just come from playing a lot of action packed games to this and I have to say I am astounded at how you made me feel. I hope one day I will make a game that evokes emotions as strongly as your game. It felt very strange to be the dog and I think it made me empathize with it, I don't think I have played a game that has changed my perspective so much in a long time.

MightyToast says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:00am

Interesting premise. The haunting music really underscores that. Good job!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:35am

It's like a puzzle game that meets Metal Gear and then stars a dog!

morgondag says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:04am

NICE MUSIC!!

PachowStudios says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:34am

The idea behind the story was solid but thats all that was really good about it. Even then, it could have been fleshed out a lot more. Especially since this is a jam entry.

I'm not sure why everyone is leaving such positive feedback. Judging this just off the game bit, it isn't much of a game. It's over in 30 seconds, and you just have to dodge several mines. The mechanics themselves could be implemented in about 2 hours.

I don't mean to be overly critical, I'm just being honest. The music was nice though.

Prowler says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:34am

Hey! First of all: nicely done! The title screen is promising and It took me 4 seconds to recognize that is was a dog from above I was moving in the game :D (Shoul have read the description fist ;))

Here is how I've choosen the score points:

Audio 3 because the music is sad (that's good!) but some more sound effects would have been nice.

Humor 1 because experiments with animals are simply not funny, so I guess you didn't expect a high humor rating ;)

Fun (in a sense of how much I enjoyed playing overall) 2 because it is not too easy to maneuver the dog through the obstacles but it's simply too short. One or two more levels would be great!

Theme 3 because - yes it's an unconventional weapon but compared to, let's say, AI-killer-dining-tables it's a 3 :D

Graphics 3 because: 1 would be no graphics at all, 5 is frostbite-engie or something like that. So gooaverage.

Mood 4: .. poor dog :(

Innovation 1: Because the gameplay is nothing I haven't seen before.

As I said, nicely done and keep up the good work!

Greetings!

Pat

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:48am

This is quite a game! Execution could of been nicer, but idea is quite solid. I enjoyed it

EdibleKittens says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:21am

Interesting concept, Good job mate!

rudra says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:36am

The overall idea was pretty great ! But yes, I will agree with others that the execution could have been better, but thumps up for the Idea and the Music :)

freaknarf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:37am

Good feel on the dog's moves, a bit simplistic but it's short so it's ok. I run out of there as soon as i could but came back to see the 2nd ending :)
And i just searched about "anti tank dogs" and i hate humans.

Dyn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:43am

Quite shot and very impressive music.
Also deep idea.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:52am

Interesting concept for a game, if a little dark :p Gameplay's very simple though.

Vulkanmannen says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:57am

In the beginning i felt like the hitboxes where off, learned after a while though. Cool idea with two voices and you get to choose which one to follow. Good job :-D

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:59am

Soooo. Let's do some math here:
- compo ended ~9 hours ago
- you have a coolness of exactly 200

This means you rated a game every 2 or 3 minutes for the past 9 hours, without taking a break, and did so fairly and thoroughly.

Right?

Skywilly says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:16am

The idea behind is really interesting. Thanks !

Malsanity says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:34am

Unclear objectives. Good music

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:46am

Nice score and well done with the concept !

ChronoDK says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:57am

I'm glad there was a good ending too, cause the first ending was very sad :-(

ker0chan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:04pm

It's a bit short, but the idea is very good. Perfect music too. Great job on completing a game :)

Joystikman says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Short but really deep.

Destruktorrr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Short and sweet, in a manner of speaking. The design is simple, and the goals are clear. This is perhaps one of the better examples of how to capture the essence of great game making.

Mood: Sad. Appropriate. Well done.

Humor: Not really applicable, for many obvious reasons.

Audio: Well done. The lack of in-game sound effects actually adds to the ambiance of this game, following the silent sad story trope.

Graphics: Not the best, but still clear enough to tell what's going on. There was no point at which I was astounded by the game's beauty, but I also never felt like they needed to be better to get the point across.

Theme: You took the theme and turned it on its head. It is clear and present in the game's premise, but not necessary for the player to use in the way one would normally think. Great job!

Innovation: I can't say there's too much that I would call "innovative" about this game, as far as mechanics, but the plot was rather innovative in some ways. However, games like this seem to be getting rather common (not to say they're bad, but innovation can only come from change).

Overall: Pretty great game for one so short. As others said, I wish it were longer. I feel like a pretty powerful story could be told, here.

PapyPilgrim says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Not much in terms of gameplay actually.

ddalacu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Well i like it mostly because itÈ› music completly fits with the war theme! The rest is what you would aspect for 48 hours of work ,Not really too much of a game because its too short a few more levels would of been a lot better.

Lyxilion says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:15pm

What a game !

Dohxis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Really like the idea.

tonypai says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:49pm

I feel sad when got a bad end and see the report, so I decided to play again, and let the dog escape from this inhumanity experiment. Good job and good game!

SadSmile says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Wow. I nearly cried. Great story and music. Gameplay wasnt so good, but that was clearly not your main focus.

ccglp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Music is tremendous, and the message is clear and beautiful, thank you

pavel_insight says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:13pm

I agree, music is very impressive.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Great game! The gameplay was not the best, but the environment, the settings and the mood the game gave were brilliant!

recursor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Great use of the theme. I didn't read your synopsis above so I wasn't sure what was going on and I'm glad I didn't. Coming into this without any knowledge I think made it more interesting. The conflicting texts were also a great addition.

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Well that was short. :-) Liked the music. Please rate my game at http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=16225

Sogomn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Quite cool.

Nidar says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Loved this game. The music was great. Play my game here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=52131

Buko-Studios says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:43pm

very deep and meaningful message. good way to make a stand for the dogs out there being used this way. good concept but wish there was more to the game play than just dodging mines. and the music is so sad

FireCamp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Audio and mood were great. Like the idea and use of the theme too. but Gameplay is a bit let apart i think. Would deserve better level design / controls. Good job !

texdata says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:51pm

i liked the music story and concept !!! great one

gruhn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:58pm

A deep concept. The character control is good, but at times collisions with mines are not detected... And some extra visual feedback could make it easier for the player.

zatyka says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Interesting concept. The game was lacking, but it was more of an experience. Music was well chosen.

ThommazK says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Great feeling! The critic is perfect!

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:54pm

How has only one other person noticed that this entry has gained more than 200 coolness in less than 24 hours post-compo?

Dadeyemi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:51pm

I like the music

jk5000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Okay, but not moch Gameplay.

Hectate says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Wow. War is hell for dogs too.

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Really liked the use of music, though I did notice that the two paths at the beginning lead to the same place, which undermines that choice. Great atmosphere, well done!

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Simple concept, the execution felt a little lackluster; but it got the point across.

LTPATS says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Interesting concept. The gameplay was pretty simple but the narrative was nice. I ended up playing both ways just to see what happens. I was expecting something bad to happen like the tank exploding or something when I went up to it :P. Overall neat game, good work!

Squarlboy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:23pm

all I have to say is, dam dude...

CamRFWhite says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Great use of the theme. Endings didn't keep the same emotional impact as when I was reading the text (I guess not as much build up as I would have expected). Respawning at the start kind of sucked each time I hit a mine. Overall really cool concept! I could definitely see it turn into something SUPER cool with more time! :)

Luminar says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Nicely done! Nice controls. I actually like the mood. Great work

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Deep :o
Music fits perfectly.

SuperMsp10 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:36pm

very cool deep and interesting

Erkberg says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:54pm

So depressing...
I really liked the music and the overall mood, good job!

Toby Pinder says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:15pm

I like the concept. Has modest goals to tell a story with some minimal gameplay, and executes on that well with a good atmosphere.

PeerPlay says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Apart from the graphics this game was very mind blowing! The writing and their positions are really well done!

AnEvilEmpire says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:38pm

I thought it was great.

LorenaIpsum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Great idea, but I was not prepared for something that deep. The music fits well, and including messages makes you feel the pain of the dog.

Bastienre4 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Love the dog animation. And the end... saaaad.

Gunzil says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Very strong theming and music, gameplay isn't terribly interesting. The mine evasion allows for interaction beyond literally walking to the exit, so it does augment the "choose where to go given different voices" theme, I just wish there were more to it.

xirion11 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Excellent short game, deep and reflexive, music totally fits with the game play and the story, good immersive experience. The messages gives to the game a great perspective of the dog.

Newt_ says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Very very solid audio and mood. Gameplay could be developed more, but it really makes you think!

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Well, there wasn't... much of a game?

Blobo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Lovely story. played it twice to get both endings.

w1n5t0n says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:34am

That game-play might not be that fun the the game it-self deserves some recognition.

Caio Varalta says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:13am

Has an beautiful idea. The game soul is nice, but the gameplay itself... +/-

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:33am

Very nice job with this. Really enjoyed it!

Bsevers18 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:35am

fantastic mood! Great audio. Real straight forward. Not very deep gameplay, but still very good!

spreadtheflow says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:14am

The music, story, idea are really great. Gameplay is meh but I've played two times to try both endings. Good Job!

chanko08 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:17am

Solid music. That combined with the narrative really made me care for the dog. Have to say that controls are a little clunky, but I'm not sure how I would fix that given the style of the game.

DaveCarlile says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:39am

Poignant with the music and theme. Kind of stunned really. Well done.

trenchgames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:40am

Nice music and message.

ApocoNypse says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:53am

not a whole lot going on gameplay wise, Great idea though, and the music is nice! :)

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:54am

Truly love it. Controls are smooth, idea is great, fitting in theme, with better graphics it would have been perfect !

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:17am

Sort of wished the graphics would reflect how thought provoking the game is. Nice gameplay, could be a bit better but overall the mood is fantastic.

wmoschini says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:24am

Nice work!

ionbattle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:10am

Sad, well written interesting concept. Couldn't hear the audio for some reason...

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:18am

Deep and moving. I wasn't really expecting to get some feels while playing ludum dare games :P

Ossi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:49am

Really great atmosphere and music. I like how the instructions were given as you explored the minefield. Very sad but when I managed to escape it was a bit uplifting. Well done!

shimage says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:00am

I really like how to show the game message. I felt drawn that story.

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:09am

Was a bit annoying to have to weave through the mines. Other than that, it was an interesting short game.

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:09am

Set the mood, expected something bad to happen like exploding dog parts. The text was a nice change from the violent norm.

safran says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:33am

I like the gameplay, the control is smooth, and the idea is cool. The music is quite depressing though.

Hammer Games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:38am

Dogs aways make me cry! OMG! Amazing job!

broknecho says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:43am

Interesting idea. Mood was fantastic albeit a little sad :) Great job!

Murchurl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:50am

Wow. just wow. amazing story!

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:54am

Great take on the theme. Good music that adds to the heavy mood. Very nice game!

Exolun says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:00am

I really liked your concept as well, the flavor text long the path really made the game. Excellent work creating the theme and mood from the music and ingame messages

Luke Nizik says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:12am

I... don't know what to say.
The best possible apporach to the theme.

Where does the audio come from?

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:29am

The story is hearth breaking, good job~! wish there's an actual gameplay, it would be great~!

kikijin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:47am

So deep thanks, we can create a game with a good theme :)

jordinuco says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:50am

Thanks for the experience. It was ¿fun? to test your game

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:32am

wow this manages to tell an amazing story. i like how the dialogue is written how humans speak to dogs. not much gameplay but its still good

jukimv1986 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:09am

Apart from the fact of mine fields existing in our days not being fun, this concept game is solid and a nice experience to play it. Great take on the theme and nicely set mood. Now I am depressed. Great work!

rgehan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:12am

At first I thought it was going to be longer, but it's still interesting.

As it was said before, the gameplay is not the best aspect of the game. It's difficult to move with the dog, since we can only walk in one of the eight main direction. You should probably make it follow the mouse, it would be easier.

On the other hand, the idea behind it is really interesting, I didn't see the end coming until it was too late.

The music is great, and really adapted to the ambiance you wanted for the game.

Good job.

GhostBomb says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:14am

Yeah, I should totally go under the tank while I have a beeping collar on, great idea!

Deal With It says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:55am

So sad game

BermudaCake says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:41am

Cool take on the theme.

BraindeadGeo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:48am

Music is nice, good story, annoying getting blown up :)

Mekuri says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Very nice mood in this game. Very simple gameplay, but I had to follow the texts (Both colors) like a good(bad) dog, which kept curious, and as such entertained.
I enjoyed it - Good work.

nov1kk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:19pm

In my opinion is too short, but you finish the game in time and dont give up! The idea behind is nice.

Mouch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Great story with fitting music. But the gameplay is not much fun (May not be the main focus, so ok);)

kikaz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Good concept, I like the two alternative ends.
Good job !

Reccy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:44pm

The gameplay was kinda dull, but the audio and story were quite good. The controls felt responsive, but the game was a bit too short. Overall, I enjoyed it!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:30pm

I escaped!

Very nice game. The music fits it beautifully.

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:51pm

The gameplay and art wasn't really that great, but sound and mood fit well together.
It was an interesting take on the theme, but it felt more like a political message rather than a game (the choices you make during the playthrough have no effect on the final outcome)

BabaJaga says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:20pm

I was a good boy :(

I've read about these dogs. Soviets trained them, but they used their own tanks for training and the dogs ran back....

daltostronic says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:43pm

It's hard to rate 'fun' high, though you diserve it, 'cos the game is quite hard and challanging to finish.

eddynardo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:49pm

nice, i wish it was a bot longer

ARubino says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Awsome idea and well done, had alot of fun playing through it, the Theme is realy deep and the mood you create is well done *goosepimples ;)

hbocao says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Great job, guys! Music is great and the intent of it is awesome. Sometimes the texts throw me away from the immersion. Keep rocking!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:10pm

The poor dogs of war! Points for mood, even if it is a sad mood.

maunovaha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:33pm

hehe. fun game.. and I love dogs :D

agirreb says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:43pm

I find the controls a little bit difficult, but otherwise it is really good.

goblin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Game is short but music is great.
Check our game too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

jhell says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Pretty nice idea, well executed if a bit short. I would have loved more obstacles and more paths to the text (more endings). The music is really nice. Good job!

Beege says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:20pm

The vibe was great, great use of the theme. I played through twice, to see both endings.

sandrohaag says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Nice concept!

Diventurer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:47pm

I was surprised. It did not seem that good at first, but the mood was really there and the audio perfect. I'm a good boy.

Suhvan4ik says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Beautiful, sad music, but the gameplay is a bit boring

Kihira says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Well that was sad. Right in the feels... good work. Next jam if you work on your graphics. Great job though on this.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:51pm

The gameplay is very solid. And the music is great.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Wonderfull!

DoItForWilson says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Audio wasn't working for me.
The gameplay is lacking a lot, but I liked the thoughts on the right or wrong of using animals as soldiers.

fixitteam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:20pm

interesting idea indeed ... it was fun to read the instructions :)

wilsk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Nice job. I found the controls a bit fiddly and it cut back a bit too quickly after the explosion effects but other than that an interesting idea well put together. Thanks...

killako says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Audio wasn't working for me. I agree with the previous comments: great theme, but gameplay could use some improvement, maybe vary the obstacles in each level?

KCrimson says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Bit short, but I like the premise,

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Gameplay is lacking, but it fully compensates it the massage put it to this game. We often use other animals (mice for example) for various tests, not understanding that they have a life too, they want to live just as much as we do. Deep game. Love it!

esayitch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Atmosphere and story in this was very, very emotional. Good job on that. Gameplay could use more dimensions... but it is very good as is.

idoadler says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:48pm

It was fun to play, I really liked that as you went along with the messages it was only harder to tell who is on your side, probably none of them, and I liked the open ending. Hope you have more time to raise interesting questions.

mantisda says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Great game with a great message attached to it.

Lady Beardo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:36pm

I really like the two voices and two paths! Gives it more depth for a short game.

bitdecaygames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:51pm

This one had an interesting way of getting the story across. The story was interesting. But the gameplay was really lacking.

Animated says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Very well polished game -- it capitalizes on a simple concept. I just wish the maps were a bit cleaner/better organized.

The music put me on edge. Like the dog.

Nysten says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:26pm

It has a nice mood, although it's not so innovative. Tells a story though!

Issacchaos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:29pm

That was the most emotion I have had out of a game so far, otherwise a simple 'game' but it gives a really solid narrative to the player. A+ Story

novadream says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Game was pretty simple; and I'm not really a dog person, but man, that was sad.

boateye says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:06pm

If this is a real thing that is done, I'm glad you're bringing awareness to it. The theme sells this game. I like your take on an unconventional weapon. The game controls nicely, and i like how there is a bit of a choice to be made. One of the best entries, well done!

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:39pm

Wow, nicely done. Told a story and good mechanics. Bravo!

xbcw says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:14am

Really nice game. The atmosphere is spot on.

cbear_wallis says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:29am

i like this :) i like the story it's conveying...it's pretty sad >.<

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:37am

A very interesting and though provoking piece. Thank you very much.

smikulcik says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:08am

Awesome idea. That's deep. The music is really fitting.

iSamurai says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:48am

The control feels good, I like different the game provides different paths for the player to choose. One sad thing there is no music playing, but i saw the Audio rating category, is there something wrong?

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:10am

Really interesting interpretation of the theme.

alhvi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:12am

Great game. Really touching.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:23am

Solid game with music that really fits the mood. Great synergy. The game was a little short and not as interesting gameplaywise, but it was straight forward and easily understood.

Vidsneeze says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:44am

=') Thank you for letting me choose at the end.

terryg says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:34am

Nice game. I was intrigued as to what the yellow text said. Feels more like a demo than something complete (well, you did say that in your description, so no fault there). Still, great concept. Good job. I loved the music. Set the mood nicely. This is the first game i gave 5 stars for mood.

jakub.gemrot says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:13am

Interesting really, but I'm missing more game play. More "explore the world" than "play the game". But the message is clear so kudos for that!

peterkirk says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:00am

That was unexpected. Probably the best use of theme I've seen so far and I think I had an emotion.

BroCade says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:36am

Bit of a dark idea, the text in game is good felt like it was placed right to progress onto the decision.

Well done

kipelovets says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Deep and sensitive story, very fitting music, but nothing else is especially great
I would like to hear more of that story, it's too bad the game is so short

matestinha says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:02pm

I loved the audio and the background idea. I wish you could have explored more the gameplay.

Bensonance says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:37pm

So many feels, Very well done and well written. I really enjoyed the clumsyness of the controls which added an ideal level of difficulty to the game.

volkoivan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:42pm

That was really touching!
First game at LD that made me feel something.
Even with the simple gameplay I enjoyed it a lot!
You set the right mood for the game
So I'm giving you 5/5 mister!

PohyCZ says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:00pm

The gameplay is pretty ordinary, but well executed. Perfect collisions. BUT the mood is the best! I wish it was longer..

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:12pm

i love dogs );

sputnik says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Interesting concept. Lack sound though, but good music.

silentbaws says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Great game with a hard hitting message

reiknight says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:00pm

I cried like a little girl in both finals!!! Good work

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Gameplay's a ll' too boring & the text would be much more effective if it were dialogue from two people. Not text on the ground. That being said, the thematic idea is great! A solemn, depressing take on the ludum dare theme that is both evocative and impacting!

careless says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Sad music and dogs, very touching. I enjoyed reading the messages on the way through the route.

I found two endings.The dogs tongue wagging about was a nice touch.

Its a nice idea and stick to the theme overall, I think you could have added in more obstacles or made it a little longer but it was fun and I do love dogs.

Thanks

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Quite short, but entertaining :D BRING MORE USUAL WEAPONS! XD

skylerWithAnE says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:45pm

I got both endings. Nice, tight controls. The music was well selected, and I really liked the use of the theme. It was very short, but it made a point and that's impressive.

Dreyan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:19pm

Very simple graphics but a really nice game, great sounds and fits the theme perfectly. Congrats :)

Frosnite says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:42am

Great experience!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:49am

love the idea, pretty quick and cool game

Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:40am

"I hope you think about after all this end."

Except I couldn't think about it at all.

Because I was a dog.

Would recommend.

NoWandStudios says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:04am

Nice music, decent graphics and interesting The Stanley Parable dialogue style. Maybe the game is quite easy and the end a bit short. But good effort.

HeffJoker says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:08am

The music and overall mood of the game is great! It actually made me feel something as I was playing, which I applaud you for. As other's are saying, the gameplay was a little simplistic, but it might actually fit for something like this. I think if you went for more of a "Gone Home" kind of game, where you focus on story-telling rather than gameplay systems, you'll have a great experience. Good luck!

gormed says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:19am

Atmospheric music, acceptable graphics, but the font could have been better. Is the dog really a weapon? Nonetheless solid and entertaining for a while!

gogo199432 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:40am

While there was no real gameplay, this was still a great game! Thanks for making it. Do they still use dogs as bombs btw?

Dege says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Sooo sad. But really fits the theme. and I liked the music. Thanks.

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Firstly, the music is wonderful and fits the mood of the game perfectly. With some nice graphics and more story this would be a very compelling game. A little like Valiant Heart, I would like to learn more about the bomb dogs whilst I played. The gameplay was nothing special but finding all the text compelled me to keep playing. I also like how yes you are an unconventional weapon but you can also choose not to be a weapon at all.

Great work!

peterfsat says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Wow it is so dark! Instructions sometimes are unclear and the gameplay is pretty plain, but yeah solid idea!

monaarc says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:34pm

A great idea with a nice music, efficient gameplay... Nice job !

thephantom says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:41pm

the mechanics are simple but the message is deep . and i really like that kind of games .. good job

korvyashka says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Great story - I enjoyed reading texts and choosing direction.

tummyache says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Good music, game was a little simple, but I did like the story. Could've used some something bigger for the tank ending than just some text.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:07pm

This is great...
Well Done :')

daredevildave says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Nice music. Very atmospheric gameplay. Could perhaps have been expanded on a bit. But very nice.

BIZM says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:04am

We loved the music and the meaningful multiple endings. Great entry!

flwns says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:29am

Interesting

Conflei says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:47am

This rememberme to my dog... cool game dude.

alvivar says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:23am

Loved the dog motion and the music.

F. Wiktora says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:25am

Okay, I love this. It's pretty short but intense. You did an awesome job!

Null DIES says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:42pm

I really liked the mood set by this game. It is more of an experience than a game. If you could expand the gameplay, that would be great.

ShadowTzu says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:59pm

I like the music!

Druid says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:10pm

I really like that storyline, but gameplay is pretty boring. Also, music is great, but atmosphere needs sound effects too.

randoman says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:40pm

I really enjoyed playing it. I think the gameplay is solid for the experience but there are room for improvement. The concept is great, keep working on it!

Drauthius says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Hmm... Very interesting game. Well done! The typos detracted a bit from the experience, but that might just be me. :)

abcdef65g says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:08pm

I feel this game wasn't as a game as rewarding as I felt it would be based on the concept and idea behind the mechanics, but surely was among the games I played here the one that made me feel the most, and that is definitely a plus.

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:08pm

If that was the dog that barks all damn night and morning in my neighborhood, waking me up all the damn time, then it had it coming. I ain't leading it to freedom. BOOM bitch. BOOM. J/K. Hurting animals is wrong.

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:55am

The music totally made this game. glad there wasn't any sound effects as they would have distracted for the overall experience.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:17am

The feels I got from this game... As a player I was easy to form a connection with the dog with the clever use of static text over the map. Game play is very minimal but it evokes a very emotional experience.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:41am

The idea to use a Dog as weapon is not so innovative, and about the Audio: Honestly, your music doesn't fit with the aesthetics of the game, you tried to create a serious atmosphere but unfortunately you failed, poor vst quality, very very poor arrangement, try to improve the envelopes and velocities with midi instruments in the next time, I liked the musical idea but you should improve this, and finally where's the Sound Effects of this game?

grifdail says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:09am

Good story, to be honest, I almost cry

steboots says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:24pm

I didn't know what to think so I did the tank first and made myself sad. Never again.

ehtd says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:26am

quite simple

Oborux says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Hey man, I liked it and the story points, I did a LD game with a dog too :-)
Didn't hear any sound from WebGL on Mac/Safari here.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:01am

great idea - good delivery - nice job

Ogniok says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 8:36am

these two "voices" brought life to this game. Pretty nice concept and lovely grafphics.

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:55am

I like the graphic of the dog!

ajopart says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 9:10am

Great mood, there. The music is awesome and brings all the emotion of the game. But so short and without any challenge.

tomhunt says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:11pm

i really like how this turned the theme around in its head.

MrShoestore says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 12:53am

While I approve of the message, i couldn't hear any audio, and the gameplay lead me to beat it very quickly, which reduced the impact of the message. I would like to see more of a build up to the message so that it hits harder

stoarch says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Incredibly strong mood of losing this virtual dog. Good job. Fake path to freedom is fun. You're joking and when I realise it I laught on myself, following orders and take illusion of choice.
Keep it going. Good luck.

MonoS says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 6:56pm

That's deep D:!!
Wonderful mood in this little game.

The game is a bit to short and simple, but the gameplay is solid.

Good music, but the graphics it's not that good.

Keep up with this game that imho is promising :D.

MysteryMeat says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Music was gorgeous and the overall tone of the game was felt really powerful. Unfortunately though the quality of the graphics did not seem to match the art style of the piece overall. Great job though!

freeholdgames says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Really lovely audio and mood. A thoughtful entry, nice work.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]