Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Soulstealer

by SilentNight - Jam Entry

You are a soul cast in the depths of Hades along with the other lost sinners. In order to escape you must make a suitable offering to the Gods. But as a simple soul you are weak and fragile. Use your powers of soul possession to take over the other enemies wandering around the depths of Hades and use their abilities to collect the 3 offerings required to escape.

Controls:
Arrow Keys
- Movement

Up Arrow
- Jump/ Double Jump with Soul
- Jump with Mandrake
- Shield Up with Spartan
- Fly with Ghost

Z Key
- Possess/Unpossess with Soul
- Enter Door, Activate Altar, Advance Cutscene

R Key - Reset the Room

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#90Mood(Jam)3.82
#124Graphics(Jam)4.15
#126Audio(Jam)3.68
#134Overall(Jam)3.74
#176Fun(Jam)3.58
#322Innovation(Jam)3.38
#521Theme(Jam)3.35
#754Humor(Jam)2.38

Comments

frondeus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:33am

Nice idea but really hard.

morgondag says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:44am

hardcore! nice

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:55am

Brutally tricky platforming :D I managed to get two of the items though, wasn't sure how to get to the Ghost one. Nice mechanic though, some fun little sections with each of the characters. Wish the spikes were a bit more visible, a few of the ceiling spikes caught me off guard :p

nandemoguy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Art is on point!

Armanky says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Pretty tough game, but not impossibly difficult! The spartan section was particularly tricky.

The one suggestion I would make is to have the spikes stand out a little more. They blend into the environment a little too much and sometimes you'll die unexpectedly from landing on one.

purenickery says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:12pm

The music and the art for this game were awesome! However, I agree that the spikes blended in too much, I died a few times without ever noticing they were there.

devince says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:26pm

Really loved to finish this game. A good time with a platformer, this was a long time! Great art and level design.

Sim says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Really fun platforming and having the different characters keeps it interesting. The graphics and music are great and I like the way the levels sprawl off into the distance. The lack of sound effects is the only thing that stood out a little.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:44am

Really beatiful and hard, good entry.

zeejfps says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:49am

Love the music!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:15am

I will better stay in tutorial. Your game is hard as hell, but I love idea.

Tselmek says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:09am

Definitely good graphics, nice music and a general nice atmosphere. The controls are a bit hard and we're kinda lost, not really knowing what to do and where to go. Nice game nonetheless.

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:01pm

I like the switching mechanic, nice take on the theme. Could not record myself with Open Broadcast

dvdfu says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:00am

It's hard to tell when Z can be used, or where some obstacles are...but the music/graphics are nice!

Marek Lisý says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:19am

Very very nice game, I really enjoyed everything, really a hit on spot for me. It took me a while before I found out all the mechanics, but it was all done together very well. Very clever ideas, greate controls, nice and complete graphics (not sure if all by you, when it's jam), great level design (I finished!!), I can imagine this being a hit :) At least a small one.

I found a bug though - when you become mandrake, you can't sometimes move left/right, first you have to jump, after that it's okay.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:12am

Music is cool and the mechanics are nice. The spikes kept surprising me though because I couldn't see them always, the sort of blended into the level for me. That's more the way I see I think though!

Overall this is good. I really like difficult platformers! Also, special mention for the soundtrack, it's pretty neat

phi6 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:46am

Great graphics! Very difficult but solid and fair mechanics - which is a good thing, every death is always your fault. Would have liked to see variable jump heights but thats a minor issue. As I made a platformer/Metroidvania myself I'm glad I found your entry. Good work!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:26pm

I will tweet you with a gameplay and review video soon.

May 5, 2015 @ 2:10am

Graphics were cool, kinda reminded me of super metroid, very smooth gameplay.

jmborden says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Cool game, glad it was my 282th (aka 10% of all entrants)! At first it seemed a bit hard, but I "beat" it. Was the Mandrake supposed to be on a timer? High marks from me, good job!

siryakko says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 10:15am

Hardcore and nice :D

May 9, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Cool idea. Very difficult though. Great pixel art and awesome soundtrack. The spikes blend in to the background a bit too much, and I wish there were more checkpoints. It's also not obvious that your possession power can go through walls, maybe an indicator appearing over an enemy that you can possess would be good. Very solid entry overall though.

sorlok says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:07am

A neat idea, and really fits the theme, but instead of starting with the fun mechanic (soul stealing) you start with a series of very hard platform maneuvers... and the spikes blend in with the background. Despite that, it was fun and controlled well (I just felt the barrier to entry was too high).

Filip says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:39pm

Wow, impressive difficulty and style! The music is especially great.

May 20, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Love the graphics, though the spikes really blend in. Great game. I included it in part 11 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ArGc_dQ-3Lc

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]